We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax after a long flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place to relax after a long flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived to hotel after a long flight, it was nice to find a big room with the view ona small garden with coffee and banana plants. Shower is really hot, and room feels safe, Breakfast is just amazing! 5-min walk from Organic Farmers market and walking distance to the Zoo. Quiet location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest: We are very proud of providing you a relaxing and homey rest at Hotel Aranjuez. We are very satisfied that all our services and location fit you that well. Also, we thank you for following our advice of visiting the Organic Fair that has becoming a complete cultural experience. Once again thank you for your nice review and ¡hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    239
    43
    14
    12
See reviews for
96
238
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Eaton, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed one night on way home from volunteercation on pacific coast. It was exactly as pictured and described in previous reviews. Hotel is a bunch of homes that have been hooked together...very tastefully decorated, plants, flowers & gardens...common areas comfortable and inviting. The breakfast is to die for...it was all beautiful and delicious!!! I never did get the wifi to work from my room but the internet room was free and had nice fast computers.Front desk people are friendly and speak several languages. They will help you with your travel plans and arrange a taxi or tour. Place was very clean with hot showers. You have to go through a bad section of town to get to it but it is in a decent area. Felt safe with front desk manned all night, cameras and gates. I came alone and had room #1 with its own bathroom. It was right on the front side near the street. I brought and used ear plugs. I was fine until drivers started honking at 7:30 am. I needed up by 08:00 anyway. Great B&B type place of value for the price not too far from airport. It is near the hospital and university is not far. There is a drug store on the corner. Would recommend for short or long stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear are farther from the street and may have less traffic noise. Just use ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for taking your time for describing extensively the Hotel Aranjuez. We are glad we have provided you a nice lodging experience and that you found our breakfast “beautiful and delicious”. We will keep working in the improvement of the wifi service. Thanks, specially, for recommending us and we hope you keep your promise of staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Aranjuez is one of my favorite spots in San Jose, they have clean rooms with TV, good internet, and an amazing breakfast. The staff is friendly, the showers are hot, and each room is decorated differently. Kinda funky. Also very safe with cameras everywhere.

The only downfall is that it's a bit far from the center, and the buses are 4-5 blocks away.

It's near a bus to the Lincoln Plaza mall which has a starbucks and movie theater.

There is a yummy italian restaurant walking distance called Cafe Mundo.

It's reasonably priced, you can get private rooms with shared or private bathrooms, and they have discounts for residents.

Room Tip: They have apartments you can rent across the street as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to share your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez with other Internet users. All our staff has celebrated the beautiful words written by you about their work and their hospitality. We are especially grateful to have you as our regular customer. Hotel Aranjuez has always offered special rates for nationals and residents in gratitude for his frequent visits and loyalty. The next time you visit us, we will show you some nice and interesting places that are located east of Hotel Aranjuez. We are just in the way of many nice spots. Until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've stayed here many times over 10 years and highly recommend a stay here...its more like a BnB, staff and guests friendly and the breakfast buffet is excellent!
My only complaint is the reservation procedure from overseas: its 2013! I haven't had a land line in 15 years, much less a fax machine...last year I ended up staying somewhere else (CR guest hse) after repeated long-distance fax/phone call attempts...please upgrade to an online credit card reservation system, i'll pay extra!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear customer: Thank you for “highly recommending” us. During the last years, we tried changing the reservations system into one online. We even migrate into another reservation system for this reason. At this moment, we are working in a new website. Our main goal is implementing an online credit card reservation system. Meanwhile, we have simplified the reservation procedure: our customers only have to send an e-mail for reserving a room. Right after we receive the request, we will send back a confirmation number. Thank you very much for your loyalty to Hotel Aranjuez during all this years. We are all waiting to have you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotels in San Jose are very pricey, this hotel definitely gives good value for its price, if not just for the very rich and fresh breakfast. The rooms are very basic, no a/c, but very clean. We were a family of 4 with 2 young children and while there is more of a "hostel" like feeling to it still felt very welcome. The main downside is the location which isn't so great, I would say that for most people that only come to SJ for one night, right after or before their flight, it's a great deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Customer: We are very satisfied that you and your family enjoyed a "welcoming stay” at Hotel Aranjuez. The good and cozy feeling mentioned in your comment is an essential part of our "nontraditional" and autochthonous lodging offer. Our staff appreciated, especially, your words about their work in cleaning the rooms and friendly service. Once again thank you for sharing with Trip Advisor users your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. In your next visit we invite you to visit the patrimony attractions located at Barrio Aranjuez as well as the community activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We did two stays at this hotel, two nights at the beginning of our trip and one at the end. We had two rooms because we are a family of five. The rooms are clean and quiet. One of the two bathrooms was very small. There is no air conditioning but there is wifi. However, wifi does not work in the room 24. No pool.
The breakfasts are really delicious. The staff is nice, friendly and helpful.
The negative : the neighborhood. This is not a nice location and it is very far from Alajuela (to the airport) as well as the Poas Volcano.

Room Tip: No wifi in the room 24 and the bathroom is very very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Customer: Thanks for your comment. Hotel Aranjuez, as described on our website, is a "nontraditional" hotel, composed of five wooden houses remain as equity. The original houses do not include facilities such as a swimming pool, but instead, they include a lush garden and courtyards in the old way. Three original "patios" of three of the houses that make the Hotel Aranjuez, are connected and preserved as a “green lung”. In relation to small bathrooms, as mentioned in our website, this is the feature that differentiates Standard rooms of other categories. About the location of the Hotel Aranjuez, as our customers can check in the cultural map we put in all the rooms, the hotel is located in the patrimony circuit of our capital. Heritage Buildings as Santa Teresita Church, Museo Calderón Guardia Hospital Calderon Guardia, the “Casa del Cuño” -Mint House-, and “La Aduana” –Customs- , are located just four blocks from the Hotel Aranjuez. It is noteworthy that "La Aduana" is today an important cultural center where events such as the "International Book Fair" are taking place during all year round. Moreover, Barrio Aranjuez is a traditional urban neighborhood were our customers can enjoy visiting the "pulperías” -grocery stores-, ”verdulería” –greengrocer & fruit market-, the "sodas"-typical restaurants-, or "coffee "-corners-coffee, the church and the sports center .......Once again thank you for your commentary, specially for the nice words about our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales, null, Turks and Caicos Islands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed hotel Aranjuez for a total of three nights (not consequetively). Each stay offered different rooms and we were pleased that it was exceptionally clean (particularly for the price) and spacious. Free coffee, wifi and television in each room were a bonus. It is relatively simple to get to on public transport and there are a number of good eateries around (special mention: Cafe de Los Deseos down the road). Although friendly, the staff weren't very knowledgable - or just seemed a little annoyed at our questions. And make sure you have colones before your stay as they are not willing to exchange (although they advertise differently). The breakfast really is a treat! No styrofoam cups here! Good quality coffee, large buffet and tentative staff. I'd recommend this stay to young and old!

Room Tip: Rooms, are noisy, but avoid room 1 - particularly close to the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you so much for appreciating the extra bonus we have included in our room rate. The main one is our Buffet breakfast. Through the entire bonus, we are showing our hospitality. Thank to your observation, we are reinforcing the training of our staff. Our goal is having a most homely and informed staff. In line with our “sustainable” commitment, we do not use Styrofoam or plastic containers in the breakfast, neither in our rooms. We are taking care of the money exchange service. We must mention that we make a lot of efforts using first class biodegradable products for cleaning the rooms. Our staff is constantly trained for improve their cleaning protocols. Once again we thank you for your comment and specially, for recommending Hotel Aranjuez “to young and old”. ¡Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.