We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Perfect home base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colours Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Colours Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Colours Oasis Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“the Perfect home base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I visit Costa Rica twice a year, this trip for 18 days. Stayed 16 nights at Colours, with a break in the middle to travel to the southern part of the country.
There is no other gay establishment in the central valley/San Jose area that comes close to equaling what Colours offers. An on site full service restaurant and bar, gym facilities, pool, hot tub, travel services, all can be had on site---or many restaurants, stores, supermarkets and the weekly feria all within a few blocks. And the downtown nightlife-bars, discos, etc are a short $8 cab ride away---the other place is a $20 trip each way--ugh!
James, Liz, Armando, Javier, Waldo, David, Leo and Johan are all like one big family, always there to help whenever needed.
Great location, nice clean affordable to lux rooms, great food, many choices for breakfast, travel service, PLUS a never ending stream of guests coming and going---I met so many new friends from the world over and revisited friends we'd met on our last stay.
As I said before, There is NO OTHER place in the San Jose area for the gay traveler to consider---Colours Oasis Resort in the first and only choice. Five Stars!!!
Thanks everyone, we will see you in the spring.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    51
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
2
69
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had an exceptional experience at Colours Oasis Resort. It was our first trip to Costa Rica, and we found Colours Oasis on the internet. Their ad looked inviting, and we made our reservations, based on what we saw on their advertisement. We where not disappointed. We rented the studio apartment, and were delighted with the look, and comfort of the space. The apartment was kept clean each and every day, and it was always a pleasure to walk back into our "quarters," after a day of exploring.

The members of the staff were always very cordial, friendly, and extremely helpful; always happy to accomodate our requests. As a matter of fact, now that we are back home, we will miss seeing them every day.

The food provided by the Oasis is of very good quality, and well prepared, even though the menu is limited. We had most of our evening meals at the Resort, and were always happy with the quality , and tastiness, of the food. Breakfast, provided as part of the room charge, was always good. We looked forward, every morning, to starting our day with fresh fruit, juice, coffee, eggs, and toast.

At the end of every day, we could always mingle around the pool, with the other guests, and exchange stories of our day's adventures.

The resort is located in a good neighborhood, and away from the hustle, and bustle of the city, which makes sleeping at night a pleasure.

We will definitely stay there again. on our next trip to San Jose, Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachussetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

My partner and me are staying here and returning to USA tomorrow morning. Colours was a diamond in the rough. A little rustic yet I had all the amenities we expected in a 3 star hotel. Our room "118 was spacious and extremely clean. I love the feeling this place have of a home more than a BB. I cannot say enough about Armando, Liz and the rest of the gang, They were amazing hostess and always there to help with any problems or questions. I cannot wait to return to this place. We are 100% satisfied...I am an published Author and I expect the best when I travel...Colours delivered it.

Alberto ^ David

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We've visited Costa Rica many times and stayed in many places.
Colours Oasis is without a doubt the best place to stay in the San Jose area if you are gay. Convenient location in a safe neighborhood (President Arais live a few blocks away), with many restaurants, markets, pharmacies, major shopping, the weekly markets and US Embassy all within a couple of blocks. Downtown with museums and nightlife a short cab or bus ride away.
We've stayed at another gay hotel in the San Jose area that is both remote and lonely, Colours is by far a better choice. Location, an on premises full service restaurant bar, combined with an ever changing group of soon to be acquaintances coming and going, made our visit here both fun, ultra-convenient and interesting. The owner James, has operated Colours for 3 decades and has the innkeeping business refined to perfection.
The staff including Liz, Dávid, and Johan, along with a host of others are friendly, helpful and attentive. Day trips or longer excursions are as easy as asking, arrangements can be made with efficiency. We arrived without plans and ended an activity filled two weeks having enjoyed our best visit to Costa Rica to date!
The rooms are squeaky clean and well appointed with a range of prices to fit almost every budget. The pool, jacuzzi, patio gardens and sundeck offer a serene respite from the city just beyond the lobby. An on site gym allows for those in need of some iron pumping, with an on call masuer to work the kinks out afterward.
Our stay here was a real treat, new friends from the world over were met, we will be back.
There is NO Other Choice for us, after your stay here we're sure you'll feel the same.
Thanks James! Tell Liz and the guys we'll be back soon------

Room Tip: with over two dozen choices just ask, they have i!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Spent the last three night of my Costa Rican vacation at Colours and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. The comfortable bed, crisp linens, and well appointed room was most welcomed after hiking Manuel Antonio and Arenal the weeks before.

If there on a Saturday morning, less that four blocks away there is a farmer's market where you can pick up the best fresh produce!

Being a solo traveler, it was a great place to soak up some sun, relax, make new friends, and enjoy the attentive and friendly staff. A special "Thanks!" to all of the staff!

I will return! Soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I have been going to Costa Rica for the past 13 years and have always made colours my home for at least part of my stay. I am always impressed with the friendly staff and great location (close enough to the city yet in a quiet suburb).The restaurant serves wonderful food (thanks Leo and Yohan) The front desk staff will help you to plan your getaways (thanks Liz, Armando and David) The rooms are cleaned daily and perfectly done (thanks Waldo and Javier) ..and the best Massage I have ever had (Thanks Mario)...I will be back soon and look forward to it..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, mi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

March of 2011 was my 14th visit to Costa Rica and Hotel Colours. And, I can hardly wait to return. For me, it is a wonderful fit; a boutique hotel (approximately 20 rooms) that is one of a kind. It's ambiance is exotic, warm, relaxed and one that, frankly, makes me feel at home and the staff feels like family. They are special. Their ability and willingness to assist in even the tiniest of matters is exceptional.
Hotel Colours is located on the Western edge of San Jose in a neighborhood that feels somewhat suburban. To me it is preferable to the greater grit of San Jose central, a $7-8 cab ride from the hotel. There are a number of embassies nearby including that of the US and Japan. As a result, this is an area that is safely walkable with a great variety of very good restaurants...Peruvian, Brazilian, Japanese, Italian. Plus, the typical Tico neighborhood bar/restaurant. Shortly after my departure, the nearby new Stadium Nacional had its grand opening. The largest soccer stadium in Central America, it will hold 35,000 for soccer and 50,000 for concerts. What an architecturally exciting facility this is. So, for me, Hotel Colours, with its ambience, with its friendly and dutiful staff, with its excellent location, is home to Costa Rica, my ideal of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose
Colours Oasis Resort Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colours Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.