We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eagle, Co
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stayed one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel came highly recommended from TripAdvisor and then from people I met once arriving in San Jose. The main building is lovely and the staff was gracious and helpful. They were full when we got there and refered us to another hotel. When we finally got a room at Aranjuez, it was a bit of a dissapointment. The room was in a 9 story apartment building, not the lovely main building. We felt isolated and stuck in a concrete building with no character. The room was clean. The bathroom was nice. There were ants on the floor. The breakfast was great. We only stayed one night and moved to another hotel with a pool and some better ambiance.

Room Tip: Separate apt building is a shoebox. Try and stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    267
    50
    15
    13
See reviews for
106
267
75
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal, Québec
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Excellent value for the rates, friendly and efficient service, amazing setting in residential neibourhood. You feel like you are living an authentic costarican experience.
The breakfast is included and not to be missed - high end value.
If you enjoy a homey feel to you stay, you will love Aranjuez. It's my third time here :)

Room Tip: I was impressed with room 36. No. 35 is the same. All rooms are different and have their own persona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip to Costa Rica. The staff were very obliging & helpful - the breakfast is top drawer (& included in your stay). The budget rooms are on a corridor which is quite noisy, so probably not one for the light sleepers. Out first night we had 2 old sunken mattresses, but they were swapped for us on the second night without a fuss. Bathrooms are nice - clean & well maintained property with plenty of character in a safe region.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinau, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Since 3 years we visit CR. Last year we heard of this hotel, "you just have to try that place.." So we did and it was great! We hat two stopover's in this hotel in January 2012. Everything is very good here, what you see on the homepage is also really what you get! The bed was comfortable, hot water in the showers, the breakfast is overwhelming and the stuff is friendly and helpful. We liked the garden very, very much, it's an oasis in San Jose! We slept very well (no train or noice), still its only 5 minutes walk from the city. The tourservice is a hit, a lot of things to choose from. You get all you ever need so this will be the place we will always choose when we come back. We think: best price and best choice!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

After reading many good reviews, we were excited to stay at Aranjuez. We emailed months ahead of time, but never got confirmation from them. We called, but never heard back. We had a tour provider in Costa Rica call on our behalf and they reported back that there were no reservations under our name. So we made arrangements to stay elsewhere only to have the hotel charge us for two rooms we obviously never used. We're still fighting the charges. What a mess. They're not worth the trouble.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Gerente at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Right away we receive the reimburse request from the Bank, we got in touch with the customer and the Bank. Hotel Aranjuez only charge for a reservation when is confirmed by our system, due to this reason, the bank charge you for the reservation. Hotel Aranjuez risks a penal demand if we charge a not confirmed reservation. We already request our Bank to reimburse the money and apologize twice for the problems you went trough. We also implement the policy to recheck the CCF and the confirmation (that we attach to the CCF since the moment we receive it) three days before the arrival of the customers in order to avoid this kind of situations. As we explain in the message that we’ve sent to you personally, in some cases, we have send the confirmation but for some reasons, out of our control, they customer don’t receive it. We arrive to solve this problem with the customer when they reach us by phone. In this case, we resend the confirmation while the client still online. In some cases we have the experience of requesting for an alternative e-mail address. Your commentary will help us to improve, even more, our reservation system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Aranjuez for 3 nights before heading back to the UK. The hotel itself is very unique - constructed from several mansions there are many nooks and crannies and lots of wonderful outdoor patios and lovely gardens - it doesn't feel like it is in the middle of the city at all.

Thee location is very good. 10 minutes walk from the downtown area and sights the neighbourhood is quiet but since it is near the hospital there are several lovely local restaurants to choose from.

The breakfast buffet is fantastic. The pancakes and omelettes in particular are delicious, there is a lot of fruit and breads and cakes - so much choice!!

And the price is fantastic - we paid just $52 a night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Hotel Arenjuez is is in historic Arenjuez district, made up of about four large historic homes, connected by a series of breezeways and courtyards. They have beautiful tropical gardens throughout the property, complete with hummingbirds and squirrels. You're free to wander...you can get a flavorful cup of Costa Rican coffee and sit in a suspended chair out in a garden, or take it to the tables set up in the garden off of the open-air dining area.

Each room is decorated differently. The rooms that I've stayed in are not fancy, but this is a budget hotel. They have beautiful Costa Rican artwork...masks, vases, etc., permanently on display throughout the hotel. Most of their employees speak at least some English, and they're very helpful and friendly. They have a tour desk, so it's very convenient to book tours right from the hotel. WiFi in the rooms and common areas is a nice touch.

One of the best parts about staying here is their magnificent breakfasts. They have the freshest tropical fruits, pastries and breads baked daily, eggs cooked to order, gallo pinto, (of course!) meats, and more. I would stay here just for the breakfast, if for no other reason!

I've stayed there a couple times and will be going back in May. Since it's in San Jose, I only stay there when I'm arriving or leaving the country...simply because city life isn't my bag, but when I'm in Costa Rica, I will always spend at least one night at Hotel Aranjuez.

If you're looking for luxury accommodations, you'll want to pass this place up, but really, you'll be missing so much if you do!

Room Tip: They have rooms with shared baths, private baths, large rooms, small rooms, and rooms in the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.