We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time at Colours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colours Oasis Resort

Save Saved
You added Colours Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colours Oasis Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Direct book from $39 sgl.
Ranked #16 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Another great time at Colours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Full disclosure, this is my fifth review of Colours and I am a loyal repeat customer.
Two reasons, I love Costa Rica and visit multiple times a year, and after having stayed in a great many different accommodations all over CR, I have determined there is something very special about Colours.
A boutique hotel, but really more a guesthouse, Colours is a place that is both comfortable and welcoming, no matter who you are. You will find the staff there to be warm, helpful, and professional. With many public areas the guests tend to congregate and converse, the atmosphere is different than one would find in the average hotel, akin to the difference between travel by plane and train.
Colours is like the train trip, where you can stay in your sleeper, or you can go to the observation, dining or lounge cars.
The location is great, walkable to almost everything one might need including many dining options, and an inexpensive bus or taxi ride to downtown San Jose, about 60 cents US$ by bus US$7 by taxi.
With among other amenities, a full service restaurant bar, pool, hot tubs, Wi-Fi, tour and transportation arrangements on premises, Colours offers a seamless and enjoyable choice to travelers who visit San Jose.
And with a wide range of room choices and rates it offers a good choice no matter the budget.
Give Colours a try, I am sure you will like it.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, some a bit quirky---which I love!!---so ask to view others in your price range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    38
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
1
53
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff and great community area. Loved pool area. Our room should be closed and NEVER given to another guest. The bathroom roof is open to provide only light which means that EVERY sound from lobby, bar, and reception can be heard in room. Worse though is kitchen on other side of wall and you hear staff wash every plate and piece of silverware until quite late. Staff not willing to help.
We choose because we had early flight (5:30am) but got little sleep that night !! Room 14 should not be given to anyone looking for sleep. Rest of hotel looks nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james c, Owner at Colours Oasis Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
The Colours staff and I are very pleased that you mentioned our friendly staff, great community, lovely pool area and nice looking hotel. All our 20 varied rooms are unique and range from the economy - budget / smart value to premium - studio / master apartments. Offering unique rooms in a boutique property does require effort to match up each room´s features with the particular guest. It is unfortunate, room 14 did not fit your needs. We have other local repeat guests that only stay with us when that particular room is available. They like the open light patio area with its rainforest shower unit for that ¨outside¨ spa feeling which was the source of your sound issues that particular evening. The room rate on your unit was less than $49 plus tax. We did have other rooms open for that rate or wish your budget would have allowed you to upgrade to one of our other varied units. I have spoken with the evening desk receptionist and he remembers your visit in the early evening to our front desk to ask when the Rohrmoser street traffic ends and he replied after 8 PM. You later returned to leave a wake up call for 4:30 AM but never mentioned in either visit any problem with your sensitivity to sounds in your room. If you had mentioned, we would have gladly offered to move you to another available room. The Colours staff strive to offer the best facilities for the best value. We are disappointed to have earned a one star rating for our efforts; however, please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory night of sleep. We accept all comments as an ongoing learning process. We will strive to better advise particular guests when choosing that particular room. We look forward to one day hosting you again at Colours....celebrating in 2013, our 30 years of entertaining fans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

After booking my plane tickets for my recent trip to Costa Rica I didn't think twice about a reservation at Colours. Consistency is the best way hotels have to have clients coming back and this place sure knows how to. The staff is as wonderful and helpful as last year. I order the same dinner (chicken with mushroom sauce) and it was as delicious. I arranged the airport pick up and the guy even remembered me from last August. I love that this place is not in the center of San Jose, it's only about $6 to get there in a cab and then you can get back to that nice clean pool. Looking forward to another night at Colurs when I get back in December. Gracias Liz and the rest of the staff for making it such a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor near the pool are are always best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I really like this property.
The owner and staff are both professional and personable. They make your stay almost as easy as home---without the chores!
The location, while not in downtown, is a 65 cent bus ride or $8 taxi from San Jose centro. It is in the western residential neighborhood of Rohrmoser, a few blocks from the US Embassy and within walking distance of all one might need during a stay.
The property itself is interesting and unique, with a wide variety of room choices to fit almost every budget.
Do your self a favor, give Colours a try if you are in San Jose. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here as bookends on my trip to Costa Rica. The room both times was large, comfortable, clean, the staff very helpful helpful. I didn't use the pool but liked the whole first floor design. Other stayed in El Presidente, located in the center, and although that didn't have as warm a feel, for its location I might stay there next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a nice hotel close to the NatureAir airport in San Jose (Tobias Bolanos, SYQ). Other than that, it is far out from the city center. It feels very safe.
The English speaking staff is friendly and welcoming. The hotel serves also as a local gay-friendly bar, and the vibe is light and relaxing.
The rooms are very well equipped and clean, with hot water all day long and decent wifi.
The facility also offers nice jacuzzi, a "business center" with a single computer and several common areas with comfortable sofas.
They offer you a shuttle to SYQ airport for $6 - this is way too much for a very short ride. Try to get your own taxi for a more reasonable price.
After staying and eating there I suffered from a 24-hours stomach ache (only time it happened to me in Costa Rica). I hope this is just a rare incident.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here my first night in town before heading into the jungle and it was really perfect for my purposes, with helpful staff to direct you into town, and an easy to get to location from the airport. If you are a trendy traveler, looking for a boutique hotel and "open" atmosphere, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose
Colours Oasis Resort Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colours Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.