We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must stay in San Jose!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose to your Saves list
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is a must stay in San Jose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff with a delicious welcome drink. They upgraded our room. It was beautiful and the restaurant was some of the best food we had in Costa Rica! Such a neat boutique feel with excellent service! I wish we would have booked there again for our last night instead of just our first night. I can't say enough about this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    260
    39
    12
    12
See reviews for
176
708
36
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Conveniently situated off the main thoroughfare, we began and ended our holiday at this beautiful hotel. The warm greeting at the end of a long and tiring journey was very welcome as was the refreshing cold drink. The bedroom was comfortable, well appointed and spacious, as was the bathroom with lovely walk in shower. The finishing touch was the little indoor courtyard garden, complete with table and chairs, fountain and tropical plants; cool and totally secluded. What a treat! Breakfast was a delightful experience in the open courtyard. The service was friendly and prompt and the food plentiful and delicious. The evening meal was our most expensive during our holiday, but was excellent. All the staff we met were friendly, courteous and helpful. This hotel gave us the ideal relaxing, gentle stay needed before embarking on our homeward journey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica. It rained the entire time but it was so relaxing. It was a great way to end our trip. The room was quiet, very clean, and spacious. I would also recommend beginning or ending your at this hotel. The restaurant was wonderful.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a king size bed and I can't recall what type of room but it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A very brief but pleasant stay. Hot tubs on roof are fun, welcome fruit cocktail a nice touch. The only hotel I've ever stayed in where a copy of the environmental policy is presented at check-in and guests invited to play their part.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel was just gorgeous! The room was spacious and well-decorated (we booked a standard room and were given a free upgrade to superior). The hot tub was wonderful - very warm, with lovely plants around it to give it a very private feel.

The service was also very good and the location great! It was about a 25-30 minute walk to the city center, all downhill.

The restaurant, while very expensive, was pretty good. I loved the first dinner I had, didn't care for the second. Excellent service, gorgeous courtyard, inconsistent food.

My only complaint was that cigarette smoke came into our room. We had the windows open for air and some people below us (outside the building - no smoking allowed inside) were talking quite loudly and smoking rather late at night. Perhaps there should be a designated smoking area somewhere they can't bother anyone?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a great stay here before heading to Puerto Vieljo on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica. Beautiful rooms comfortable beds, great linens, interesting historical photos on the walls with pictures of Costa Ricans. Restaurant was delicious, very gourmet and interesting items and great breakfast as well. Wonderful service. Pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: stay in a room facing the interior garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was a real treasure. We had wonderful service from the time we arrived until we left. The rooms were large and comfortable with all the necessities and a couple of extras. The room had a good wifi signal. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The food at the restaurant was amazing. I hope to be able to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.