We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Us, this is one of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose to your Saves list
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“For Us, this is one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We returned to the Grano de Oro after 9 years. It has been enlarged and even more beautiful. We reserved the same room as we had before, the Garden Suite. Very large room with a sitting alcove, which then opens onto a private patio with lush plants. A/C is more than adequate, Wifi is as good as home (fast) and service is excellent. Several locals told us that this hotel is the most respected restaurant in San Jose.

For $35 they met us at the airport with a private driver - very easy and smooth. Greeted with juice upon arrival, and we went straight to lunch. The restaurant offers a choice of indoor or patio seating and over the three days we have enjoyed both. We travel a lot, (28 weeks out of the last 40) for business and pleasure, but this hotel is easily in the top five. Understand that we don't like glass and chrome palaces, but prefer classics and if possible family run.

I agree with another reviewer, that San Jose itself does not merit a few days, but, for us, this hotel merits a trip to Costa Rica. Then when you add the things you can see on day trips from here, it is great.

The restaurant is wonderful. Elegant surroundings, excellent service, food is about as good as it gets. Dinner with no alcohol = $100 USD; breakfast $20. For us, better than the best in Aspen (where we travel frequently on business) at 1/3 the price.

We were here three nights, and hate to leave; wondering when we can return. Can't say enough good things.
Try the garden suite ($265)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    230
    38
    12
    12
See reviews for
166
650
34
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our stay was for four nights/five days in one of the deluxe room with a king size bed. Upon arrival it was pouring rain and the bell boy efficiently popped opened two umbrellas for us and helped us with our luggage up the entrance staircase. The front desk greeted us with flutes of champagne each and the check-in was simple. Room was clean and well appointed. There were some fresh fruits awaiting us in our room when we arrived. All the reps at the front desk have been very friendly and accommodating with helping us make phone calls and bookings for all the events/tours we had planned for our visit. (We found out that Sprint Cellular does not even have international roaming option-so my cell was useless for phone calls, and most of the tour's customer service only spoke spanish).

There is a souvenir shop conveniently located onsite. The items are very nice, unique, and of good quality. You have the option of postcards to pottery, mask to jewelry. The shop will help you with postage and getting your postcards out (Wonderful plus!)

There is the restaurant on site too, and it's just wonderful! (I will describe in detail in a different review). We had breakfast, brunch and dinner at this restaurant and would highly recommend it at least once if you're staying here.

As for location, the hotel is on the west side of San Jose and a few blocks off Central Avenue which goes straight into the heart of San Jose or downtown. Since the hotel is not in downtown itself it is quiet for the most part and relatively safe. ** Some returning visitors have warned us when we landed at the airport to avoid being out late in downtown San Jose as pickpockets and thieves are common. Speaking of Hotel Grano de Oro's location- it's close to other nice restaurants and even the Art Museum/ Park (walking distance).

Again, I can not praise the staff here enough for all they did for us to make our stay comfortable!

Room Tip: Splurge on the deluxe room with king size bed! Those seem to be in larger corner units thus offering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Gracious service, beautiful (and recently renovated) rooms, quiet but relatively central location, and high-quality everything: this hotel was our favorite of the five different places we visited in CR. Our room had a gorgeous bathroom and a small private outdoor patio with a little fountain, which was lovely -- I appreciated having a private place to relax and enjoy a morning coffee or an evening drink. Loved the jacuzzis on the rooftop as well -- not private, but as no one else was ever there, we had them to ourselves! Delicious breakfast too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our biggest complaint was that we could hear neighboring doors slam shut- during the day & first thing in the morning @ 5am. We found a nearby hotel that charged us 1/2 the price, it was quiet, and included a breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Grano de Oro at the beginning and end of our trip to Costa Rica. The hotel is a beautiful Victorian-style mansion. Consequently, rooms and beds are on the small side. The property is very clean and the service is wonderful. The staff make you feel welcome and are very helpful. For instance, I left a pocket knife in the room the first night. When we checked back in 3 days later, they had it for me at the front desk - I didn't even have to ask! Everyone speaks English very well, but they were patient and helpful when I tried my rudimentary Spanish (Thanks, Ulises). The location is off the beaten track, but its only a $4 or $5 cab ride to the Museo Nacional and other attractions - and cabs are everywhere in San Jose. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 21 is looks out on the garden and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazingly beautiful hotel with pristine rooms and 5 star service. A gem in an otherwise busy city. Quite old world charm. The staff is wonderful, the food is fantastic and the rooms gorgeous. We stayed in a king garden room completed with a small patio. We were here for only one night as we are traveling around Costa Rica this week. This hotel should only be your choice while visiting San Jose ! Seriously!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and my experience has been nothing but super positive. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The biggest plus in the rooms is the bed. The restaurant and the bar is beyond excellent though they close by 10-11. The hotel is close to the city and is on a safe street. The best quality of the hotel is the service. I had an early morning tour cancellation by a white water rafting company (booked on the net ) and the hotel staff were very very helpful in booking an alternate tour, getting me breakfast , opening the gift shop for me and in general taking care that I was alright. Will definitely stay there on my next visit.

Room Tip: Try getting one of the garden rooms. its paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.