We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little jungle garden in the middle of San Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new york, NY
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Little jungle garden in the middle of San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Aranjuez for about 4 nights and enjoyed this place. It's location in a residential neighborhood a short walk to the historical city sites and away from noisy downtown, made it a great place. The hotel's building is actually 3 old houses connected by small gardens and covered patios, it had many nooks and crannies to explore. The best part of the hotel was the breakfast, it was delicious and changed every day, with a great variety of pastries and breads, fruits, salads, eggs made to order
and usually 2 side dishes to go with it. The patio breakfast was lovely placed in a jungle/garden that for as long you were there, made you forget that you were in San Jose.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    267
    50
    15
    13
See reviews for
106
267
75
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
costa rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

best value in San Jose. the rooms have all you need, each one is different, some nicer or bigger than others, but they all work. the staff is great, and always helpful. the breakfast is really good, free, and pretty. I have been staying there for years now. The location is safe and quiet. there are a few restaurants and stores nearby. Tico food, or the fashionable Cafe Mundo is a 10 minute walk or short cab ride.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

If you are not staying for at least a whole full day in San Jose, I would recommend to get an accomodation near the airport. I agree with some of the posters here that the hotel looked tired boarderline dingy. I felt like our room was not competely cleaned. The trash can in the bathroom was not emptied out from the previous guest. I don't mind the Front Desk not being friendly but he was not very helpful. When I asked him how much will it cost for a cab to the airport, he just said, "$25.00" and that was it. I thought that was pretty stiff. He did not offer any alternative. We asked if we could take a bus. He gave us a map showed us where to grab the bus. He just circled the bus station and he was done explaining. My husband and I ventured out and walked around the neighborhood and thought it was pretty interesting. The locals we ran into on the streets were alot more helpful than they were. Told us where to grab the bus and where to get off. When we got off the first bus, we asked again where the bus to the airport and the lady even walked us to the corner and pointed where it was at. It only cost the two of us together less than $2. for 2 bus rides. The buses leaves every 5 minutes and it's pretty safe and comfortable.

Oh, right next to the bus station is a Nicaraguan restaurant. The food was the best I've had in CR . The soup was awesome.

Regarding the breakfast everyone was raving about, we thought was just ok. There were alot of food but that was about it. Lots of food. The food service was excellent. They were very attentive. The garden was awesome. I enjoyed that one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjara, Owner at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are taking care of the problems pointed out by you. In any case, we have to mention that all the information about taxis is included in our website. If you ever decide to come back to Hotel Aranjuez, you can request to stay in the modern section -Apartamentos Aranjuez-, and not in the autentic costarican section.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My mom & I stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of our trip. It was only $45 and included a delicious Costa Rican breakfast buffet. It was very quaint with high ceilings and hardwood floors and a pretty courtyard. It was on a quiet street, and a good location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed in San Jose for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute that I was at Hotel Aranjuez. The staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable, the breakfast was amazing, and the rooms were well worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Aranjuez last year and enjoy it so much that we decided to stay there again this year! The hotel staff is very nice and infomative. The rooms are a nice size and are very clean. The best part, in my opinion, is the amazing spread of food they have each morning for breakfast. There are plenty of fresh fruits, delicious pastries, and omeletes made to order.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

This was the Tico experience I was hoping to find! It is a series of old Costa Rican homes, connected fluidly in a beautiful array of corridors and tropical courtyards. I was impressed with the friendly staff, the super clean linens (air dried... don't expect soft towels!) and homey atmosphere. It offered all I needed and then some... coffee in the "lobby", ice, etc, and the most unbelievable breakfast buffet in a tropical courtyard with very attentive staff. A truly amazing deal for the price. Located in a nice, convenient neighborhood. Not for those who prefer the unimaginative Holiday Inns or Radisons but certainly for those who like clean, welcoming, unique, charming environs. Only downfall is that my bed was not super soft, but certainly clean and comfy. Ask to see a few rooms if there are choices, as some are located on the courtyards, some by the street, some in quiet halls, and all have a different configuration.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few choices, as the rooms vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.