We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a pass though San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colours Oasis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colours Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Colours Oasis Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place for a pass though San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Location is decent, a bit residential but an easy walk to restaurants and basic shopping. We only stayed on night as we passed through town but it was a nice place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    51
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
2
71
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the new wing which was nice. The room was comfortable and very clean. The staff was very helpful with special call out to the fact that we left something in the room after checking out. We called the front desk an our property was there waiting for our call. The only true down side is the pool. Very limited chairs; 3, a pool that was very cold, and a hot tub that was way too hot. Be aware that the workout space is a total after thought . Broken treadmill .

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Colours for our last night in Costa Rica to be closer to the airport in San Jose. After an insanely harrowing drive in from Dominical (beware of crazy traffic and weird lane merges the entire way to San Jose...allow for plenty of travel time) we were happy to be greeted by the terrific staff. Check in was a breeze and all of our reservations were in order

Upon seeing the rooms, everyone in our group wished they were a little more updated. It appears some of the rooms have been modernized, but others are rather oudated. They were clean, however, and included basic amenities.

The breakfast in the morning was great and the pool area was nice to lounge in. The front desk arranged transport to the airport for us and it was extremely cheap.

All in all the staff was great and our group of 7 - 4 gay and 3 allies - felt welcomed. Had we been staying more than one night, we most likely would have wanted more modern accommodations.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed 2 separate nights on Feb 8th and Feb 23rd and both times women were around, total buzz kill. Guess gay guys aren't staying here anymore and they have to fill the place somehow. Anyway let me know where all you guys are staying now.

Room is what it is and breakfasts are great and the staff so friendly. Jacuzzi with the balls was hot and great to jump in the pool to cool down. Most guys kept bathing suits on because of the women but 2 of us swam naked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A repeat visitor, I have seen the best and the worst. On my last visit, I was promised the first room in the 'expansion' should the rooms actually be completed on time. I showed up after a day of driving to be told that the rooms were in fact completed and ready for occupancy (good news), but that my status as first on the waiting list didn't stack up against a new group booking. I was told the hotel was now full and i would have to re-locate. I understand the need to maximize profit, so congrats to Colours. But it doesn't earn my loyalty. Ended up booking a much cheaper nicer Aloft hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james c, General Manager at Colours Oasis Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are truly sorry for any inconvenience; however, all of our wait-listed repeat guests were told we were fully booked on the night of February 17th. We could not guarantee any space would open. Our new construction was specifically allocated to a tour group that booked months earlier. If anyone of this group had cancelled last minute, we would have gladly offered space to you. It should be noted in all our email correspondence to wait-listed guests, we were prepared to place them in brand new rooms at a nearby hotel (few blocks-walking distance) with complimentary access to the pool, bar, restaurant and other facilities here at Colours. We also would like to clarify comments regarding rates. Colours rates as shown here in TripAdvisor range from $66 to $106 whereas the Hotel Aloft mentioned shows rates from $106 to $156. We take great pride in nearly 30 years of operations offering value and service to our new as well as vast number of repeat guests. We treat all like family. The situation was unfortunate and I personally hope you reconsider and do visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I always like staying at Colours Oasis. The hotel staff is friendly and they will do their utmost to make your stay comfortable. It's an adult only resort and we appreciate that... The breakfast is good and healthy.

We stay here because it's close to the airport and downtown. The rooms are basic but comfortable. There is lots of work going on as they are opening a few more rooms soon.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no window but it's ok... there is really nothing to see in San Jose. For a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed only one night at Colours Oasis on our way home from a visit to Costa Rica. It is about a 20 minute drive from the airport, and they arranged transportation that cost $30 for the two of us. Colours is a gay centric hotel but they were very welcoming of this older hetero couple and made us feel quite at home.
The room we stayed in was on the first floor and had a small sitting room in front of the bedroom area, which made for a very quiet night. The furnishings were somewhat worn, and the mattress listed a bit toward the middle, but we otherwise found the room very welcoming and comfortable. A second bed rested on a loft above the main bed, but we did not use this so I cannot comment on it.
Each room at Colours seems to have its own little sitting area in front, which is nice. We did not use this area, however, much preferring the seating around the pool. In fact, the thing we most liked about Colours was the serenity of the common space. A small pool (we did not swim) was surrounded by greenery and comfy seating-- an ideal place to sit and have a drink and use the free wi-fi. There was also a bar and a small restaurant off the pool area which were welcoming and comfortable and full of plants.
I cannot speak to how the location of this hotel would suit someone who wanted to spend time in San Jose, but as a place to stay at the beginning or end of a trip I think it is just about perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
2.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
3.6 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#29 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose
Colours Oasis Resort Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colours Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.