We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Presidente to your Saves list
Hotel Presidente
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a modern hotel centrally located near the Teatro Nacional and museums. It is located on a pedestrianized street. The room was comfortable and spacious with good A/C. It is a "Hampton Inn quality" hotel. The area seemed perfectly safe during the day but I wouldn't walk around outside at night. I was a bit disappointed in the service. Needed a cab in the morning to get to the bus station but was told it would take 15-20 min to get one to come. Cabs waiting outside were only for the airport. We had to walk outside and easily flagged a cab down on the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    373
    96
    20
    13
See reviews for
113
380
83
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Staff helped us so much planning what we wanted to do in Costa Rica, booked all our tours with them. Wonderful stay in the hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable. Slept very well. Great location but San Jose doesn't feel very safe in the evenings for two girls traveling together so we stayed local which was fine, loads of places to eat and drink!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I wanted a hotel in downtown San Jose that was close to everything for guests who were coming from 3 cities in the USA, Canada and Nicaragua. They were coming for a 5 day celebration of my 70th birthday. Two of my guests had mobiity issues. El Presidente is located within 3 blocks of several national treasures: The National Theatre, The Gold Museum, The National Museum, the arts and crafts mall with 89 artisans, and a casino can be accessed from inside the hotel! Local eateries are within a block on Central Avenue Blvd which for several blocks is a pedestrian shopping heaven. Cast a slightly wider circle and staff can recommend several excellent restaurants. El Presidente has an airport transportation service. lovely rooms with GREAT blackout curtains and wonderfully firm beds.

The staff are the most attentive I have experienced anywhere! If you even look puzzled, someone appears to assist you ... maybe from the bar ... or the kitchen as happened in my case. They recommended several resturants for my guests and I to choose from for dinner, provided guidance on the tours and the differene between tour providers. I was assigned a member of the Sales Team to work with my group. Josue and The Sales staff were wonderful to me and my guests - responding to their questions and needs before arrival. They even helped two friends, who could not come to San Jose, provide surprise "gifts" -- they recommended a bakery to one friend that provided a truly delicious cake. Cake and champagne were beautifully presented to my whole group complete with linen table cloths and napkins and ice bucket! They assisted another friend who requested wine, fruit and a box of candies for me. These were delightfully spread in my room. The ultimate surprise was a card from the hotel staff together with another delightful surprise. Who could want more! I expect that there will always be glitches in special events. But El Presidente, its management and staff made my celebration PERFECT!

The whole 5 days, my guests were asking, "How did you find this restaurant?" "Why did you pick this tour?" "How did you find this hotel?" And when they are asking if we can come again next year, that is when you know it was perfect for them as well!

Room Tip: This is an urban hotel with lots of foot traffic. There is some traffic noise and music some evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel Presidente is about 30 minutes drive - $25/$30 Taxi cab drive from the airport into the Avenida Central in downtown San Jose. It is located on a foot only street mall with many shops and vendors.
I choose the location to be downtown since I had a friend with her first time to Costa Rica. In my opinion it is THE best, nicest, option in the downtown area. I wanted to show her downtown – the National Theatre – which also has a real old quaint coffee shop worth visiting with AMAZING coffee. From there is the Gran Hotel with looking at – and many of the parks and historical items around. This is the only way to experience the local Tico’s in their environment, get a feel for their culture, and shop local, and see the sites and experience downtown San Jose.

Right next to the hotel there is a full Clario, ICE Kolbi, Movistar stores are right there for local SIM cards for cell phones so no hassle for the airport kiosk if your staying here.

We stayed here upon our first day of arrival and last day before departing. The staff was amazing – welcoming – extremely helpful and courteous, helpful with any requests we had and arranged a taxi to the airport for $30.00.

The hotel has a tour desk that can arrange a local coffee tour, and arrange any other activities in the area – water rafting – and help arrange other locations and provide great information.

Rooms are very reasonable and you will get a more modern updated, extremely updated room w/ AC, very clean. There are different room options at various price points, small rooms for the budget traveler $69 to $89 and larger rooms – and suite with a tub jucuzzi and living room area with multiple TV’s – spacious for $180 something. Rooms come mini-frig, safe and WiFi, clock radio but we opted for I-heart radio with the free wifi with our Samsung G4.

The hotel lobby has two computers opposite to check in that are free and for use to check internet and print boarding passes, check flights, and surf whatever you need on the web.

