We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Presidente, Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Presidente

Save Saved
You added Hotel Presidente to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 5700, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Pay 2 nights, stay 3
Ranked #11 of 85 hotels in San Jose
West Bend, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Presidente, Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable in this modern hotel. The room had a spacious shower. Great location for close exploring. There is much to see nearby. Great breakfast that was included with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    254
    68
    18
    8
See reviews for
76
259
62
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Comfortable hotel is located in the Centre of San Jose on the lengthy pedestrian Central avenue. San Jose is not an especially attractive city but it has some good museums and galleries all within a few blocks. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful--the perfect location for exploring the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable, fairly spacious for a regular hotel room. The beds were comfortable and there was a nice set of shower products offered. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel opens onto a pedestrian shopping street, on which you can find everything from locally crafted souvenirs and local coffee to plastic trinkets made in china.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed here and had a wonderful time. The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and amazing. We especially enjoyed the breakfast every morning! We would definitely recommend people to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

helpful staff, secure parking, nice beds and secure rooms. very comfortable and in the heart of it all. good breakfast was included in rack rate. i paid full price on our way back on our way into costa rica i got a good deal on one of the hotel booking sites. they have a website to easily reserve rooms on the fly which is just what we needed travelling around with our iPad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica and it was good. Parking was avaiable for our hire car which was then collected from the hotel by the hire company. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was spotless and we were upgraded to a large room. Comfortable bed and hot shower. Fridge and hairdryer but no coffee maker. It was convenient for the shopping area and the National Theatre. The restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced and we had a snack lunch and evening meal there - Arroz con Pollo was 4800colones about the cheapest we found. Would recommend it as a convenient City Centre base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My stay was actually from Aug. 2009 but TripAdvisor only lets you backdate reviews by a year. We arrived in San Jose in the morning – take an orange cab to your destination. There are
people waiting to “solicit” when you leave customs and wear orange shirts and stuff. It’s
$20 to downtown and it’s legit. A lot of people don't enjoy San Jose but it's worth taking a day of rest and enjoying the town before embarking on a long exciting vacation
.
Good modern rooms right in the heart of the pedestrian area. Lunch was at Vishnu
(vegetarian place). No English spoken here, don’t be intimidated, the food is great just
order something. We walked around a bit, didn’t visit anywhere. We just napped and
relaxed. At night we wandered the pedestrian area and ate dinner at a local shop. When
you come out of the hotel on the pedestrian area take a right and walk. You will cross a
street and it’s on the right (a little pizza place with other stuff that looks good). Once you
hit the next street it becomes sketch. The breakfast buffet was awesome at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 5700, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern décor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose
Hotel Presidente Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Presidente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.