We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but some serious issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value but some serious issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed in two different rooms, one at the beginning of our trip in Costa Rica and another for our last night. The entire hotel is cute and cozy. The breakfast is fantastic and definitely worth the money. The staff is also incredibly nice and helpful.

But there were some issues when we stayed there. The walls are paper thin. I could hear the man in the room across the hall snoring, as well as a couple in the room next to us talking till midnight. The floors are also made entirely out of wood and creak every time someone walks past your room. The biggest problem was on our final night in San Jose we were met with a swarm of termites. While they're harmless they were buzzing around our heads as we were trying to sleep.

My only requirement in a hotel room is that it allows me to sleep and as much as I wanted to like Aranjuez, it failed to meet that standard.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, don't stay in room 5. It's right next to the lobby and everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear customer: We much regret and apologize for the problems you have had during your stay at Hotel Aranjuez. We especially regret that you haven’t mentioned these problems to the Reception Desk in order to give you a satisfactory solution. Our staff has the obligation to give you another room if you’re not comfortable with the one you’re in. We're very concerned about the insect problems. We fumigate the Hotel with bio products every month. Hotel Aranjuez has made many efforts in soundproofing most of the rooms. Unfortunately, in some of them, we are not allow to do so due to the patrimony policies established in order to keep untouched the architecture of the wooden houses. Once again we apologize and we are sure of giving you a better lodging experience if you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    267
    50
    15
    13
See reviews for
106
267
75
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed 7 nights in the Aranjuez Hotel (the apartments, across the street from the hotel) based on other Trip Advisor reviews. The room was a large studio, with separate kitchen (fridge, microwave, hotplate stove, sink) and modern bath. Couch, small dining table, desk and chair, chest of drawers, 2 closets, electronic safe. Some of the furniture could use updating but this is a good value hotel and very clean. The apartment building is modern, without the rustic charm of the hotel. Staff is excellent- it makes a difference- very accommodating and professional. The area feels very safe during the day, I walked a few blocks some nights and did not feel concerned. The streets are well lit, it is a residential neighborhood. There are a few places to eat nearby, the vegetarian restaurant 2 blocks from the hotel was the best I found. Trigo y Miel also nice (mostly desserts) and Costello's was enjoyable one evening (restaurant bar with food, live music and little known rock videos from the 60s). The people of San Jose are extremely nice, the city itself is ugly and depressing. Driving is not recommended here. Extreme caution is needed when crossing streets near the hotel and elsewhere- cars and buses have the right of way and do not stop for pedestrians. Pavement is uneven and there are potholes everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest: We much appreciate your commentary. We especially value your words about our staff. We are very proud that they “make the difference” in your lodging experience at Hotel & Apartamentos Aranjuez. We must let you know that your observation of updating some of the furniture is already in the renovation plan of this year. For providing our customers with detailed information about the options of restaurants, bars and sodas nearby, we are making a new guide. The options mentioned by you, will be included. Once again, we thank you for taking your time to write about us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I would highly recommend staying here when in San Jose. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was great. It is about a 20 minute walk from town but it is nice to stroll around San Jose in any event.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you very much for recommending us. It is always a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the hospitality of our staff and the services offering by Hotel Aranjuez. We are hoping to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Good location, quiet residential neighborhood, 20 min walk to center. Breakfasts are great! Service though from the front desk was very weak. I am the owner of 3 Central American hotels, all highly rated on Trip Adviser so I think I can judge with some degree of authority the quality of service offered. Service by front desk people was consistently lacking in sincerity, warmth and friendliness. Sure they are more than capable to check a guest in, take payment, etc. ... But when it comes to genuine warmth and service to guests, personnel were sorely lacking. Part of this is simply cultural, after travelling thru Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Guatemala and Mexico, we have found genuine warm and personalized sercice to be woefully lacking in Costa Rica during this trip. A shame and a bit surprising especially given Costa Ricas privleged position as a regional tourism powerhouse. Efficiency and professional service are not substitutes for genuinely personalized and warmth of service. Being treated as just another tourist may be ok for some tourists, but this does not score high marks in my book. Costa Rica needs to do a much better job at making guests feel wanted, appreciated and valued - otherwise they are just another tropical, exotic locale like so many orher destinations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
First of all, we must apologize for not feeling out your expectations about the welcoming treatment of the costarrican people. We much appreciate your punctual observations about this subject. Even if our country is known for the affectionate way of welcoming the foreign people and most tourist remark this characteristic of the “ticos”, we recognize that we always have to keep working for improving in all ways. Hotel Aranjuez, for this reason, has a campaign through our staff for reinforcing all those friendly valuables that naturally distinguished the costarrican people. We are sincerely looking to leave in our guests the best impression of our staff and services. Thanks to your feedback, we will redouble our efforts in achieving this goal.. Once again we thank you for providing us this valuable information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. It is centrally located. Service was excellent and very gracious. The breakfast brunch is remarkable. I have. Never had something as delicious and complete anywhere else. I recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Carmen: Thank you so much for your words about your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. We´re especially proud of the remarkable experience you have had with our breakfast. We have being working very hard in the last month, introducing new recipes and innovating the presentation of our buffet breakfast. We are going to continue with the hard work! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We adore this hotel. There is no way to put the breakfast into words. Simply amazing. And the gorgeous outdoor living areas are perfect for spending a rainy evening reading and reveling in the jungle in the middle of the city. We moved from here to another hotel nearer the museum (we are checking out hotels for a group we are guiding next year) and immediately missed the Arunjuez terribly upon arrival. For example: the very kind staff, the quiet, serene atmosphere, the very thoughtful management, the ice machine!!
This a great place and a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest: We must thank you for appreciating our autochthonous lodgment proposition. Our goal has always been introducing our guests into an authentic costarrican lodgment experience which includes the warmth treatment of the costarrican people. We had been working very hard during the last 20 years in keeping and maintaining the atmosphere of the wooden houses as an historic and cultural heritage. We are very happy knowing that you have appreciated our efforts. We hope to see you and your group at Hotel Aranjuez very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Currently staying at the Aranjuez, , what a find. Good location to walk to Centro. Buffet breakfast exceeded any expectations. Nothing fancy, but updated, eclectic. Parking available, and can be a bit hard to find until you understand the street numbers, odd and even, one way, etc. nice place to relax and unwind, lots of sitting coves, plants. A gem of a place and real value, which is what we looked for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for your commentary. We are especially proud of providing you a lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez that deserves to be repeated. We are always looking that our services, all together, leave in our guests the sensation of passing through an autochthonous costarrican lodging experience. The wooden houses, the internal patios, the social areas, the neighborhood where you can find plenty of little sodas and cafes, the “pulpería” in the corner, the church, the school and the park, are part of this authentic costarrican experience that we are looking to leave in our customers. We hope to see you very soom!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.