We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Lang, 50 este y 50 sur del Colegio de Medicos, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$75 (USD)
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

the hotel is located near a park and 15 minutes from the airport and center , the service is great ask for the concierge Allan Paniiaguaga He will book you the best toursl, there is also a gym and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Manager at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Catherine, we thank you for your comments. We are glad to have made your stay very pleasant and that our staff was also able to help you with all you requested. We hope to have you as one of our guests when your travel plans bring you to Costa Rica again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    55
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
52
12
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a quiet place out from town. If one is looking for a stop over and leaving the next day then the Rincon is a good place. Meal are just average. Staff is below average. Any thing that was needed was never done with a smiley face and had to be forced. Not like the rest of Costa Rica that we experienced in ten days. I will stay down town to be closer to things. It is close to the huge soccer stadium if that is your thing.

Room Tip: Small hotel on side street. all quiet and fair sized
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Manager at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Client, thank you for your feedback. We are always open to comments so that we can improve our service. Since your review, we have made many changes, starting from an in-depth training to all our staff and remodeling our facilities. Our restaurant now offers a wide variety of international and local dishes and our chef will tend to every questions or special request you might have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Clean, pleasant, comfortable and attractive. If you need to spend the night in San Jose this is a pleasant stop. The will pick you up at the airport with a name card and bring you to the hotel $30 service. We arrived at 1 am, I was so happy we arrange for a pick up with them instead of trying to drive our rental car. The rental car agency (Vamos) brought the car to us a 9am while the kids enjoyed breakfast in the lovely buffet.

Room Tip: ask for a pick up ahead of time - so nice to have someone great you after many hours of flying have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Manager at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sue, thank you for your comments. We are glad that we were a good start to your vacation plans since our main goal is to make our guests’ travels as easy and worry free as possible. Our front desk is open 24 hours, so we can help with every need our guests may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are two professional adults on vacation in Costa Rica for the first time in June 2013. If you wanted to experience the Costa Rican hotel without relying on the familiar US names such as Marriott or Hyatt, try out Rincon Del Valle in San Jose Costa Rica. The hotel was small although not a "boutique" hotel. It had 41 rooms. The rooms were small but quite modern with coffee maker, flat screen TV, and remote controllable air conditioner. It's located near but not in the downtown area of San Jose. This meant that it's close but not in the middle of the hustle bustle of downtown. We felt safe enough to walk to downtown (in the day time) and all the round the neighborhood in the early evening to visit a supermarket and a few restaurants nearby. We spoke highschool Spanish and could get by. If you didn't speak Spanish and/or stuck out as tourists, you might not want to wander near the big park across the street. The staff was super nice. All staff were nice but we got to know Allan quite well. Allan arranged for our excursions at reasonable prices. The room rate was reasonable. The included breakfast was a real happy surprise. We could order (for free) omelette or scrambled eggs in addition to what's available. Some day, we even had a-la-carte breakfast (made to order). To add to it, the trip to the airport (not from the airport) was free - a $30 worth. We definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs are safer as you could crack the windows for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Manager at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Client, We are very glad to see that you had a pleasant stay and that we were able to fulfill your every need. We hope that when your travel plans bring you back to Costa Rica, we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again. We would like to let you know, that we just remodeled our restaurant, so we think that your experience will be magnified by our brand new menu and improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Excellent small hotel. Very clean, comfortable, and spacious rooms. Free wireless (with decent bandwidth) was available throughout the building. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the desk staff spoke good English. The restaurant was good, if somewhat limited in choice.

There are no elevators, but it's only two storeys. My only minor complaint was that English TV channels were limited to mainstream US channels. BBC World or CNN would have been appreciated.

I would certainly choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you could not have access to the international channels, our service provider must have been making maintenance during your stay and did not notify us about it, we do have access and is complimentary to all the principal English spoken TV Channels such as CNN, ABC, CBS and more. On site we have an elevator that is available for our guests, specially used for handicap or to help with the luggage. We would like to thank you again and we hope to be able to have you as one of our guests again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were here for 5 nights for dental work. The hotel is very clean, beds and bedding are comfortable and good quality. The restaurant has good, basic food. The free breakfast is full range. The staff is friendly. Professional and accommodating. Convenient for walking to shops and restaurants around Sabana Park. All around I would rate this a good "business" hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear client, thank you so much for your comments. We are very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a fine hotel with traditional furniture in dark wood. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped.

The dining room was light and airy and the service prompt. The choice of food was good.

In some parts of the hotel there were open spaces with plants growing in flower beds, it was a nice touch.

Room Tip: The suites are a good size and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest, it is our goal to make the stay of our clients as best as possible and we succeeded with you. We thank you for the feedback and we hope that when your vacation plans bring you to Costa Rica that you give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites

Address: Calle Lang, 50 este y 50 sur del Colegio de Medicos, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites, es un hotel boutique cuatro estrellas, ubicado a tan solo unos pasos del parque metropolitano la Sabana, pulmon de San Jose, cabe indicar que la Sabana mide 72 hectareas y en este esta ubicado el moderno Estadio Nacional. Ademas a tan solo 5 minutos de distancia de Multiplaza el centro comercial mas grande de Costa Rica en el cual se pueden encontrar mas de 300 tiendas. Tambien estamos a 10 minutos de atracciones turisticas como lo son el teatro nacional, museo de oro, museo de jade entre otros. Cerca de la embajada de los Estados Unidos, Espana, Holanda, Alemania entre otras. Somos un punto de partida hacia sus aventuras en Costa Rica ya sea la playa o montana. Contamos con 40 habitaciones, las cuales estan distribuidas en 25 habitaciones deluxe y 15 junior suites. Todas las habitaciones cuentan con escritorio, television por cable, radio despertador, telefono, caja de seguridad laptop size, minibar, coffee maker con cafe de cortesia diario. En los banos encontraran un espejo giratorio con aumento, secador de cabello, batas y amenities de gran calidad. Ademas las Junior Suites cuentan con un sofa cama, kitchenet con horno microondas y refrigerador pequeno para uso discrecional de nuestros clientes, pensando en la comodidad en una estancia prolongada. En nuestras instalaciones podra encontrar un gimnasio y jacuzzy climatizado. Nuestra recepcion se encuentra abierta las 24 horas, ofrecemos servicios de alquiler de automoviles, excursiones, pago de impuestos de salida, ademas de transporte gratuito hotel - aeropuerto bajo horarios preestablecidos. Todo el edificio cuenta con internet inalambrico gratuito con un ancho de banda de hasta 10 megas y en nuestro lobby tenemos dos maquinas para el uso de nuestros clientes que no traigan consigo su computador portatil, este servicio es tambien gratuito. En nuestras tarifas esta incluido el desayuno completo buffet y a la carta, el cual se sirve en nuestro restaurante etnico de 6am a 10 am. Ofrecemos el servicio de almuerzo y cena en nuestro restaurante con una gran variedad de platillos internacionales. Tambien contamos con tres salones para eventos con una capacidad maxima de hasta 50 personas, todos con servicio de internet individual al de nuestros huespedes, siempre pensando en que sus actividades no se vean afectadas por trafico de datos de terceros. Los salones todos cuenta con pantallas con conexiones HDMI de 50 pulgadas, ofrecemos en todas nuestras actividades o reuniones el uso de video beam gratuito, rotafolios y pizarras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Del Valle Hotel And Suites
Rincon Del Valle Hotel San Jose
Rincon Del Valle Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.