If you are booking pre-request or upon check in - request to be on the opposite site of the street mall. Our first day/night stay we were on the mall side and during the day there was the noise of hussle and bussle and street venders just yelling, and some guy playing some turtle flute thing – so annoying. And late at night like 1 a.m. some guy playing trumpet. When I called down to make him stop they say he does that often. So just a warning. The hotel has put in double pained windows but still some noise existed. Just keep in mind bring ear plugs just in case.
On my departure day/night I made sure I was on the other side, No NOISE, quiet and got great sleep.
The higher up and opposite the mall side ask for room room 407, 507, 607. These rooms are also away from the 2 small elevators. Tile floors if your near the elevator you may once in a while hear people rolling luggage on tile floors passing by but I barely noticed.
Water pressure shower and sinks were great and no problem with hot water – it took a bit and it backwards from the US turn to warm water.

Prices include breakfast – costa rica rice/beans, toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, yougart, orange juice the usual breakfast. Tip – we got from another group - If you request at no additional charge you can ask the bartender for a omelette – or fresh pancakes made to order. $25 Savings.

You can walk up and down the street literally find KFC, Mc Donald, Taco Bell, Quizno’s on and on – or local Tico Pizza Hamburger places, local restaurants if your on a budget. Or across the street the Patio and more eating out food $35 lunch for 2 people, offering gormet pizza, nachos, local chicken rice beans, overpriced but a better option than fast food probably. The food at the hotel is more reasonable and probably better just not as many options.

There is NO COST parking – 2 small lots and the staff can help with car parking which lot – if you call in advance and ask for assistance when you are close. If renting a car I recommending mapping out directions and clearly mapping your route – since it can be tricky to find the parking lot – and there is one way streets – you have to circle around, and the parking lots on the one way street closed to the hotel on the walking mall side ON Calle 7. If coming from the airport you have to make a left on Calle 11 – then left on Avenida 1 – then left on Calle 7 and parking lot is on left and right just past the Avenida Cental walk cross walk on the left a large gate just ask as you come to the first gate on the left and ask for hotel parking, usually past the taxis parked there.

The area in front of the hotel is safe and even at night – and hotel provides security guards at the entrance of the mall and offer free umbrellas, and guards also at the back entrance.

There is a area 3 blocks from the hotel for souvenir shops in a tented mall area – and you can buy there at the hotel uniquely painted and designed piggy banks that are very nice.

One last tip. You use to be able here to pay the airport departure tax of $28 USD – and charge it to your bill. No longer – you have to do it at the airport and you should have cash for your departure or you will get charged big using you ATM or Credit Card as a cash advance. Pay your departure tax before checking in to your airline, they will ask if you have the airport tax receipt. You will thank me for this one.

Room Tip: Ask for back side of the hotel - best room 607
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in downtown San Jose. Central to the shopping district as well as the museums.

AC worked great and king size bed was comfy. We had a rental car which was parked In a tight spot in a guarded lot.

We were to stay 3 nights but checked out early. There is little to do in San Jose! We should have stayed only 1 night in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Some reviewers have found the mall outside the hotel a bit unsavory and yes, it is in the heart of downtown, but it is also very handy for visiting museums and surrounding parks. The staff are very helpful and our room was spacious and quiet (ask for a room on a higher floor). We are glad we decided to spend a day here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a small hotel situated on the pedestrianised section of Central Avenue less than 100 meters from the National Theatre and Museum of Pre-columbian Gold. Service was friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was enjoyable and filling, coffee excellent. There is a small snack bar which does a limited selection of simple dishes at reasonable prices, quite sufficient to keep off the hunger pangs and provide a cold beer. If you need a restaurant there is "The Patio" across the street. Although situated right in the middle of town we saw no other restaurants that we would have wished to patronise in the area.
Our en-suite WC and shower room was excellently furnished and clean. The problem was that it took us two days to discover that there was hot water if the tap was turned on full during the whole time it takes to do one's ablutions.
The hotel could be much better if the following simple things were done:-
1/ There is plentiful hot water, but it takes about five minutes to arrive, a decent services engineer could resolve this problem by introducing a pumped hot water circuit, which might save money in the long run, as less water would be wasted running taps for so long.
2/ Lighting levels in the bedrooms are appalling. It is impossible to read except with a book held within 1 meter of a light bulb.
3/ An instruction manual is required for the air-conditioning. I could not fathom how it worked. I do not know why but it came on at 2:00am waking me up.
4/There is insufficient furniture in the bedroom we had. There were two generous sized double beds, but no comfortable chairs, nowhere to put suitcases and no bedside table or shelf on which to put an alarm clock and coins, keys, glasses etc. overnight. There was an alarm clock in the room, which was showing the wrong time, there was no explanation as to how it worked and the two of us could not find a way to change the time or set the alarm, so we unplugged it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#21 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Presidente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.