We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Amistad

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Amistad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Amistad
Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Food in the inclusive package was the best in town. Nice quiet and out of the way location. The rooms were not 5 star but clean and comfortable and ac is not always needed. Staff was awesome. Will stay again! Had a great time and a great time, great people and a beautiful country.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    43
    21
    15
    4
See reviews for
6
58
71
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of staying at the La Amistad many times. The service there never disappoints. They go out of their way to help you with any request that you may have. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vtown
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at the La Amistad 4 times from 2012-2013. I must admit when my friend suggested it on my first trip I was sceptical. Rudy and Carlos or more than friendly and they bust their butts to make everything go smooth. The last time I was able to sleep more than 8 hours was the previous time staying here. Even when I'm at home I can't sleep more than 6! Try to get a room on the 3rd floor if possible. I always try for room 302, 303 or 304. Great value! This is the only place I will stay downtown San Jose if possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catawba
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

There are two suites in the hotel which, according to the website, have kitchenettes. Instead, ours had a sitting area. When I asked about the lack of kitchenette and showed the manager the website, he said that was old. As no one used the kitchenettes they were taken out. There was a gap in the wall tile where the toilet paper holder should have been, and other than the jacuzzi the fixtures and tile seemed old. We did like the form fitting mattress, the only good part of the room. The entire hotel, especially our room being on the interior, seemed dark and depressing. The train to San Jose goes through right next to the hotel and was very noisy. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special so we didn't try the extensive menu for any of the meals. As no one came to ask us what we wanted we had to ask another table of guests how we were to order. That meant going to the alcove and filling out a form. The first morning we decided not to have the room cleaned, and when I told the maid she was very pleased. Although there is a safe in the room there were no directions. We won't bother staying there again. If we asked management questions they were helpful but procedures should have been automatic upon check-in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I didn't book a room at the hotel, but I did eat several times at the restaurant. The food is simply outstanding. Chef Jose and his sidekick Juan are way more talented and qualified than you would normally find for a small informal dining area like that at La Amistad. The owner Don is friendly, smart, and quite innovative, and he should expand the restaurant to take advantage of the fine staff he has managed to get on board.

Favorite dish: fish with porcini mushrooms, vegetables and mashed potatoes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First time to Costa Rica and the La Amistad is the place to stay. Staff was friendly, courteous. Matt the owner is down to earth and a great hang out partner, Don will tell you drop your bags and show you around town.. Rudy at the front desk just makes everything happen from taxis, rooms etc. - he gets it done.. I will definitely stay here again very convenient and away from the city crowd but 5 mins away from the action.. You can stay here for the entire trip or spend 2 days and see the rest of the county and come back prior to flying out of San Jose 20 mins from airport without traffic, $30 dollar cab ride, 1 block from the Hospital. The All Inclusive is not a Buffet it's real Meals steaks, Pork Chop, Surf and Turf etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my second trip to Costa Rica. I decided to book 2 nights at Hotel La Amistad because of the numerous recommendations from friends, and I must say this hotel didn't disappoint. The hotel was quaint and contained a very relaxed atmosphere. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The queen room I booked was somewhat small, but included everything that one could possibly need. If possible, book your with the all inclusive special as it is well worth the price. The food at the Amistad was phenomenal and speaking with the other patrons of the hotel I can see why it has many repeat clientele. Bottom line is the hotel is well worth the price and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Queen rooms are a bit snug, if possible book a king size or bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Address: Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Miami meets Costa Rican Culture. Located in Barrio Otoya and Amon, upon entering the Hotel you see the beautiful Art Deco Tile and Marble, surrounded by rich, dark native wood beams and floors. 34 rooms include 6 Penthouse Suites with King beds, 24 jet Jacuzzi tubs and personal dry sauna as well as, another 26 Luxury Rooms with either King or Queen size beds. All rooms have 80 channels of Cable TV with HBO and Cinemax, flat screen TVs, hardwire and wireless internet access, refrigerator, digital safe and luxurious mattresses. You will find these quiet Barrio's are away from the noise and traffic of downtown but still only a short 5 minute walk to all of San Jose's main attractions - The National Theatre, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Casino's, Nightlife and Exotic Parks. As always free wireless, long distance calls to USA and Canada and laundry. Breakfast included in price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Amistad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad San Jose
Hotel La Amistad Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Amistad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.