We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, clean, amazing breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quirky, clean, amazing breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Rooms vary somewhat in size and shape, but we enjoyed our stay (room 8) at the beginning and end of our trip to Costa Rica. Neighborhood is a mix of residential and hospitals with a few sodas nearby. Breakfast, as noted by others, is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for your review. We hope you come back to Costa Rica and Hotel Aranjuez in the near future. Be sure that we will keep working out for innovating our services, especially our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    244
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
96
242
66
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Ok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I recently stayed with a group of 18 people at Hotel Aranjuez. I had to make the arrangements at the last minute because our previous plans fell through due to poor business practices of our previous hostel. The staff at Aranjuez was very accommodating and helped me to easily make plans to stay there. They also extended a discount to me for booking such a large group. The hotel was wonderful and flexible to meet our needs. The location is wonderful, as it is easy to walk downtown from there. Overall, I have no complaints! I will be returning to stay there in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Paul: Thank you so much for your review. We are very proud of meeting all your needs in an efficient and warmth way. We will continue working hard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'm a 28 year old female traveling solo for the first time in Costa Rica and needed a long term apartment with a kitchen to stay in. I needed some dental work done because North America is overpriced and quality and service is not good compared to Costa Rica. I chose Meza Dental Care, and was blown away by the work. I literally saved 60% on costs. It's been one week, and people are literally raving about my teeth!!

Anyways, Hotel Aranjuez was helpful from beginning to end. Jose answered all my emails while I was inquiring about rates. The staff were all great! The housekeepers, owner, chefs, servers, front desk staff all deserve 5 stars!

The hotel has two buildings. The long term apartments is literally right across the street, whereas, the regular hotel rooms are located where the main reception area is. There is always free coffee in the main reception area.

The long term apartments are secured with gates and camera surrounding the entire building. You need a key swipe to enter each time for the iron gates, the long term apartments has no receptionist. I paid $230 for a studio apartment, and everything was well stocked...except there was no sponge for cleaning dishes, dish towel, dish soap, and coffee filters, make sure you bring those if you plan on staying in the long term apartments. There was a full sized fridge, a coffee maker, a blender, 2 hot plates, microwave, pots and pans, dishes, cups, cutlery, knives, strainer, cutting board etc... but no dishwasher or toaster. Otherwise, there is plenty of hand towels and toilet paper. You are advised to bring your own towels, since they do not supply those for long term guests. Housekeeping came once a week, which was fine. The garbage bins are easy to find if you need to throw trash away. Did you know in Costa Rica garbage pickup is daily? People also recycle everything here, and Hotel Aranjuez keeps the place really clean. I could not find any hairs, dust, or dirt anywhere. Make sure you pay in cash, I don't think they take credit cards. Costa Rica accepts US dollars or colones. Make sure you call your bank to let them know you are traveling if you plan on using a credit card, or else it most likely won't work.

Since it is San Jose, except noise from outside....you can hear the trains, the dogs barking, cars zooming by and wind. The front door of the apartment needs to be fixed, it literally slams, it doesn't close softly, so the building kind of shakes. I asked them to fix it, but after one week, nothing was fixed for the door. I'm sure everyone can hear it. The door is made from glass and metal, so really loud slamming. There is also an elevator which is nice. San Jose is very old, so don't expect too many modern buildings. Hotel Aranjuez is probably the best when it comes to North American standards. Bring earplugs! No need to buy an electric converter, our plugs will work! I was also concerned about no A/C, but the building is very cool, so no need to worry!! There's a ceiling fan that helps a lot. It does get kind of chilly at night.

I was very happy with me stay, the breakfast buffet was $10 a day, but was amazing!! All local fruits like mangoes, watermelons, papayas, oranges, bananas etc...so much variety I didn't know which station to start at. The tap water was safe to drink, and never did get sick once. Mosquitoes are minimal but make sure to bring bug repellent.

The entire place is surrounded by plants, you literally feel like you are in the rainforest. The main building has tons of sitting areas, and the free wi-fi is strong. They also have lots of common areas to lounge around, and 2 computer kiosks. But no fitness facilities or pool/hot tub.

The neighbourhood is safe, but I don't recommend walking around at night. My local tour guide told me, and I agreed with his point. Watch out for high sidewalks and giant potholes, there are plenty everywhere. Lots of stray cats and dogs, but they don't seem to bother humans.

