We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in San Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Direct Booking Offer!!
Ranked #1 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights here during our Costa Rican vacation and were very happy with the Hotel Grano de Oro. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast was phenomenal, and the location was convenient. It's in town, but not super close to the main city center (so quiet) and it's about 30 minutes from the airport (traffic depending). There are a few decent restaurants nearby, and the place has a number of amenities (gift shop, hot tub, free coffee at all hours etc.). Definitely recommended if you need a place to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    220
    36
    12
    12
See reviews for
155
618
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A beautiful hotel, restored very well. Reception staff very helpful and the rooms well appointed.
Bed is very comfortable. The first night in the Vista room was just amazing - slept with curtains open. Dinner was very nice, as was breakfast.

Absolutely worthwhile visiting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Let me start by saying if you can avoid staying in San Jose you should do so, but the flights out are tough to coordinate so you will probably be here a night. I highly recommend this place. Close to downtown, nice rooms, jacuzzi, and a fabulous restaurant. Reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

On our trips to Costa Rica, this is the hotel we have stayed for the first and last nights. The hotel is beautiful and centrally located in a rather unassuming neighborhood...but the rooms are very comfortable and the staff is very friendly. One of my favorite aspects of this hotel is the restaurant: fantastic food! I could eat there all the time! What I liked about it too was that the restaurant appeared to be filled with older, high class 'ticos'....but my brother and I (20 & 15 at the time) were treated well. Even though we look younger than that, the servers were still very friendly and didn't treat us differently (which has happened at certain luxury establishments in the US).

It is also right around the corner from a great park to watch (or play) soccer in a beautiful park. San Jose isn't exactly scenic compared to the rest of the country, but this hotel takes your mind off of it.

The staff is very helpful with whatever you need and especially when we arrived on our first day with SO MANY bags. The guy who was driving us for our vacation and the people at the hotel must have been shocked...but they wouldn't allow us to help them. They just seem to go out of the way to make things easier for you and yet aren't intrusive.

A beautiful hotel that's centrally located close to the city and the airport and a fantastic first stop on your excursion to this beautiful nation!

I would stay nowhere else in San Jose. Our family was there in Costa Rica for I believe 17 days and we had a guy drive us around to the different places because we didn't want to rent a car. The hotel coordinated everything with the driver from check in to check out....it all worked out perfectly.

Great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here on either end of an action filled trip to CR. we spent no time in San Jose, so we really only required a night's comfortable lodging. The hotel is a former mansion, very charming and homey. but beware that the rooms are wildly distinct. On our arrival night we had a sweet-2 lovely rooms connected through a bathroom. Very very nice. Even nicer than we needed, as the queen plus single bed in the main room could have sufficed. But on our departure night, we were given a room that had only one window which opened onto the corridor of the hotel (in it's day, this was likely a staff room facing the courtyard of the original mansion). There was a screen and rock garden to separate us from the guests walking down the hall, but clearly we could not keep this window open to hear and be heard. We were told there was no other room available with two beds. For one night it was okay to shut the window and make do. But if we had been staying longer, this would have been unacceptable lodging. Not sure what we paid since it was part of a package our travel agent assembled, but my guess is we paid much more than this particular room was worth.

Room Tip: Can't remember the room number of the terrible room. It seemed there were a couple like that. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a perfect place to stay at the beginning and end of your trip to Costa Rica. It's even good if you're not planning to leave San Jose! The hotel has a unique design that allows for little outdoor areas in the hallways between rooms, which was really cool to experience as you're walking around.

The restaurant deserves a review of its own. It was delicious! We had breakfast and dinner here on the first and last night of our trip. The restaurant has an open air middle area and indoor areas around the outside - beautiful!

The service was great (and also fluent in English). I really can't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were delayed arriving from Ft. Lauderdale and very stressed. We arrived and all was well - great room on the second floor, quiet and the bed was great. The dining room was superb but
pricy - a nice treat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.