We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay during Pocho 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rincon de San Jose

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rincon de San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rincon de San Jose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Avenida 9 and Calle 15 | Barrio Otoya, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Perfect stay during Pocho 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

During our stay in San Jose we were in this hotel. It is good situated, friendly people and enough facilities. The staf speaks perfectly Dutch and English and are well informed about the possibilities in San Jose and Costa Rica.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    26
    6
    9
See reviews for
16
31
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed several times in this place and the quality of the rooms differed a lot; from acceptable to absolutely poor. In general it is a rather old hotel with some worn down furniture. One of our rooms was very small, had only one light bulb and the bed was placed in a corner where one could not stand beside the bed. The hotel is part of a chain of ‘charming and nature hotels’. Do not expect an air conditioner, a bar or any room service. It is plain bed and acceptable breakfast. If you prefer a more standard hotel: Holiday Inn is only 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: Rooms 22 and 25 are acceptable. (25 is up stairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRSJ, Manager at Hotel Rincon de San Jose, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Bastian,
Thank you for your comments.
As you staded in your review we are indeed an old hotel, actually we are situated in historical buildings with a colonial style. The 4 old mansions are connected in the 90’s to form a hotel. By breaking through the patios at the backside of the different houses we succeed to transform them into hallways with palm trees growing inside, and to obtain a beautiful courtyard garden.

As you noticed all our rooms are a little different we have smaller standard rooms and bigger family rooms. We have more colonial rooms with wooden floors antique colonial furniture and rooms more contemporary with ceramics on the floor but they do have the same standard, are clean and clear with modern bathrooms, telephone and cable, television, and a fan.
Because of the infrastructure and the connection we made we gained a big tropical garden, at the other hand it can seem sometimes to be a labyrinth which I might say retains its own charm.

We choose not to install a AC system in our hotel because most guests find it hardly necessary in San Jose, where we have an average day temperature of 23-25 Celsius and a average night temperature of 19 degrees Celsius. We made the choice not to install AC also because of our strong believe we need to manage our hotel on a sustainable and green way. Even though we are a city hotel we are certificated as sustainable hotel by the national tourist board of sustainable tourism of Costa Rica (CST)

We are a tree star boutique hotel or family hotel. The Holiday Inn, which you mentioned to be more standard, is actually a 5 star chain hotel! Obvious a small personalized hotel like ours is not comparable at all with a 5 star chain hotel.

In your review you revered to chain of hotels wich we are part of this chain is actually an alliance of colleagues with charming small personalized lodges throughout Costa Rica which we do recommend. Recommendations are isued from our reservation desk who offers to help our guests to plan their trip to Costa Rica by explaining them de do's and dont's of Costa Rica and offering a reservation service for tours, rent a cars, transfers and even hotels.

We are a personalized hotel where the manager and owner is present almost every day.
We strive to do our utmost to improve the hotel, services, and room decorations on a daily base.
We are most sensible to the comments of our guest and try to use them in a constructive way so we can improve. Thank you for your commend we hope you enjoyed Costa Rica.

Warm regards
Jos de Haan
Manager / owner
Hotel Rincon de San Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A very good hotel

My husband and I have stayed 3 times at this wonderful hotel.

Service is always delivered with a smile and a great attitude.

Beds are comfortable and everything is very clean, when I complimented our maid on the thorough job she did, she said " I do my work with love." Don't we all wish we had employees like that. A wonderful breakfast is included.

I cannot overall rate it "perfect" just because there are better (but much, much more expensive) hotels over there. This one is cheap, very clean, with basic amenities, conveniently located; center, but not a noisy street, a bit far from all hustle-bustle but surrounded by friendly and quality local café and restaurants. They also added new services that was not available on my previous trips.

Surly we will stay here next time in San Jose.

Helena

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently visited this hotel with our 3 year old twins. After reading the comments on this site, our expectations were not very high. Fortunately the comments proved not justified. The hotel is not a tourist factory but a nice hotel with a unique character with a green courtyard. The rooms were thoroughly decorated, spotless and were fairly priced. The owner gave excellent tips for our vacation (Jazz Club San Jose). The staff was very helpful and kind to our children. We enjoyed the tropical fruit at breakfast. Noise? Not noticed! Hotel Rincon de San Jose offered an excellent start and end for our stay in Costa Rica. We would not doubt to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here with our three children in age of 3, 5 and 7. The staff is very friendly and really took the time to show us where we could go with our family. The big surprise was the garden. We didn't expect that zo close to the centre of town. The rooms were clean and large enough for the price you pay. We definitly recommand this hotel for families with children!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We recently visited Costa Rica with Toucan Travel and the Hotel Rincon was our first and last stop on the tour. The hotel is centrally located and perfectably acceptable for people wanting lower priced reasonable accommodation. The reception staff don't speak much English however they generally understand what you are asking and are very helpful. The rooms are clean and reasonably spacious and some of them contain air conditioning units as it can be quite humid in San Jose. The shower was great on our first stay however on the way back through it was cold showers all round as there was a problem with the system and this wasn't pleasant.

There is a seated where you can sit and have something to eat and you can pay for breakfast in the morning however it isn't really worth the money. You can however help yourself to water and a hot drink free of charge. There is also another seated area that has a computer for internet access or for those with alternative access there is free wifi available.The hotel will also arrange taxi's for you and I would recommend this as they are a set price and you don't have the issues of a language barrier and being overcharged.

Across from the hotel is a lovely Italian restaurant called Cafe Mondo. It is middle of the road prices for Costa Rica and they have a lovely seating area outside. The fajita pizza is pretty good and I wouldn't complain about the Mojito's. We did go to a few of the bars and it is fair to say they are all brothels. We were a mixed group so nobody bothered with us and we didn't at all feel threatened - it is however quite seedy so don't risk it if it would spoil your holiday.

This isn't the kind of place you would look forward to staying in again, however I wouldn't mind staying here if i needed a bed for the night in San Jose.

Room Tip: Room 14 wasn't the best for noise however room 12 wasn't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We needed to be on this side of town in order to begin our tour. Pretty rough area and no food available outside of breakfast hours. It was clean, but a little run down. Served our purposes, but won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rincon de San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rincon de San Jose

Address: Corner of Avenida 9 and Calle 15 | Barrio Otoya, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rincon de San Jose 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a a beautiful three star hotel in the historical center of San Jose Costa Rica. Our characteristic hotel rooms are fully equipped with hot en cold water showers, television and telephone. You will find a warm and inviting accommodation located in three antique colonial mansions in the historical center of San Jose. With its quiet and friendly atmosphere is the perfect place to stay, whether you are traveling for vacations or business. Our restaurant El Jardin is a nice little restaurant in our courtyard garden with its international kitchen strives to serve lunches, dinners, drinks and cocktails for accessible prices. Great presentation, fresh products carefully combined for our dishes! Is the beste way to describe what we mean with a charming dining experience! Our menu offers a choice for every taste at any time, including vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Fish, meat, chicken, pastas, salads, sandwiches, wraps, risottos, fresh Costarican coffee , cake, cocktails, fresh mixed tropical juices, cocktails and small snacks or bocas. For meetings, private diners or exhibitions we also offer an executive lounge! All this just a few minutes walking away from the whole host of attractions like museums, The National Theater, shopping district. The most heard from our guest is that they find it surprising to find such a lovely hotel behind these facades. Our guests tend to relax and enjoy San Jose before taking off to explore the rest of Costa Rica to return for an other stay with us to bring their holiday to a nice closure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rincon de San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rincon De San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rincon de San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.