We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Lang, 50 este y 50 sur del Colegio de Medicos, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$80 (USD)
Ranked #11 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Costa Rica Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a fine hotel with traditional furniture in dark wood. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped.

The dining room was light and airy and the service prompt. The choice of food was good.

In some parts of the hotel there were open spaces with plants growing in flower beds, it was a nice touch.

Room Tip: The suites are a good size and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest, it is our goal to make the stay of our clients as best as possible and we succeeded with you. We thank you for the feedback and we hope that when your vacation plans bring you to Costa Rica that you give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
48
11
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed in upon arriving to Costa Rica before we started an adventure trip throughout the country, and it was a GREAT place to start. The rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is incredibly friendly, and there is a nice restaurant connected to the hotel. Compared to everywhere else we stayed during our vacation, it seemed even better when we returned for our final night before flying back to the US.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Anne, thank you so much for your comments. We are very glad that we could make a difference on your visit to Costa Rica and that we also were able to give a good closure to your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaldwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

On arrival in Costa Rica and San Jose particularly this was a good spot to stay for transit. I don't mean this in a bad way just that the hotel is in a safe area with good restaurants and museums etc close by. The Staff were so very helpful, the hotel restaurant is first class, the rooms basic but comfortable and pleasant though with no natural light. Not far from the airport and with free Internet and wi fi and all mod cons.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear client, Thank you for your feedback and we are glad we could fulfill all your needs. We would like to let you know that we have different kind of views in our rooms, we recommend that at the moment of sending the reservation; send us your special requests so we can assign the room with the specs that you might need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for travellers I stayed here for one night and I wished I could have stayed longer. Nice restaurant and lounge area. The rooms were modern, clean and had great beds with soft pillows. Bathrooms were spacious and modern. Very good would recommend it for all travellers. Free use of computers with Wifi in the lobby.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondelValle, Gerente at Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Lisa, thank you for your comments and we are very pleased to see that you had a wonderful stay. It makes all of us feel good when a client leaves and takes a good memory of the country and of our hotel with them. As you stated in your message, Wi-Fi is free with a broadband of 10 megabytes free in all rooms and common areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Two nights here went by quickly, but not necessarily because of the quality of the hotel.

If you're looking to spend time in San Jose, don't stay here; it's quite a ways off from the center of town. The room was fine - although it was the first place we stayed on our honeymoon, and they somehow had us booked into a room with two double beds. That got fixed quickly, and they brought up complimentary glasses of wine for us.

In general, we've been referring to this as the "Best Western of Costa Rica." It's nice, but in a country with so many amazing resorts and hotels, "nice" doesn't really make the grade.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same. You're better off on the first floor, but much of your experience will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are spacious and clean, with wifi coffee making facilities and satellite tv. You can walk through the park to centre takes 35 mins. Breakfast is ok, not fantastic choice we were there as part of a tour wouldn't be my first choice if returned to Costa Rica

Room Tip: Room 121 next to gym and you can hear the treadmill avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having stayed a while at this hotel, I can unequivocally say it is a better option in San José. The rooms were comfortable, fairly clean (with the occasional long stray hairs left behind by the maids), the A/C was working fine, and it was easy to get a taxi to/from to anywhere... BUT... there were also a few problems.

The shower pressure was beyond poor. I had to unscrew the shower head from the pipe in order to get any pressure, and even with the head of the shower removed, it was still difficult to get a good shower. If you plan to take a shower on your trip, then don't stay here.

There's one particular woman working at the reception who is very sour. I'm not sure why she has a job there, perhaps she is with the management, and, if that is true, then she is ruining the reputation of the hotel. Hopefully she'll leave and relocate to the jungle, somewhere deep inside without a mosquito net.

And speaking of insects, other problems as follows:

The restaurant was infested with fruit flies. The bread, fruit, jam, you name it, all covered in flies. Absolutely gross.

The "gym" in this hotel is a corner located under a flight of stairs, with 3 pieces of non-functioning equipment, next to a hot, humid, outdoor jacuzzi.

The internet terminal in the lobby did not work during my stay.

The safes in every room can be opened by the universal default master code, which I won't mention here in order to protect the current guests of the hotel, but such carelessness by the management is a safety risk, and it is definitely a bad idea to store your valuables at this hotel.

Conclusion: Find an online deal for this hotel; it's not worth full price. It can be a better alternative to many hotels in San José as it is in a fairly safe area, you can go outside and walk around during the day, and it's not too far from anything by taxi. Most of the staff were friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Second level is a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites

Address: Calle Lang, 50 este y 50 sur del Colegio de Medicos, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites, es un hotel boutique cuatro estrellas, ubicado a tan solo unos pasos del parque metropolitano la Sabana, pulmon de San Jose, cabe indicar que la Sabana mide 72 hectareas y en este esta ubicado el moderno Estadio Nacional. Ademas a tan solo 5 minutos de distancia de Multiplaza el centro comercial mas grande de Costa Rica en el cual se pueden encontrar mas de 300 tiendas. Tambien estamos a 10 minutos de atracciones turisticas como lo son el teatro nacional, museo de oro, museo de jade entre otros. Cerca de la embajada de los Estados Unidos, Espana, Holanda, Alemania entre otras. Somos un punto de partida hacia sus aventuras en Costa Rica ya sea la playa o montana. Contamos con 40 habitaciones, las cuales estan distribuidas en 25 habitaciones deluxe y 15 junior suites. Todas las habitaciones cuentan con escritorio, television por cable, radio despertador, telefono, caja de seguridad laptop size, minibar, coffee maker con cafe de cortesia diario. En los banos encontraran un espejo giratorio con aumento, secador de cabello, batas y amenities de gran calidad. Ademas las Junior Suites cuentan con un sofa cama, kitchenet con horno microondas y refrigerador pequeno para uso discrecional de nuestros clientes, pensando en la comodidad en una estancia prolongada. En nuestras instalaciones podra encontrar un gimnasio y jacuzzy climatizado. Nuestra recepcion se encuentra abierta las 24 horas, ofrecemos servicios de alquiler de automoviles, excursiones, pago de impuestos de salida, ademas de transporte gratuito hotel - aeropuerto bajo horarios preestablecidos. Todo el edificio cuenta con internet inalambrico gratuito con un ancho de banda de hasta 10 megas y en nuestro lobby tenemos dos maquinas para el uso de nuestros clientes que no traigan consigo su computador portatil, este servicio es tambien gratuito. En nuestras tarifas esta incluido el desayuno completo buffet y a la carta, el cual se sirve en nuestro restaurante etnico de 6am a 10 am. Ofrecemos el servicio de almuerzo y cena en nuestro restaurante con una gran variedad de platillos internacionales. Tambien contamos con tres salones para eventos con una capacidad maxima de hasta 50 personas, todos con servicio de internet individual al de nuestros huespedes, siempre pensando en que sus actividades no se vean afectadas por trafico de datos de terceros. Los salones todos cuenta con pantallas con conexiones HDMI de 50 pulgadas, ofrecemos en todas nuestras actividades o reuniones el uso de video beam gratuito, rotafolios y pizarras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Del Valle Hotel And Suites
Rincon Del Valle Hotel San Jose
Rincon Del Valle Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.