We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, very central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Presidente to your Saves list
Hotel Presidente
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Pay 2 nights, stay 3
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel, very central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Extremely central location (even perhaps a bit too much if you do not wish to be in the main shopping pedestrian street!). Very helpful staff, nice modern reception and comfortable rooms. The included breakfast is of average quality food wise and could be improved. Also if you've never been to San Jose, prepare to get lost a bit as the streets are not easy to navigate for newcomers, but luckily the locals are always prepared to help!
A solid choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    272
    73
    19
    9
See reviews for
86
276
64
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Hotel Presidente in San Jose before our flight back to the US. It is a very nice hotel and the service was excellent - everyone on the staff seems to be very customer-focused. We also enjoyed the breakfast that is included with the room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights recently on a business trip to San Jose. The hotel is situated right in the middle of the city and opens onto the pedestrian street. The cost from the airport was US$30 each way.

My room was fine but there was no view, in fact the windows were frosted up so that was a bit of a drawback. Otherwise, the room was very comfortable as was the bed.

The staff were extremely courteous and helpful at all times and helpful booking tours and taxis and changing money. I would say that parking is not very good at the hotel as the space is extremely limited.

I ate in the lobby/restaurant many times during my stay and the food was very good as was the breakfast. I ate at El Patio restaurant right across the street a few times and this was fine also.

I might consider a more modern location slightly out of the centre next time but this hotel definitely had a lot of character and I could not find much to deter me from staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I would definitely stay at his hotel again. It has very nice rooms, some with Jacuzzi Bathtubs, which I loved. The location is right in the middle of town, with access to the main streets in Downtown San Jose. I also felt very safe in the area. Overall, If you are staying in Downtown San Jose, I would highly recommend staying at this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great staff very accommodating also. Good city location and safe parking as well. Terrific cook and bartender will cater to your needs. Very friendly also.
Our room was comfortable and a/c worked well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed one night on either end of our trip to Costa Rica. The staff is very friendly. The rooms were adequate in space and comfort. The buffet breakfast is quite limited but tasty. Eating area is tight and right in the middle of corridor and in front of the hotel desk. The hotel's location is probably its saving grace. It's in the middle of the main shopping street where no cars are allowed to drive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Prior to our arrival, I contacted the Director of the hotel, Mr. Daniel Mikowski, to ask if we could check into the hotel early as our flight arrived at 6:00 a.m. Mr. Mikowski responded immediately and not only allowed an early check in, upgraded us to a suite! We were very pleased with the hotel. Everyone from the front desk to the maids were very kind, considerate, helpful and friendly. We especially appreciated all of the tips provided by Diego, one of the waiters. The hotel is located in downtown San Jose. It was difficult to find because we rented a car from the airport (I highly agree with everyone when they say DO NOT RENT A CAR) and the traffic and signage was terrible. However; the hotel was perfectly located on the pedistrian walk with restaurants and shops within walking distance. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel was different each day. They also offered omlets and pancakes (I believe) but there was enough food with the buffet. Yogurt, cereal, toast, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausages, shredded meat and plantains. Also rice and peas nearly every morning! We took a few tours offered from the hotel and I highly recommend doing this. We also drove to the other side of the country and stayed two nights near Jaco.

Room Tip: It never hurts to ask for an upgrade. The suite with a jacuzzi tub was awesome! I used it every ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
#25 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Presidente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.