We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kekoldi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kekoldi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kekoldi Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 9, between Calle 5 and 7, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice hotel in San Jose and quite good located. Very central and easy to reach. Not the newist hotel in town but quite good. The rooms are nice and not to small. Everything worked and the beds were ok. The staff are nice and serviceminded. A part of the staff spoke English. The breakfast was nice and tasted good. The hotel offer good value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
29
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel in a great location. Close to the zoo and beautiful parks. Rooms are well presented and clean. Nearby shopping and restaurants. Tiny garden in the heart of the city. Service could be inproved but satisfactory.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

If you want to stay in a small hotel definitely you won't pass this one. It is an amazing hotel full of great staffs and it is locate in the city of town. It is close to everything, shopping centre, night clubs, bars everything. And if you can't speak Spanish you should definitely stay here because all the staffs can speak English pretty good and they are willing to help.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were delighted with the greeting provided by the hotel management and staff when we stayed during early July 2013. The breakfast is very tasty and fresh and is a combination of self serve with a choice of hot food too. We found the rooms to be spacious and very clean, with nice crisp bed linen which I really like. Our bedroom overlooked the private rear garden, which is full of tropical flowers we never see in the UK ! The new owner Francisco was helpful with information about Central America and CR specifically. The rooms are probably ready for a quick makeover, but confident this will happen. Most helpful was David who is the Assistant Manager and found time to explain and book some great local restaurants and entertainment. Finally, almost everything is walking distance from the Hotel, including down town markets or upscale restaurants.

Room Tip: An upstairs en suite bed room overlooking the garden is our recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Kelkoldi Hotel for two nights the beginning of April 2013. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The breakfasts were good. Fruits, Toast, Cereals, Eggs, Coffee, Juice, etc. You can sit inside or in their fabulous interior courtyard under the trees. The room we stayed in was massive. The shower had hot water. We ha da great view of the street below and the school and mural across the street. They have a wonderful front courtyard/balcony that is a staircase up above the street where you can chill and have wine and watch all the action down below. Very private. I would have liked to have stayed longer. Maybe in the future. Thanks for everything David & Guillermo. Cheers, Dave & Angel. Los Angeles City.

Room Tip: The room we had was the front room upstaris overlooking the main street. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This small owner managed hotel is in a superb location for visiting the centre of San Jose.This is a city which on my first visit I was not impressed but on revisiting it again when you get under its skin it is a fascinating place with some historic buildings and excellent restaurants. Hotel Kekoldi is a small but very well managed hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated and are spotless .There is a peaceful garden at the rear and the best rooms overlook it.The breakfast is limited in choice but is more than adequate.Overall an excellent choice for a stopover in San Jose in a small friendly and well managed hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Kekoldi is a small owner managed hotel well located in the city. The staff went out of their way to see that we had everything we needed. The rooms are pleasantly decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. Add to this a good breakfast with plenty of choice and the luxury of the peaceful garden and you have an excellent choice for a stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kekoldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kekoldi Hotel

Also Known As:
Kekoldi Hotel San Jose
Kekoldi Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose
Address: Avenida 9, between Calle 5 and 7, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kekoldi Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel with secluded garden in downtown San Jose, walking distance to all points of tourist interest, bars, restaurants, clubs, movie theaters, bus stations, museums, etc. 10 elegant, well appointed guest rooms. Free Internet terminal and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Otel so you can book your Kekoldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kekoldi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.