We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location -Get out and Explore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Presidente to your Saves list
Hotel Presidente
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Location -Get out and Explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at this well located hotel. It served as a good base from which to explore the city. When we arrived at the hotel we were warmly greeted and provied with a complimentary beverage - what a lovely way to start a visit . We enjoyed a long walk down Colon Avenue ( I thinK ) to a beautiful city park. There were two museums, a craft market about a block or so away with beautufl handicrafts made by local artisans-surprisingly most spoke English though more comfortable in Spanish. The area seemed very safe at night though hotel staff suggest guests not have any jewelry visible at night , a tip I appreciated. You will also notice even during the day that almost every store has security guards . There are a slew of restaurants within a block or so walk in almost any direction. We particularly enjoyed El Balcon de Europa.
The hotel generously provided special treats to help us celebrate my husband's birthday.
The room was very lovely and the bathroom was spa like such a treat . All of the staff we interacted with was helpful most were bilingual. This was a great place to start our Costa Ricn adventure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    316
    87
    20
    12
See reviews for
97
326
76
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was a very nice hotel big rooms, helpful reception desk, nice breakfast and huge jacuzzi, very nice place to stay just in the middle of the main street, many shops just beside. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good location in the central part of san jose, right in the pedestrian area. Area just around hotel felt safe at dark but would not go too far away.
Rooms were ok but not more. Very noisy from the other rooms and the corridor. Staff very helpful
Price too high for what you get according to me

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Gym is pretty good with view of the city, good equipment including weights and bosu ball. View from hotel is great. Service was good. Getting a taxi through hotel is an extra $10 or so. Breakfast decent. Main draw of this hotel is that it is priced for what you get and in a great location near the grand market and other good places to eat. Rooms were clean, staff helpful, good place for a business trip.

Downside - bill is not itemized which will be difficult when I submit the reciept

Room Tip: ask for one with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Prettyroja,

Thank you for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our gym and location.

If you require a more itemized bill, please contact me personally at daniel@hotel-
presidente.com and we can make one for you immediately.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on our first stop in Costa Rica around noon and were warmly greeted by the reception. She gave us a quiet room right away and also arranged per our request the transportation to Manuel Antonio via Interbus the next morning. One gets the feeling that the entire staff is eager to provide good service but the best thing is the hotel location-it’s right on the busy Avenida Centrale. The room is clean and the king bed is comfortable. Though the design of the window in our room is a bit too high and you cannot really look out the window but it is quiet. The buffet breakfast (included in the room rate) was good plus there’s a safe in the room and also free wifi which makes it a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main avenue are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location is good, but we arrived at 9pm thinking we could walk the ped street outside for a drink and dinner and everything was already shuttered down. Only one small restaurant was open on the corner. Had we known this, we would have stayed elsewhere closer to airports since there was nothing for us to do here and we spent $30 each way from the airports. The rooms are basic and spartan. The breakfast included however was very good and open from 5:30am.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Presidente Hotel is in the heart of San Jose with its front entrance leading directly onto the Avenida Central. it is just one block from the main square and in the centre of the shopping area. Reception is highly efficient (on two stays) and boasts a bar and cafe. Breakfast is served here- a good Costa Rican buffet. The cafe seves very reasonably priced dishes from early morning till late. Rooms are over eight floors with two efficient lifts. Standard rooms are spacious with two queen size beds, a bathroom with shower and decent toiletries. They are air conditioned but not double glazed, which can lead to poor sleep depending on the room position. WiFi is available for free throughout the hotel and the rooms are also cabled for inline connection. Given that it is unlikely that you would want to stay more than a few days in the capital, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Presidente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.