We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose to your Saves list
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on my last night in CR. totally gorgeous and the food and service were exceptional. I guess they weren't full and the woman at the front desk gave us a complimentary upgrade! I would definitely stay there or at any of their other properties in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    264
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
178
722
37
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

No two rooms are the same, but the atmosphere is charming, the beds are comfortable, and the service is top notch. We actually chose this hotel because of the reviews of the restaurant - which did not disappoint, and will be reviewed separately. This is my first visit to San Jose, so I cannot fairly compare this hotel to its local competition, but suffice it to say that it met all our criteria for a hotel, and is far more architecturally pleasing than a giant box made of pre-cast concrete.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent one night at this lovely pearl located downtown in San Jose, Costa Rica. After an arduous and delayed flight from Canada, it was a wonderful oasis for our first night in Costa Rica! From the moment we walked into the lobby, we were wowed! The service was excellent and friendly, the room was lovely and welcoming and the food was delightful. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Grano de Oro is a real delight. Located neat the center of San Jose, it is charming and quaint. Also very safe. The rooms are set off and quiet, many with private courtyards and fountains. The restaurant is great as wellGrano de Oro is a much different experience that your international chains.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights (1 night at the beginning, 1 night at the end of our trip) at the Hotel Grano de Oro. Everything about this hotel is top notch! The moment we arrived the hotel staff directed us to a parking spot (parking is free!), and helped us carry our luggage into the lobby. In the lobby we were greeted with warm smiles and hellos, and delicious glass of fresh fruit juice! The hotel itself is stunning...an old mansion that is beautifully decorated with dark hardwood, artwork and black & white pictures on the walls, chandeliers hanging in the halls, and lush courtyard's tucked within the grounds. The rooms are lovely, with comfortable beds and white linens, and a gleaming bathrooms! We also enjoyed taking a relaxing dip in the hot tubs on the roof. The restaurant in the hotel was also fantastic! The only downside was the WiFi -- although free, it was a bit spotty at times and we had trouble getting it to work. Other than that we LOVED this place! If you're coming San Jose this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a weekend gettaway at Grano de Oro, what an amazing hotel!
This boutique hotel is located in the center of San José, but there is no traffic noise what so ever!
Looking to just relax and have a chilled out weekend, Grano de Oro offers everything.
The restaurante serves amazing food and the service is over the top!
The rooms are clean and accomodating, with beautiful garden views.
Marco and staff, thank you very much.
The weekend was a success and we will definately reccomend this hotel to other travelers!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for the first night of our Honeymoon and loved it. The staff was super helpful and friendly. Our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Its not a big place but I did enjoy walking around the hotel looking at the vegetation. The jacuzzi area was exactly what we needed after a long flight. We ate at the restaurant which was very good and had excellent service as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro San Jose Costa Rica
Grano De Oro San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.