We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Lang, 50 este y 50 sur del Colegio de Medicos, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$62 (USD)
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mountain View, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An ok stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms look just like the pictures. I made a reservation for a room with two beds but was given a room with just one bed. I did not realize this until I reached the room and by then it was 1 a.m. so I decided to keep the room. Make sure to ask when you check in that you have been assigned the beds your reservation indicates. The room is nice and quiet, very quiet for San Jose Standards. Good location. The maid knocked on the door even though we had a "Do not disturb sign."
The guest book says "All our room rates have the breakfast included," but when we went to the dinning room we were told by the waiter that our breakfast was not included for our room, so we had to pay for breakfast. Because of bed assignment and the breakfast situation, I am giving a lower rating to this place.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    73
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
70
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a couple nights for a wedding. We were very happy with the huge (2x2) comfortable beds, after having stayed in B&Bs until then. There's a nice jacuzzi and decent restaurant, breakfast was not that special for the $12,-. Location was quiet and good for our wedding, approx 25min walk from downtown San Jose (which doesn't offer too much interesting)

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for an elegant hotel near Parque Sabana, you have to consider the Rincon del Valle! I have stayed there on two different trips to San Jose and have enjoyed their hospitality both times. The rooms are very nice and spacious. The staff is the best part-they treat you like royalty and family at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is OK, nothing special. We stayed the night we flew in to San Jose and they night before we flew out. Wished we would have picked a place that was more centrally located where we could have walked to have dinner. We felt kind of trapped. The restaurant is pretty good we ate there several times and the food was good. It did seem a little more expensive than I expected. Overall, a good standard hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Because I went for eye surgery, we looked for a hotel that was close to the clinic, clean, safe and had a restaurant on the premises. We stayed in a small room on the main floor. It was relatively quiet although we could hear a little hallway noise at night. The beds were comfortable and sheets and towels were clean. The service was exceptional. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay a good one. The food in the restaurant on the premises was very good but a little expensive. I had some maki rolls for lunch and a lovely ricotta cheese and spinach ravioli with rose sauce for supper. Both were excellent.

Room Tip: Take the package with the breakfast as it costs double the extra to pay for breakfast for two the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RinconMgmnt, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for your comment and have stayed at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We needed a place to stay in San Jose close to Clinica 20/20 and this establishment was recommended. It was a very clean and quiet hotel. The people at the front desk were excellent and very helpful. The room itself was in the back and very quiet and also well kept. We stayed overnight due to my wife's eye surgery and as she was not to go out in the wind and dust we ate in the local restaurant attached to the hotel. This was the only drawback as we found it to be very overpriced. The buffet breakfast (I had three pieces of toast and juice, my wife had a spoonful of scrambled eggs and rice, one piece of toast and coffee) came to $38.00 CDN

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RinconMgmnt, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for your comment and have stayed at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Our stayed was very nice. The staff,very friendly and helpful,in particular Jimie, Oscar Jose, Jesus y todos en general,Nice neighbourhood,and easy accses tu every place.
Rooms clean,and spacios, Very good breakfast,and food in general. Really, we are thinking to return next time.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RinconMgmnt, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your comments and have stayed at our hotel and you feel at your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites

Address: Calle Lang, 50 este y 50 sur del Colegio de Medicos, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located near La Sabana Metropolitan Park, the heart of the city of San Jose, you will find Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites, ready to offer you a comfortable and friendly environment where guests can enjoy themselves of the peacefulness and security of the area. The Hotel is located just 1.2 Miles from downtown San Jose and 10 miles from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Del Valle Hotel And Suites
Rincon Del Valle Hotel San Jose
Rincon Del Valle Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.