We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Nacional Costa Rica

Teatro Nacional Costa Rica
Second Ave. and Fifth St., San Jose, Costa Rica
+506 2010-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Teatro Nacional Costa Rica like an insider
Special Offer
$103*
and up
San Jose Super Saver: City Sightseeing plus...
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1897, this elegant theater has been a source of pride.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have just my husband and myself on our tour. Our tour guide, Jeff, was wonderful. He is very knowledgeable about the theater, and gave a fantastic tour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    299
    62
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Guided tour is best bang for your buck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The National Theater in San Jose CR is beautiful. You can pay your reasonable admission and wander on your own, but it is so interesting to learn about it from the guided tour. My daughter and I were very glad we waited for the tour that Jeff conducted. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Hardly a bad seat in the house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I went here to see The Nutcracker last Christmas and we had a great time. Unfortunately there isn't a ton of high culture like this in San Jose so this is a must see. There really isn't a bad seat in the house, and it's worth the money. There are snacks available for purchase at intermission, but nothing to write home about. If you live here it's a must see!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had an opportunity to see a concert hear on a Friday night. They charge to take a tour of the theater so I figured I would just buy a ticket and see a show as well. I'm glad I did.

It is a small, but beautiful theater. Some of the seats have obstructed views because of the columns.

This was one of the highlights of my trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Situated in the heart of downtown, it's a nice building and the interior is beautiful. It's located in the middle of downtown San Jose and has nice sitting areas outside.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Nacional Costa Rica also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Teatro Nacional Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Nacional Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.