We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Presidente

Save Saved
You added Hotel Presidente to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 5700, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Pay 2 nights, stay 3
Ranked #11 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok hotel but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good location in the central part of san jose, right in the pedestrian area. Area just around hotel felt safe at dark but would not go too far away.
Rooms were ok but not more. Very noisy from the other rooms and the corridor. Staff very helpful
Price too high for what you get according to me

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    248
    68
    18
    8
See reviews for
74
254
62
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Gym is pretty good with view of the city, good equipment including weights and bosu ball. View from hotel is great. Service was good. Getting a taxi through hotel is an extra $10 or so. Breakfast decent. Main draw of this hotel is that it is priced for what you get and in a great location near the grand market and other good places to eat. Rooms were clean, staff helpful, good place for a business trip.

Downside - bill is not itemized which will be difficult when I submit the reciept

Room Tip: ask for one with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Prettyroja,

Thank you for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our gym and location.

If you require a more itemized bill, please contact me personally at daniel@hotel-
presidente.com and we can make one for you immediately.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on our first stop in Costa Rica around noon and were warmly greeted by the reception. She gave us a quiet room right away and also arranged per our request the transportation to Manuel Antonio via Interbus the next morning. One gets the feeling that the entire staff is eager to provide good service but the best thing is the hotel location-it’s right on the busy Avenida Centrale. The room is clean and the king bed is comfortable. Though the design of the window in our room is a bit too high and you cannot really look out the window but it is quiet. The buffet breakfast (included in the room rate) was good plus there’s a safe in the room and also free wifi which makes it a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main avenue are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location is good, but we arrived at 9pm thinking we could walk the ped street outside for a drink and dinner and everything was already shuttered down. Only one small restaurant was open on the corner. Had we known this, we would have stayed elsewhere closer to airports since there was nothing for us to do here and we spent $30 each way from the airports. The rooms are basic and spartan. The breakfast included however was very good and open from 5:30am.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Presidente Hotel is in the heart of San Jose with its front entrance leading directly onto the Avenida Central. it is just one block from the main square and in the centre of the shopping area. Reception is highly efficient (on two stays) and boasts a bar and cafe. Breakfast is served here- a good Costa Rican buffet. The cafe seves very reasonably priced dishes from early morning till late. Rooms are over eight floors with two efficient lifts. Standard rooms are spacious with two queen size beds, a bathroom with shower and decent toiletries. They are air conditioned but not double glazed, which can lead to poor sleep depending on the room position. WiFi is available for free throughout the hotel and the rooms are also cabled for inline connection. Given that it is unlikely that you would want to stay more than a few days in the capital, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

After living in Costa Rica for over a year, I decided it was time to spend some time in San Jose to learn my way around the city. I chose the Presidente because of it's VERY downtown location (convenient for exploration, but a bit noisy at night) and price - roughly $120/night for a junior suite.

The rooms were incredibly spacious with a flat-screen t.v. in each, reliable wireless internet and excellent hot water shower. Unfortunately, though I had been guaranteed in advance that I would have a room with a balcony, that was not available and the gentleman at check-in was quite unaccommodating. The rest of the staff during my stay were incredibly courteous and helpful.

While there are signs all over the hotel offering a rooftop jacuzzi and sauna, the door was always locked and I was later advised that they were closed for good. Unfortunate, and something that might necessitate the removal of the signs.

Breakfasts were fair and exactly the same every morning: yogurt in plastic cups, unripened fruit, a tiny canister of granola, scrambled eggs, gallo pinto, orange juice and coffee. It was included in the room rate so difficult to complain about, but it was quite boring for a luxury hotel owned by Tabacon. One dinner found that room service, however, was wonderful and extremely affordable.

Pleasant hotel for the price, but I think that my next trip to San Jose would require me to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The junior suites are spacious, but totally sparse and institutional in terms of decoration. They se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is in the heart of a pedestrian shopping area/market. It gets loud early in the morning and stays loud throughout the day and into the night. The location is great, as you can walk to many attractions. The area is safe.

The rooms are clean, but the bathroom is very slippery. There were 5 (3 adults and 2 children) of us traveling, so we booked a room with two queen beds (nearly 2 months in advance), however when we arrived they only had a room with two twin beds. We asked to be upgraded, they said it came with a cost and just apologized for the inconvenience.

The breakfast was good and the hotel was clean.

Room Tip: confirm reservations ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 5700, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern décor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Presidente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.