Anyways, hope this helps! Thanks again Hotel Aranjuez, I will return next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear customer: We are extremely proud that you have enjoyed our hospitality and considered your lodging experience with us as a “Perfect one”. : We much appreciate your detailed review. We are taking note of some issues pointed out by you that will help us to improve our service. Since now, we are implementing the following policies. The first one is to prepare a package including sponge for cleaning dishes, kitchen towel, dish soap, coffee filters and coffee. The idea is provide to our customers the option of requesting for this package at the moment of making the reservation. We must mention that many guests prefer to get everything they need in any of the “pulperías” (minimarkets), located just one block ahead, or at the Super-Market (6 blocks). About the towels, we provide one per person, but we charge for the extra ones. Besides, we are implementing special prices for our buffet breakfast for people lodging at the Apartments. We hope you keep your promise of returning soon to Costa Rica and to Hotel & Apartamentos Aranjuez. Thank you again for your helpful commentary and your concern in giving us ideas for improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Hotel is actually a row of older homes interconnected to create a hotel - very charming with garden areas in back. Breakfast was fantastic. As noted by some others, walls are thin and we sometimes heard neighbors talking or TV sounds, but we slept well as people generally were respectful of "quiet time" 10 pm - 6 am. Our "superior plus" room was comfortable with a seating area with a garden view and the rates were quite reasonable. They have some limited parking in locked, gated stalls, but you must request a parking space. The lobby staff spoke English and provided good service.

Two items that I feel could be improved upon:
1. Provide a hand towel in addition to shower towels.
2. Start brewing coffee around 6 am at the lobby coffee station.

The sun rises before 5:30 am and I was looking for coffee around 6 am. Breakfast is not until 7 am and they didn't brew coffee in the lobby until close to 7 am. Seems that it would be easy to start the coffee a while before the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for your timely commentary. We regret the sound problem of some of the rooms. We have made many efforts in this subject, but as we mentioned in our web and in other reviews, our priority is to conserve the old charm of the five wooden houses. About the improvements you’ve pointed out, we inform you that we already took care of both of them. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope that you repeat your visit to Hotel Aranjuez in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in the "Casita Apartment" at Hotel Aranjuez for 5 months from Dec. 2012 to Apr. 2013. The 2-bed, 2-bath apartment was charming and spacious with a private outdoor garden.

Safety: We didn't have any problems with walking around during the day or early evening (we aren't night owls, so we can't speak to later at night). However, the hotel has a watchman/security person who is very attentive.
Service: Outstanding! The owner and staff members are consistently courteous, friendly, and accommodating.
Sleep Quality: Expect noise - car alarms, train whistles, and neighbours above - as there is no insulation. However, we stayed in the back room by the garden and wore ear plugs and we slept fine.
Cleanliness: The apartment was cleaned 2 times per week, including fresh linen. There was an issue with termites at the end, which the hotel was addressing when we were leaving.
Facilities: The kitchen is adequately equipped, including a stove. However, be aware that there is no oven if you have any need for baking.
Location: Less than 10 minute walk to downtown; two-minute walk to Saturday morning Organic Farmer's Market; fifteen-minute walk to the expansive Guadalupe Market (Saturday mornings).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Celine: We much appreciate your commentary, specially the nice words addressed to our staff. We all keep good memories of you! During the five months you spent with us, we enjoy sharing your efforts in learning Spanish. For keeping the old days charm of “the Casita”, we were obligated to sacrifice the insulation. Our top priority is recuperating the architecture heritage. For this reason, no wooden wall or floor is removed if is not strictly necessary. Once again we thank you for staying with us and we hope you repeat the experience pretty soon. We wish you the best back to Canada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel was amazing! It was very quiet and decently close to the downtown area. The building itself was interesting to navigate and I spent a little time exploring where all the rooms were. It had a lot of old world character and I found several spots worthy of photos. The bathrooms in the rooms were very nice and clean. I slept extremely well here and I felt very comfortable. I would definitely recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear customer: We are very proud that you have had an “amazing” lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. Your commentary has been very stimulated for all of us. Thank you for valuate all our efforts! We’ll keep the hard work to be one of the best options in San José. ¡Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at the Aranjuez for over a week in the apartments adjacent to the hotel. I have to say the staff was very considerate and patient. They had plenty of information on activities and recommendations on food and drink.

I would definately stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Rodhop: Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We are also very happy that your lodging experience with us fulfilled your expectations and invite you to repeat the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.