We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Presidente to your Saves list
Hotel Presidente
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Presidente for the first and last night of our trip to Costa Rica. The best part of Hotel Presidente is the location (if you want to be in the middle of downtown). You are really close to several of the city's major attractions and surrounded by lots of local shops and eateries.
The rooms were clean and nice, and we had a great view of the city from the sixth floor. The staff were pleasant and professional. There was a decent buffet breakfast in the morning. The hotel was like a little oasis in the middle of downtown. I was super glad that we had not rented a car. Driving in downtown San Jose would be quite intimidating and the hotel is not super easy to find. Only disappointing part of our stay was the recommendation we received from the front desk for our last dinner in Costa Rica. The Nuestra Tierre was probably the worst meal we ate in Costa Rica. It could have been because the restaurant was deserted and the staff distracted by the Costa Rica v. Panama soccer game that was on that night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    346
    95
    20
    13
See reviews for
107
355
78
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days both before and after my trip to the Osa penisula. The hotel is in a very convenient place in San Jose -- just steps away from shopping, restuarants and museums. The staff are are very helpful and courteous. The restuarant didn't appear to be used much by guests (except for breakfast) but the food is good as is the service at the small bar they have in the lobby. I took a day tour that I booked through the hotel that was effortless. My only complaint might be that they only had 1 ice machine, but not an overly big deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Loved the hotel. GREAT room, nice buffet breakfast, exceptional customer service. My concern: location. As a white, non-Spanish speaking, middle age woman, I did not feel safe in San Juan - even in late afternoon.

Very difficult to find hotel if you are driving. Attached is one map. Suggest you call hotel and look online for specific directions as one-way streets do not "communicate" with GPS. Very easy to get turned around in this city. If you get lost, seek out help of police and offer tip.

Leave at least ONE hour prior to time needing to be at airport for check in as traffic is horrendous and it is easy to get lost getting in to and out of San Jose.

Recommend dinner at "Equina de Buenos Aires" - great Argentinian food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you're looking to stay in downtown San Jose then I would reccomend the Hotel Presidente. A lot of other place in the area appear to be rather run down and the Presidente offers a decent standard of accommodation where others may be found lacking. We arrived late at night and the staff were efficient and more than helpful whilst checking us in. The rooms are modern and the beds are comfortable and the 24 hr hotel security ensure that the place feels safe. The complimentary breakfast is available from 6am which is great for those planning early trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you Mr. Mark O for your review.

Our guests’ safety, comfort and convenience are our top priorities, and so we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please contact me personally at daniel@hotel-presidente.com if you have any suggestions or requests on how we can further improve the experience of staying on Avenida Central at Hotel Presidente.

We greatly appreciate your time and patronage.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The streets are very noisy and dirty looking. The rooms are standard, & the elevators are very small & narrow. Breakfast in included in the room rate, but lunch & dinner is not. Don’t exchange your money there, they’re too expensive & do not give you your money’s worth. Almost 99% of the shops, & restaurants, etc take USD so, you don’t really need to exchange your currency anyway. If you leave the hotel to go out on the town, do not take the taxi the hotel offers, you are better off finding a taxi outside on the street for less $. Make sure you negotiate a price before hopping in – otherwise you will be ripped off. I went to dinner 10 minutes away, and was charged $30 USD roundtrip by the hotel’s taxi service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We began our seven day vacation package on June 1, 2013 in La Fortuna, Hotel Magic Mountain (really enjoyed this hotel) for three nights. Our next hotel (June 4th) was the Allegro Papagayo for three nights (not happy with hotel and would not go back). We drove into San Jose on a Friday (June 7th) evening and not only did we have traffic from the evening commute, but Costa Rica soccer was playing against Honduras for the World Cup qualifications. There were people running around with their flags showing their support for their country. After many turns around the city (and we have a Garmin) we finally find Hotel Presidente right in the middle of busy San Jose. As soon as we walk into the hotel we are pleasantly surprised. This hotel was very clean and beautifully decorated. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. The staff was helpful and spoke English very well. The hotel offers onsite gated parking at no cost. They also offer computers in the lobby at no cost. We went up to see the gym, although it was basic(treadmills, weights, exercise ball and other items) but what more do you need on vacation. What caught my eye in the gym was the floor to ceiling windows that offer you a view of the city (not a beautiful sight) but it was still nice view. The hotel is located in front of a pedestrian walk way which leads you to stores, restaurants and museums. We were not impressed with downtown San Jose; it was very dirty and run down. I'm glad we were there for just one night, but I can overall highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Ms. Belinda A,

On behalf of all the Staff at the Presidente I would like to thank you for your review and kind words.

I apologize for the chaotic celebration that ruled San Jose after the soccer match, but Honduras is our long time archrival and defeating them was a huge step towards qualifying for the World Cup Finals, a feat we have achieved only 3 times in over 85 years.

I am glad that once you were in the Hotel you enjoyed your stay. Your review emphasizes many of our amenities, and we would love to get your suggestions on how we can make continue to improve.

I remain personally at your service at daniel@hotel-presidente.com

I hope that your trip back home was a safe, enjoyable one.

Sincerely,

Daniel Mikowski
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you are going to stay downtown, I would highly recommend Hotel Presidente. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and speaks English well. The onsite parking makes having a rental car less stressful and more safe. It is a central location to most activities in the city, so you don't have the stress of driving or taxis. The free breakfast in the morning was superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelClick so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Presidente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.