We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great San Jose Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kekoldi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kekoldi Hotel to your Saves list
Kekoldi Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 9, between Calle 5 and 7, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great San Jose Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I wouldn't stay long in central San Jose but this is a great place to stop over!

I stayed at the Kekoldi a couple of years ago. I'd arrived in San Jose late evening and was stopping over in the city before carrying on to the coast the next day. This is a small hotel, clean and well managed. The breakfast area really is as nice as it looks in the photo! It's close to Avenida Central which is a great place to go for a stroll and take in a little pura vida.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
34
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This small hotel has wonderful ambiance. The staff is fun and helpful. Rooms are bright with lots of light. Breakfast is fresh fruit, fresh breads, eggs to order, etc. all included in the small price charged.
Wonderful garden in back where bird watching is great.
Will return when in San Jose'.

Room Tip: Room 7-Briori looks out over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The only good things about this place was the breakfast and the car garage for my rental car. It is not located in the best of neighborhoods and everyone is warned not to walk around at night. It sits at the base of an old rich neighborhood of big mansions that are now government buildings. The night desk boy is full of himself but the day shift desk boy was pleasant. The bed was hard and the room hot with just ceiling fans to cool down. The room had bars on the windows even though it was on the second floor. Key to my point and theirs about the safety of the neighborhood. There was an annoying light outside the door that attracked every flying bug in town which really just pissed me off nightly. The show window kept letting moths into the room because one of window slots was broken. Had to keep the bathroom door closed all the time and dodge flying bugs everytime I wanted to take a dump or shower.

Room Tip: They only have one garage for a car, so be the first and don't count on it being reserved for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

A 5 minute walk from downtown, this boutique hotel is very clean and comfortable. I have stayed a couple of times, the staff is very friendly and it serves a good breakfast. The only downside is that it doesn't have parking, but you have some public parking a few blocks away. Not really safe to go out at night walking though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy S, Manager at Kekoldi Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I really liked Kekoldi. It was charming. Completely safe. The staff were all wonderful. The garden area in the back was lovely, the breakfast was nice and they made us eggs to order every morning if we desired. Our room had hardwood floors and bright colors, everything was perfectly clean. Short walk to the center of San Jose. It had charm and good mojo. I would like to go back. We stayed 2 nights, then came back and stayed another night on our way out of San Jose.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy S, Manager at Kekoldi Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We appreciate your time to post this experience about our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Everything about this place is truly stunning. The views are spectacular, staff is exceptional, and the rooms were absolutely beautiful.
They all went out of their way to make sure that our trip was fabulous, and it truly was.
I cannot think of a single complaint and all I can say is they did a wonderful job of making our stay beautiful. This place is highly recommended and I wouldn't think of going anywhere else if I was within 100 miles of San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy S, Manager at Kekoldi Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We make every effort to attend to our guests, and we appreciate your comment on our efforts. We try to make this not only a hotel, It is a place to feel at home.

Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed 5 nights unintentionally because I hurt my back and had to abandon my tour until I got a return flight home. But I enjoyed it. Charming building and vast bedrooms, spotlessly clean. All the staff are great. No restaurant but they will do breakfast - scrambled eggs/omelettes + usual cereals/juices/coffee. Booze wise they sell beer or wine by the glass. Free coffee and cakes all afternoon. Great garden with loads of birds which the staff feed. Liked it a lot.

Room Tip: I had room no. 2. It's great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kekoldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kekoldi Hotel

Address: Avenida 9, between Calle 5 and 7, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kekoldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel with secluded garden in downtown San Jose, walking distance to all points of tourist interest, bars, restaurants, clubs, movie theaters, bus stations, museums, etc. 10 elegant, well appointed guest rooms. Free Internet terminal and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Kekoldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kekoldi Hotel San Jose
Kekoldi Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kekoldi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.