We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“46 Days in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose to your Saves list
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“46 Days in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived in San Jose' at the start of our 46 days in Costa Rica and wanted to experience downtown San Jose'. The Hotel Grano de Oro is a short 20 min taxi ride from the airport and in a great location in downtown San Jose'. One day in San Jose' is enough as you can see most of what it has to offer in the very busy place. The Hotel however is well worth the trip from the airport as an over night stay. The rooms are 1st class as are the beds and quality of the staff. Right from the reception the staff were incredibly happy and helpful! The restaurant is not to be missed as you will not find anything close to its quality anywhere within Costa Rica. Great start to our trip. Anytime we have an overnight stay in San Jose' we will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: All 40 rooms are unique, ours was on the 1st floor and very quiet and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    270
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
181
740
37
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is without question the best hotel in town. Despite only staying one night with an early morning departure, we are very glad we stayed at Hotel Gran de Oro. I am very grateful for the incredibly restful sleep I enjoyed. There are not too many hotels that allow me that luxury.

We also had the pleasure of enjoying dinner at the onsite restaurant. It is no bargain but the food and setting made it worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff made my 3-night visit in September an absolute pleasure. Some rooms may be small but they are well appointed and comfortable. I was lucky to get an upgrade to a larger room with an attached courtyard on my 3rd night - a pity I wasn't there longer to enjoy it more. Transfers arranged through the hotel were efficient and reasonably priced. Food was great. I would definitely return to the hotel should I return to San Jose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is incredible. It is beautiful inside and out. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They were prompt with wake up calls and handled scheduling all of our transfers to and from the hotel. They recommended restaurants and shopping in San Jose, and warned us of areas to avoid. There was someone at the front desk all day and night. When we arrived at the beginning of our honeymoon, we were offered fresh, cool juice at check-in, someone took our bags to our room and showed us where everything was and how to work the safe, TV, etc., and there was fresh fruit waiting in our room. We had dinner in the restaurant that evening and the food was great. The area was nice, but you didn't have to wear black tie or even fancy clothes to eat there. We traveled to Nayara for the week and then came back to Grano de Oro for a night before flying home. When we came back, they automatically upgraded our room to a bigger, more secluded room without us asking, simply because we were return guests! It's very nice, very clean, and just an awesome experience.

Room Tip: Some are more off the beaten path than others, but we didn't have issues with our room on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The group at Grano de Oro was extremely helpful at organizing a transfer from the airport to the hotel for a low price of $35 and made it seamless to get the transfer and find the driver at the airport.

Upon arriving we had a beautiful fruit plate in our room, a great drink from the front desk and the staff at the front desk, especially Wymar (spelling?). We got in late and wanted some quick but fresh (not chain) pizza. The corner (a block and a half away) had fabulous pizza and delivered to the hotel.

The hotel set up our day long tour of the coffee plantation, Poas volcanos, and Peace lodge and waterfalls. A highly recommended tour! It was a fabulous way to see the nature surrounding San Jose before we headed off to our resort.

The staff was courteous and accommodating during the entire stay. Breakfast is worth it at the restaurant, we felt that dinner was a bit over priced and not that great.... :/

A great stay in the city!

Room Tip: Visto d Oro suite is large, clean, the private jacuzzi tub looks out to the city and you have a beau...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is great, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are lovely. The hotel has been rennovated from a Victorian mansion and is very nicely done. The hotel is a little out of the city centre, about 20 minutes walk, but this does mean that it is a very peaceful escape from the hussle and bussle of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We regret that we only stayed one night here and didn't even get to enjoy the rooftop jacuzzis. The room was lovely, and so comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. For our honeymoon they left us a plate of the most delicious fruit we have ever eaten and upgraded our room to the garden suite. The restaurant on site was phenomenal. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.