We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast buffet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Niskayuna, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best breakfast buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I met my dear companion at Hotel Aranjuez, where he had already stayed a few days. We used it as our home base for the first half of our Costa Rican vacation. Bear in mind this is a BUDGET hotel, the four stars are relative to that consideration, this is a small family run hotel, it in no way compares to any large corporate hotel. I rate 4 stars for ease of use, value for money, convenience of location, performance of staff.
This hotel is an eclectic conversion of a number of residences, attached into one hotel by covered walkways containing a veritable jungle of plants. It is located in a fairly quiet neighborhood near a hospital, walking distance (for us) to downtown, parks, museums, bank, reasonable restaurants and a great Saturday organic market. The area is likely not attractive to most American travelers, but we walked around at night, ate at local restaurants , Soda Isabel and Costellos, in particular, without fear.
Due to a mis-communication, we ended up using 4 different rooms! All the rooms are very basic, linens clean though thin and scratchy (towels are air dried); all rooms have a safe (which is very nice!); every bed was very comfortable; television reception was good, WiFi was variable. Unfortunately, rooms that have windows on the street tend to smell of car exhaust during the day when there is traffic.
Recommend room 24 and 34 for quietness. Room 30 is too close to the lobby for sleeping later than 6 am. Recommend taking a room with a bath unless you are on a really tight budget. Room 20 (shared bath) had no wifi signal. Room 34 was the nicest of the four.
Staff was very accommodating for all needs, most speaking English and being very patient for our terrible attempts at Spanish; accommodations were made for refrigeration of medication; laundry service is available for $10 for a small (by American standards) load; washed, dried and folded; completed in about 8 hours. Black coffee and tea is available at all times, Glen makes it best!
Breakfast buffet is the best by far of all 5 hotels used in Costa Rica, a huge assortment of fruits, tapas, desserts, and beverages as well as made to order eggs and pancakes, hot traditional dishes like plantain and gallo pinto.
The hotel also sells tour packages of which we took advantage, with great satisfaction to Tortuguerra/Laguna Lodge and the Braullio Carillo national parks.
Concerns or negatives we encountered: Be advised that they prefer dollars to their own national currency! But they return your change in Collones, after figuring the exchange rate to their advantage, which was not unexpected, but the staff insisted that it was advantageous to the customer (it was not!) it was at first very confusing and then not worth mentioning (the house always wins) . Plan on using dollars and go to the nearby National bank for obtaining money in dollars for very low fee ($4 plus your own bank fee).
The standard of cleanliness is good, but the environment and being mostly open to air makes the encounter of insects likely; some travelers will object to this.
All in all, it was a very good experience, the negatives (offered only for accuracy) being quite insignificant in comparisons to the positives.
Recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter. Exterior rooms tend to smell of car exhaust as windows are kept open (n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We much appreciate your detailed commentary about Hotel Aranjuez. Our Hotel is an ecological Hotel, which means that we have a campaign for the reasonable use of water and electricity. Even if we use first class and certify products in the cleaning and laundry, the towels still a little scratchy due that we dried them open air. Our linen has been renovated completely. We are also renovating many of the bathrooms. Our customers are free to pay in colones or US$ and you can ask for receiving the change in the same money in order to evict the exchange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    249
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
97
246
67
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selma, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Amazing hotel & apartment! My husband and I stayed in the apartment for six weeks with our two children while completing their adoption. It was an incredibly full, life-changing experience, and we couldn't possibly be more grateful to all of the Aranjuez staff who went out of their way to make all of us feel completely at home. They helped us with anything we needed and were extremely accommodating. But most importantly, they each seemed to genuinely care about us and helping us have the best experience possible. Also, there is a huge, family-friendly park just a block away, and the neighborhood is very tranquilo.

We would highly recommend the hotel if you're staying for a short visit. You seriously can't beat the incredible breakfast or the comfy rooms with personality. But if you're staying long term like we did, definitely consider staying in one of the apartments. You'll feel like you're right at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

With great historical charm and a good location for touring the city, the Aranjuez was a good value to stumble upon. The staff was wonderful, very helpful and always with a smile. The true gift was the incredible breakfast! This is not your average breakfast, it goes above and beyond. Feature various breakfast stations including pastry's, fruit, omelette/egg, juices, a nice selection of teas and of course the delicious coffee..all located in the charming garden. Absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: We had #21 and #22 which shared a little corridor which was great for 5 women to share. It was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Aranjuez hotel 2 nights in March 2012 at the beginning and at the end of our trip in Costa Rica. The hotel is nice, the staff is very helpful. The rooms are large, simple but very clean. There is everything you need in the rooms (towels, soap, even safes). The hotel seems very safe, the staff is keeping an eye on who enters and exits the hotel. The tropical garden is beautiful and the breakfast amazing! Very good hotel overall, would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I like the hotel alot. Normally I choose hotels that are located in more trendy /pedestrian areas but the reviews on here got me. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad area in terms of danger or industry or things like that...I just prefer areas with cafes and restaurants all over and this is not that area.

The hotel is well described in other reviews. Our interior room is nice and cozy and and quiet has a certain simple charm. Upscale it is not, so if you're expecting a Marriott for your money you will be disappointed. Think bed and breakfast but downscale, but with beautiful grounds, a nice breakfast spread and good staff you you get the idea.

For what it's I would definitely stay here again. but with reduced expectations that I am not in the center of things.

Room Tip: I have an interior room and thought it is open to the hallways, it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Peninsula, ON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for the first few nights of our trip to Costa Rica with our 8 month old baby. The hotel is beautiful because it has nature built right in! We stayed in the main building and in the new apartment-hotel building and both rooms were comfortable. The internet signal in the new building was not working very well, but the room was very nice. The service is what puts this over the top, however. The staff was so lovely all the time but the litmus test came when I (stupidly) cut my thumb open with the blender I was using to make baby food. It happened right beside the breakfast room and every staff member that came into contact with me was fantastic! The one of the cleaning staff gave me first aid while the reception staff made arrangements to get me to the emergency room...they even got the taxi to take me there an come back tot he hotel later for payment! One of the cleaning staff even cleaned the dreaded blender for us!! The chef kept some breakfast warm for us and served it to us in our room when we got back from the hospital. It's a lovely place but the people make it even better!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building did not have god wifi signal when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions and liked both times.
Very convenient location, just a short walk to the museums and the pedestrian street.
Very comfortable room. We had a double room with shared bathroom and bathrooms are numerous and always clean.
Breakfast is unbeatable! Never seen such a big and delicious variety, they even make you omelettes/eggs/pancakes on the spot.
Staff attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.