We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice oasis in the city of San José” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colours Oasis Resort

Save Saved
You added Colours Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colours Oasis Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice oasis in the city of San José”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice welcoming, nice boutique hotel, very nice reception lady, we had a great time there, nice pool, its better to get a room around the pool, you feel very at home and welcoming here, it's a great location to discover the city of San José.

Room Tip: choose a room around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    42
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
2
55
41
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Colours Oasis Resort has all the prerequisites to be a home away from home. I liked the complex with all its nooks and crannies and the small pool area with the plants. Sadly, the place did not live up to my expectations. Colours is located in Rohrmoser, an outer district of the capital city of San Jose. One is not really located in downtown San Jose so none of the sites are in walking distance of anything. There is no view such as you would find in places like Escazu or Santa Ana. The entire complex is rather space-constrained. The biggest deficiency for me was the complete lack of any acceptable modern communications infrastructure. I have never seen so many wireless server signals, none of them with any useful signal strength to hook up my cell phone or laptop onto the internet. The one single workstation available for guests seems to be from the 20th century and offers internet connections at absolute snails-pace. I only had faint cell coverage throughout the hotel complex and none whatsoever inside the room. When I travel, being able to communicate is of primary importance. The rooms are clean and the showers functional but you could hear the people in the adjacent rooms cough. The tiny bar has a very limited selection of anything and once I was ready to sample the restaurant food the kitchen had closed down (9:15pm). I was directed to a Costa Rican soda around the corner with an - guess what - excellent wireless signal. I will be thinking twice before checking into Colours Resort again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del Toro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We only stayed here for one night due to an early flight out of San Jose, but would definitely return. Good location near Sabana Park, nice restaurant/bar on premises and very nice rooms surrounding a courtyard with pool and hot tubs. Great value for San Jose. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made our few hours there very comfortable. And the place was very well set up with great artwork everywhere and feels intimate and quiet from the outside bustle of the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfito, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the western part of the city called Rohrmoser. The employees and staff are very helpful and non intrusive. The hotel was and is primarily gay but it has been more relationship inclusive as of late. There are lots of different rooms for various budgets and a restaurant on-site. I like the pizza alot! Like the majority of hotels in Costa Rica this hotel is not your standard cookie-cutter U.S. style hotel. If your looking for a Hampton Inn experience or are a fussy traveler looking to pay $9.99 a night for a Ritz Carlton Suite this place is not for you. Actually, this country is not for you. I have stayed here at least 5 times and each time I find it charming and laid-back. Most of the time I meet other guests and have remained friends with them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Location is decent, a bit residential but an easy walk to restaurants and basic shopping. We only stayed on night as we passed through town but it was a nice place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the new wing which was nice. The room was comfortable and very clean. The staff was very helpful with special call out to the fact that we left something in the room after checking out. We called the front desk an our property was there waiting for our call. The only true down side is the pool. Very limited chairs; 3, a pool that was very cold, and a hot tub that was way too hot. Be aware that the workout space is a total after thought . Broken treadmill .

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Colours for our last night in Costa Rica to be closer to the airport in San Jose. After an insanely harrowing drive in from Dominical (beware of crazy traffic and weird lane merges the entire way to San Jose...allow for plenty of travel time) we were happy to be greeted by the terrific staff. Check in was a breeze and all of our reservations were in order

Upon seeing the rooms, everyone in our group wished they were a little more updated. It appears some of the rooms have been modernized, but others are rather oudated. They were clean, however, and included basic amenities.

The breakfast in the morning was great and the pool area was nice to lounge in. The front desk arranged transport to the airport for us and it was extremely cheap.

All in all the staff was great and our group of 7 - 4 gay and 3 allies - felt welcomed. Had we been staying more than one night, we most likely would have wanted more modern accommodations.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose
Colours Oasis Resort Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colours Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.