We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like the Prez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Amistad

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Amistad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Amistad
Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Treated like the Prez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed in the suite for a week. The service was outstanding from the maids to the manager. I been to San Jose many times usually staying at Best Western or Del Rey. I was treated poorly at Best Western and Del Rey is too busy with the casino and constant bar crowd 24/7. At La Amistad I was able to relax, no charge for guest, good breakfast and its location is just out of the way enough that you wont be bombarded by panhandlers and druggies as soon as you step out the door like the other two hotels I mentioned. Ive found my choice of Hotel in San Jose..I wont be staying anywhere else

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    43
    21
    15
    4
See reviews for
6
59
71
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Hotel La Amistad offers various room sizes and options, all at reasonable prices. Where this hotel excels above and beyond the others is the fact that management is very helpful both prior and during your stay. I emailed at least five other hotels in this price category and higher, and didn't get a response from most of them. Rudy at the front desk was wonderful in all aspects by answering numerous questions I had relating to the room, the area, amenities and methods of payment. La Amistad offers free internet (w/three computers) and free international long distance from your room to the US and Canada, along with free local calls. Yes, you read correctly, free international phone cals from your room! If you stay elsewhere, get ready to spend $2 or more per minute to check in with your family or business associates back home. In essence, a person can successfully argue that the room cost is free, assuming you dial the States or Canada a few times per day, as I did. La Amistad also offers free breakfast for most items and a small, reasonable charge for more costly breakfast options. Additionally, the maid service cleaned my rood spotless and there was never a time when I needed to complain about cleanliness, and I am picky. Although I did not attend, the Sportsmen's Lodge is right down the street in easy walking distance for men looking for companionship. Another strong aspect of the Hotel Amistad, though, is the fact that a person can walk down the street approximately one block and you have Cafe Mundo which is a marvelous cafe, clean and with good, decent food at fair prices. When I was there, Cafe Mundo opens at 11:00 am and I think closed at 10:00 or 11:00 p.m.
Their menu is in both English and Spanish, and their waitresses offered very good service with above average attitude, which is often times not found in Costa Rica. For those of you that would enjoy getting out of San Jose on tours, Rudy at the front desk will be more than happy to assist you with any tour of your choice. I booked the Calypso Tour through Rudy and this tour company was exceptional in all regards.
Hotel Amistad is not a Hyatt Regency, but you are not paying $250 per night, either. This hotel offers the highest quality in value vs. cost that I have ever experienced, and I have travelled extensively.
I have stayed in hotels costing up to $400 per night, yet I have yet to sleep in a Temperpudic (spellling??) mattress at any of them. Yes, the Amistad has this, too. A good night's sleep is important. For those of you that may have read about a train that is close to the hotel, you read correctly. This train is not an issue if you bring inexpensive foam ear plugs....I never heard the train except for the night I forgot to wear them. I did not eat in Amistad's restaurant except for breakfast, so I can not rate their food except that other people said it was quite good. They do not have a spa.
If any of you have any questions, feel free to contact me at 1michaelmeyer@gmail.com and I will be happy to assist or answer any of your questions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

They accidentally overbooked the queen rooms and I was put in one of the Penthouse rooms for the same price. All of the staff speaks English and was extremely friendly and helpful.

I was convinced by a friend to try this place out instead of the Europa which is where I normally stay. He said "it's worth the extra money believe me" and he was right.

The laundry service is free and so is the made to order breakfast (please tip).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights of my 7 day stay in Costa Rica. The staff was very helpful in giving me ideas to tour the city as well as setting up my rental car and taxi cab rides. I ate breakfast and dinners here. All food was fresh and amazing! Highly recommend for a stay in the city!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Very basic rooms with cheap and limited bedding, furnishings and supplies. Bathrooms are dirty. Continuous noisy stream of residents bringing hookers to the hotel. Next to a busy train line with noisy trains and horns 24x7.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I stayed at the Amistad a few days ago. The place is very laid back with a nice bar and excellent food. The room consisted of a large bathroom and moderate living quarters. Shower had plenty of pressure, not like at the Holiday Inn. Room consisted of a queen bed, a table and chair. Had a safe, refrigerator, and closet. There was a large TV with plenty of English channels to peruse. The highlights of the hotel are not the rooms, but the exceptional staff and fine dining that this hotel has to offer. The bartender had me pick out four movies from the local video vendor to play at the Bar. I would highly recommend staying here. This hotel was a good value compared to the others that I stayed in this area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I stayed here for the loction and was very surprised to find a 4 star restaurant in the lobby.
Ienjoyed the food so much, i arranged my schedule so we would be at the hotel for meal times.
Rudy works at the front desk, he's the greatest for all things needed.
except for the early morning train passing by, the rooms where were above avarage.
my room had a jacuzzi tub, large shower and plenty of room.
I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Address: Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Miami meets Costa Rican Culture. Located in Barrio Otoya and Amon, upon entering the Hotel you see the beautiful Art Deco Tile and Marble, surrounded by rich, dark native wood beams and floors. 34 rooms include 6 Penthouse Suites with King beds, 24 jet Jacuzzi tubs and personal dry sauna as well as, another 26 Luxury Rooms with either King or Queen size beds. All rooms have 80 channels of Cable TV with HBO and Cinemax, flat screen TVs, hardwire and wireless internet access, refrigerator, digital safe and luxurious mattresses. You will find these quiet Barrio's are away from the noise and traffic of downtown but still only a short 5 minute walk to all of San Jose's main attractions - The National Theatre, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Casino's, Nightlife and Exotic Parks. As always free wireless, long distance calls to USA and Canada and laundry. Breakfast included in price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Amistad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad San Jose
Hotel La Amistad Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Amistad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.