We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Theater

National Theater
Second Ave. and Fifth St., San Jose, Costa Rica
506-221-1329
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 39 attractions in San Jose
Type: Theaters, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Since 1897, this elegant theater has been a source of pride.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Picturesque building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Teatro Nacional is the centerpiece of the downtown historical site. Be on the look for all the murals along the tour. They are colorful and well maintained. The theater is in full use by the symphony, the opera, theater, and many other artistic productions. The main hall is impressive with beautiful chairs and an awesome curtain which is also in use by the theater.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    198
    39
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We got to see the National Theater as part of our city tour. Our guide Maria was very knowledgeable about Costa Rica's history and how it was incorporated into the National Museum. We did not get to take in a show, but this place is worth visiting just to see the beauty of the architecture, sculptures, and paintings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A must see, if in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I love historical sites and this over 100 year old theater is worth a visit. It is still a working venue and a variety of activities are held on a regular basis. The construction is phenomenal with a seating that can be moved and a floor that can be opened. The tour guide was full of stories that added to the visit. There are additional rooms with ornate paintings and sculptures that add to the overall experience. There is a small cafe with excellent food on site.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend a few hours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

After seeing the reviews, we knew this was the one place we had to see on our overnight in San Jose. It was marvellous. The tour is inexpensive ($7 pp) and so worth it. It is amazing to be surrounded by so much history and culture and have it so well preserves. Jeffery did a fabulous job talking about all the interesting features and showing pictures. I would definitely do this again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very historic, one of oldest , everything is very well kept, if u r downtown San Jose stopped to see

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Theater also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to National Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Theater to your Saves list