We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and a lovely property in the close suburbs of San Jose, between the airport and the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colours Oasis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Colours Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Colours Oasis Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and a lovely property in the close suburbs of San Jose, between the airport and the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My ex and I stayed at Colours for two nights atthe beginning of a two week tour of Costa Rica. The hotel has a variety of rooms. We chose the simplest of the rooms based on price and were not disappointed. The room was spotless and the staff extremely polite and helpful. They even agreed to store some pieces of our luggage while we toured the country. While this is a gay hotel, I would definitely encourage gay friendly straights to stay. It is great. While not completely modern, every amenity is available. Free hot breakfast. Bar. Pool. Computer. Wifi. Lunch and dinner are available.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    51
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
2
69
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My experience with gay hotels is they tend to charge more for less. And that was certainly the case at Colours! I enjoyed being in San Jose, but I was disappointed with Colours. I told myself to relax and just enjoy it...but I kept thinking I was being overcharged for spotty service and somewhat shabby accommodations. I will say that I met some nice folks while I was staying there and really enjoyed getting to know them and socializing with them in the evenings. Oh, and breakfast was great!

Room Tip: Be sure to get the room you pre-booked or ask for an upgrade when you arrive. The rooms vary greatly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Colours Oasis Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding our great mix of guests, social atmosphere and complimentary full breakfasts. Colours as a boutique guesthouse style property has many unique room styles with seven varied rate levels to suit every budget from economy to full master apartments. We are not a corporate hotel with " cookie cutter " styled rooms. We encourage guests to explore these options fully to choose the best suited room and rate. In fact, most guests communicate with us directly either by email or phone to discuss more fully the options when choosing a room for a first time visit.

Since San Jose's climate is springlike temperatures most of the year and with our mountain elevation, rather cool most evenings, we make up our beds with blankets. A/C is usually not needed; however, we do have a few specific rooms with A/C when desired.

We take pride in our 29 years of operations, attentive service and facilities striving to maintain quality and value. We want to do our best to keep all the property and gardens fresh and updated as to decor, furnishings and the individual units. In all our rooms we place a note and envelope which asks for any suggestions to be left with our reception or in our suggestion box to improve any deficiency identified.

Please do contact us to let us know what you personally found lacking or needing our attention. Only with direct guest input can we address a possible problem.

The entire staff at Colours strive to do their very best and look forward to hosting you again when visiting Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My partner and i had just got engaged and spent our last night in San Jose. This hotel was perfect. the rooms are very clean and trendy. the pool and jacuzzi were great. they have a pool table and sun deck. Martin the bartender stayed open just for us. it made our last night really great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Colours is an establishment like no other, a small boutique property that is more guesthouse than hotel, akin to a family home with an everchanging stream of friends stopping by for a visit.
A diverse mix of guests --- men, women, gay, straight, couples, singles, groups of friends, introduced into a relaxed atmosphere, allow an experience here much like that offered by a train trip. A portion of, or moment in a journey almost unto itself, unhurried, where new acquaintances are often met over a meal or a drink.
The staff offer friendly and accessible yet unobtrusive service. Many of the employees have been with the owner James for a decade or more.
The available accommodations, from a modest single room, to an expansive apartment suite offer an option for any budget.
Every time we come back, Colours becomes a little more a true home away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The manager was really helpful - even before we arrived, due to a problem with American Airlines not allowing us to fly (as we didn't have a return flight from Costa Rica), he advised on various optons. Hotel is very friendly, nice rooms and pool. But stayed too long in San Jose - there's not much to see.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Everything was great at this Gay Hotel and I would recommend it to everybody. Cant tell you enough what a great little spot of paradise this place was in "gritty San Jose".

Now for the not so good... I wouldnt recommend staying in San Jose for more than a couple of days. Just not a lot to see and frankly, I didnt feel safe. 99.9% of the businesses have guards out in front, and it was recommended that we dont walk out at night. (not a lot to do in the area) What you do find when you walk out is a lot of buildings with gates, and bobbed wire to keep others out... Be aware and street wise in San Jose, better yet skip it...

Room Tip: i thought all the rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

I have heard about Colours for many years but had never stayed until the other day when my business partner and I found ourselves in San Jose for the night with no hotel reservations made any where.

The staff and hotel owner, James were so warm and welcoming, and accommodating. Everything was fantastic, clean, and yet, simple. They have a full service bar and restaurant, so if you feel like chilling for the day, you can do so.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose
Colours Oasis Resort Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colours Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.