We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique feel, great location for travelers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colours Oasis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Colours Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Colours Oasis Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Direct book from $39 sgl.
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice boutique feel, great location for travelers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here my first night in town before heading into the jungle and it was really perfect for my purposes, with helpful staff to direct you into town, and an easy to get to location from the airport. If you are a trendy traveler, looking for a boutique hotel and "open" atmosphere, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    43
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
2
56
42
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

we are married couple stayed here to party in san jose and still have safe cozy retreat to go home to.I would recomend this hotel for price and personalized service. All of the staff was very friendly and willing to give help or advice.Louis diego was our front desk clerk when we arrived and went above and beyound the call of duty to make our stay excellent.my wife and i are both in hospitality industry and would rather have stayed at this private quiet oasis than in fancier name hotel in san jose.Hotel is located just outside san jose and had 24 hr security. cant wait for return stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My friend and I chose to stay at Colours because of its proximity to the US Consulate after her passport (and pretty much everything else) was stolen. Colours was truly an oasis for her after such an ordeal. The place made her feel so safe. We stayed in a small room on the bottom floor, in the corner, which was cozy and felt like a little cave of comfort. Location wise, it just depends on what you are in SJ to do, for how long, and how much you want to pay for taxis. Breakfast was delicious, as were the margaritas. The staff were so helpful and kind. They arranged a taxi/shuttle for me to the airport for $20. The only negative things I would say are in regards to upkeep/maintenance. The ceiling of our room leaked a bit, luckily right near the door where a plant was, but it still made the floor wet. Also, there are two hot tubs, one of which is filled with those Chuck-E-Cheese balls (awesome idea), and they seemed to be a bit dirty and have temperature regulation issues. Fine when you're an adult and can identify when water is too hot to be in, but I'd be cautious with kiddos. Overall though, I will definitely be back and send folks to this hotel when in SJ.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in room 18, I personally love that there is mixed crowd. Clean rooms, laundry service, our neighbor chose to have his mom recover there after surgery, she was sweet as a hard candy Christmas. My friend joined a day late, I just had to pencil him in. Another friend rode with us to the airport for a convenient $10 charge. All of the staff went out of there way to make us feel at home. TOTALLY GOING BACK!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice welcoming, nice boutique hotel, very nice reception lady, we had a great time there, nice pool, its better to get a room around the pool, you feel very at home and welcoming here, it's a great location to discover the city of San José.

Room Tip: choose a room around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Colours Oasis Resort has all the prerequisites to be a home away from home. I liked the complex with all its nooks and crannies and the small pool area with the plants. Sadly, the place did not live up to my expectations. Colours is located in Rohrmoser, an outer district of the capital city of San Jose. One is not really located in downtown San Jose so none of the sites are in walking distance of anything. There is no view such as you would find in places like Escazu or Santa Ana. The entire complex is rather space-constrained. The biggest deficiency for me was the complete lack of any acceptable modern communications infrastructure. I have never seen so many wireless server signals, none of them with any useful signal strength to hook up my cell phone or laptop onto the internet. The one single workstation available for guests seems to be from the 20th century and offers internet connections at absolute snails-pace. I only had faint cell coverage throughout the hotel complex and none whatsoever inside the room. When I travel, being able to communicate is of primary importance. The rooms are clean and the showers functional but you could hear the people in the adjacent rooms cough. The tiny bar has a very limited selection of anything and once I was ready to sample the restaurant food the kitchen had closed down (9:15pm). I was directed to a Costa Rican soda around the corner with an - guess what - excellent wireless signal. I will be thinking twice before checking into Colours Resort again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del Toro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We only stayed here for one night due to an early flight out of San Jose, but would definitely return. Good location near Sabana Park, nice restaurant/bar on premises and very nice rooms surrounding a courtyard with pool and hot tubs. Great value for San Jose. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made our few hours there very comfortable. And the place was very well set up with great artwork everywhere and feels intimate and quiet from the outside bustle of the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose
Colours Oasis Resort Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colours Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.