We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Amistad is a great value!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Amistad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Amistad
Save
You added Hotel La Amistad to your Saves list
Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel La Amistad is a great value!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my second trip to Costa Rica. I decided to book 2 nights at Hotel La Amistad because of the numerous recommendations from friends, and I must say this hotel didn't disappoint. The hotel was quaint and contained a very relaxed atmosphere. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The queen room I booked was somewhat small, but included everything that one could possibly need. If possible, book your with the all inclusive special as it is well worth the price. The food at the Amistad was phenomenal and speaking with the other patrons of the hotel I can see why it has many repeat clientele. Bottom line is the hotel is well worth the price and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Queen rooms are a bit snug, if possible book a king size or bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    44
    22
    15
    4
See reviews for
6
59
74
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

First time to Costa Rica and have to say La Amistad is the place to stay. Staff was friendly, courteous and hospitable. Matt the owner was great to talk to. Down to earth and didn't mind shooting the breeze with us. Rooms were very great and beds were wonderfully cozy. Food was off the charts. Great cooking. The idea of inclusive for food and alcohol was tops for the price paid. Almost everywhere was within walking distance, so saved on taxi fare. Hotel was quiet for the most part. Only minor beef was the train passing by every so often. It was very minor though compared to everything else. Can't wait to go back next time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I know of no other place to stay when Im in San Jose.. The staff make me feel like family or an honored quest each time I've visited. My room is always cleaned to my satisfaction Im well fed at a decent price and they will do my laundry free. So Im home when in San Jose thanks to my extended family at La Amistad Hotel from Matt the owner to management to the staff...I love you all & I will see you soon
Respectfully
Rasool (Mike)
ps/ Matt youre incedible

Room Tip: get a suite if possible youll get a sauna and a hot tub with jets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel off trip advisor comments.....wish we had not!! Upon arrival we found the bed sheet covered in paint, wafer thin and full of holes like it had been used for a drop cloth whilst painting! Upon reporting this to the front desk, the housekeeper came down to the front desk and loudly complained saying the sheets were fine(mind you she only brought down the clean top sheet...calling me a liar! So, I had taken photos and immediately got my camera and showed the front desk...they apologised! The house keeping from that day on was terrible...just make the bed and mop the floor and change the towels( sometimes).....we bought our own disinfectant for the bathroom and toilet! The room had dust in the corners and under the bed, the furnature was hammered and the bed did not have a proper matteress but a thick piece of foam! The noise is terrible.....even though we asked for a room at the rear. But not from the outside but from the guests walking down the corridors talking loud until the early hours of the next day, accompanied by the clicking of high heel ladies shoes! Then again around 6 am or sooner the noise level increased to that of the previous evening! Maybe if you got three to four hours sleep a night you were lucky! This hotel in our opinion is not suitable for couples or families! There are lots of better options out there! The only PLUS that this hotel has going for it is the front desk and kitchen staff, namely Rudy, Carlos, Juan Carlos "the chef" and Luis....as people have previously stated....genuine,friendly and decent people who tried to make our stay enjoyable! To them we say THANKYOU!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

this hotel is a small cozy and very friendly place to lay your head. the staff is very efficient and Carlos and Rudy go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. the amenities alone make it worth the stay. I will always stay here on my visits to San Jose, Costa Rica

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Not only is Hotel La Amistad a nice place to stay it has a wonderful restaurant and bar. The chef Jose prepares some wonderful meals and the bartender Jenny will fix you some awesome drinks. Breakfast at La Amistad is amazing too, with fresh fruit, eggs to order, rice and beans, meats and pancakes or french toast along with fresh coffee and juice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel came recommended to us from our son, who wanted to stay here but it was full at that time. So he just took a short tour, and was impressed by the size of rooms, cleanliness and ameneties etc. to make a long story short, we booked a month in advance and booked the penthouse suite. Upon arrival, everything was ready, got picked up at the airport, within minutes, got settled in our room. Found the room to be comfortable, really good bed, excellent hot jacuzzi tub, shower, and air conditioning, all working well. Walking distance to the main park, currency exchange, bank, and the tour guide was very helpful in arranging tours. Not cheap, but good quality tours, and good english speaking drivers. The owner of bar and kitchen, was very helpful in making us feel welcome, and a generally great guy to ask any questions of. Excellent food quality and drinks were well made! I rate it 9/10. Excellent ! Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Address: Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Miami meets Costa Rican Culture. Located in Barrio Otoya and Amon, upon entering the Hotel you see the beautiful Art Deco Tile and Marble, surrounded by rich, dark native wood beams and floors. 34 rooms include 6 Penthouse Suites with King beds, 24 jet Jacuzzi tubs and personal dry sauna as well as, another 26 Luxury Rooms with either King or Queen size beds. All rooms have 80 channels of Cable TV with HBO and Cinemax, flat screen TVs, hardwire and wireless internet access, refrigerator, digital safe and luxurious mattresses. You will find these quiet Barrio's are away from the noise and traffic of downtown but still only a short 5 minute walk to all of San Jose's main attractions - The National Theatre, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Casino's, Nightlife and Exotic Parks. As always free wireless, long distance calls to USA and Canada and laundry. Breakfast included in price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad San Jose
Hotel La Amistad Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Amistad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.