We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, quirky set up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, quirky set up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Aranjuez in a Superior PLus room for 4 people. The hotel is built around 4 or 5 houses with a couple of open garden areas with resident hummingbirds. My children particularly enjoyed night spotting for opossums. As the hotel is a mix of houses I think each room is different - some are better positioned than others. I heard from a fellow resident that room 27 is the best one - but I haven't seen it so I can't confirm. Ours had two large beds, a bathroom and cable tv - the tv reception wasn't great but really were weren't in Costa Rica to watch movies.

I booked the hotel in advance on the basis of other Trip Advisor reviews about the garden and breakfast and wasn't disappointed. The breakfast is fantastic - far better than anything we'd had up until then - omelettes made to order, fresh juice, fruits, pastries, bread, and Gallo Pinto of course. We have 2 more nights booked over the next 4 weeks and will be looking forward to the return visit(s).

We organised a tour to the Poas volcano and travel to La Fortuna, the guys on reception rang around to get a good price for us so that was appreciated as Costa Rica is not a cheap place to travel!

Our room (22) was a bit dark but away from reception and the road at the front so was generally very quiet - the worst of the noise came from some neighbours who clearly had no idea just how loud their voices were!

Wherever you stay in San Jose expect to hear the traffic noise from about 4:30am onwards - its in the background.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest: We much appreciate your review. We celebrate that we have filled your expectations, based in the reviews genteelly written by our customers in Trip Advisor. We are taking note of your observations about room 22. We will find a way to improve the illumination. Due to the fact that Hotel Aranjuez is made up of five wooden houses, we ask our customers to reduce the “noise contamination” by the nights. Once again we thank you for your review and we are hoping to see you and your family very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    239
    43
    14
    12
See reviews for
96
238
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We (11 year old son and I) had a great stay at the Aranjuez Hotel. It's a quirky place with tons of charm. Rooms are adequate with TVs, hangers and phones. Bathrooms are stylish and clean. Breakfast is just great - over flowing with treats - though a bit spendy if you don't stay at the hotel ($9/person). What made the hotel was the staff - always available to meet your every need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear customer: It is a pleasure to know that you find “charming” the houses integrating Hotel Aranjuez. We are glad you have enjoy our buffet breakfast which includes a big variety of plates, fruits, pastries, five types of bred, gallo pinto and two additional hot plates, omelets, eggs to order, pancakes, coffe, ten varieties of the, chocolate and many others goodies. Usually, in Costa Rica, you pay around US$6 for only a typical breakfast (gallo pinto, one egg, two toasts and coffee) in any little soda. We must thank you for the warmest words about our staff. We hope you are your son visit us pretty soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It has all been said before but Aranjuez is unique. In fact this, old converted house, is charming in part because each room is unique. The upgraded, stylish bathrooms are unexpected in such an old building. It can be noisy, but it is friendly noise. (One might try for a room away from the desk area.) There are pleasant nooks, crannies and open patios for visiting. And what they say is true; breakfast is unbelievably bountiful and delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Don: For us has been a great pleasure to read all the nice words expressed by you about your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. We celebrate that you loved the bathroom´s renovation. During the “Slow Season” we will continue those efforts. Even if we have important limitations due to the structure of the houses, we are always looking to reduce the “friendly noise”. We are hoping to see you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A hotel you feel comfortable in. A rambling group of houses joined together by gardens and sitting areas. All rooms are different, some in a garden setting, others inside one of the houses. (Try room 23 - both quiet and bright.) Some rooms have little natural light but the lighting itself is excellent, so you don't really notice. And, as everyone points out, the breakfast buffets are wonderful. Take a later bus to your next stop, rather than miss out on your breakfast.
One quibble. There are quite a large number of rooms and only one receptionist, who answers phones, locks up luggage which is being left for a few days, accepts payments, gives information and checks you in and out. It really needs two people as you can wait quite a bit at times as he attends to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Norma: For us is a joy to find out that you have had a “perfect” stay at Hotel Aranjuez.
Especially we are proud of the rating that you gave us. According to our “Sustainable” efforts, all our illumination has been changed five times during the last 20 years. During the 2012, we have changed all the lights and we've put led bulbs that consume less energy than other options. Even if we are a small Hotel, from Monday to Friday we have two people attending the Reception Desk. Only during this “Green Season”, we have some people out on vacation. Once again, thank you for your commentary and we hope you repeat the experience at Hotel Aranjuez soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I rented the standard Studio for a week and paid $230, it is good value and you also save money by eating out as well.. The kitchen is fully equiped (no sponge!)
It is very secure as you need a special key to enter the building itself.
Barrio Aranjuez felt pretty safe but I did not go out at night...
Also I need 8 night and for the last night for $39 dollars I was allowed to keep my room (without the kitchen use) so it avoided packing away for one night and change room.
Very much appreciated this!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for letting us to know that your stay at Apartments Aranjuez pleases you that much. We are happy knowing that the commodities of this modern construction met the requirements of people requesting for a longer lodgment period in San José. We are hoping you stay with us in the near future. Next time you will find the sponge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Breakfast is quite something here an amazing spread for all tastes. Entertainment provided by Humming birds and Squirrels with bit parts from other birds in the lovely tropical garden. Hard to believe you are in the city. Rooms clean, comfortable and quiet. Lovely old rambling buildings - much loved (read the history by the terrace) .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Pam: We are especially proud of providing you a "wonderful" lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. We have been working during all these years in keeping the traditional costarrican patios of the houses as they were in the old days. In our patios the large trees as the “urucas”, “mango” and “cas” share the space with banana and coffee plantation and a diversity of plants as wild orchids, "tabacones" and many others. We are also grateful that you have appreciated all our cleaning efforts. We give so much value to our maid’s job and we are supporting them by providing a weekly professional advice from our suppliers. We hope next time you visit us; you will enjoy all the new costarrican plants we are going to cultivate at the beginning of the rainy season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Chose this place because of the great review, specially about the breakfast. They're not kidding- lovely way to start a trip. Unexpected little oasis in a rather bland neighborhood (not much to see around there but whatever, we just went to rest before starting a road trip). Looooved the decorations, i'm a huge fan of Boruca masks and they have a bunch. Would give it a higher rating but there were some flies (we didn't mind really) and a somewhat musty smell in the bedroom. Staff is friendly and helpful, a very organized business with a mom and pop feel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Ambar: We much value your commentary. Our Boruca masks, acquired 15 years ago directly from the Indians, are one of our treasures. We much regret the problems you have found in your room. We invite our customers to contact immediately the Reception Desk any time they find something irregular in the rooms in order to correct the situation right away. Our staff is trained to give a satisfactory solution to any problem related with our services. We work very hard in keeping the rooms and social areas clean. We use a diversity of well known biodegradable products and provide professional assistance to our maid staff every week. For this reason we will be very grateful if our customers help us achieving our cleaning excellence by letting us know immediately if they find some deficiency in this subject. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us a new opportunity to provide you a "most pleasant lodging experience".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.