We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly acceptable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Lang, 50 este y 50 sur del Colegio de Medicos, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$80 (USD)
Ranked #11 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfectly acceptable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Two nights here went by quickly, but not necessarily because of the quality of the hotel.

If you're looking to spend time in San Jose, don't stay here; it's quite a ways off from the center of town. The room was fine - although it was the first place we stayed on our honeymoon, and they somehow had us booked into a room with two double beds. That got fixed quickly, and they brought up complimentary glasses of wine for us.

In general, we've been referring to this as the "Best Western of Costa Rica." It's nice, but in a country with so many amazing resorts and hotels, "nice" doesn't really make the grade.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same. You're better off on the first floor, but much of your experience will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
48
11
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are spacious and clean, with wifi coffee making facilities and satellite tv. You can walk through the park to centre takes 35 mins. Breakfast is ok, not fantastic choice we were there as part of a tour wouldn't be my first choice if returned to Costa Rica

Room Tip: Room 121 next to gym and you can hear the treadmill avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having stayed a while at this hotel, I can unequivocally say it is a better option in San José. The rooms were comfortable, fairly clean (with the occasional long stray hairs left behind by the maids), the A/C was working fine, and it was easy to get a taxi to/from to anywhere... BUT... there were also a few problems.

The shower pressure was beyond poor. I had to unscrew the shower head from the pipe in order to get any pressure, and even with the head of the shower removed, it was still difficult to get a good shower. If you plan to take a shower on your trip, then don't stay here.

There's one particular woman working at the reception who is very sour. I'm not sure why she has a job there, perhaps she is with the management, and, if that is true, then she is ruining the reputation of the hotel. Hopefully she'll leave and relocate to the jungle, somewhere deep inside without a mosquito net.

And speaking of insects, other problems as follows:

The restaurant was infested with fruit flies. The bread, fruit, jam, you name it, all covered in flies. Absolutely gross.

The "gym" in this hotel is a corner located under a flight of stairs, with 3 pieces of non-functioning equipment, next to a hot, humid, outdoor jacuzzi.

The internet terminal in the lobby did not work during my stay.

The safes in every room can be opened by the universal default master code, which I won't mention here in order to protect the current guests of the hotel, but such carelessness by the management is a safety risk, and it is definitely a bad idea to store your valuables at this hotel.

Conclusion: Find an online deal for this hotel; it's not worth full price. It can be a better alternative to many hotels in San José as it is in a fairly safe area, you can go outside and walk around during the day, and it's not too far from anything by taxi. Most of the staff were friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Second level is a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice hotel for our 1 night stay, however it is NOT where Trip Advisor shows it on the Map. Not even close. It is approximately 300 meters south of the Football stadiumon Calle Lang behind the Nikklas restaurant. The staff could not give me directions over the phone when I was 9 blocks away. Overall the hotel was good with a very good breakfast and secure parking.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis MO
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very comfortable and accommodating, with tropical greenery "mini-gardens" brightening up the halls. Beds were fine, lighting adequate, and bathroom clean. But our room could have used a vacuuming, as the same long black hairs were on the carpet both days of our stay. An ATM around the corner didn't work for me, and the front desk was unable to convert $20 American - otherwise, they were very efficient. Breakfast choices included good muesli, good cheese, and of course, excellent coffee. If its location is close enough to the airport for you, it is a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent! Charming hotel with very friendly personal, large rooms (and bath-rooms), clean and well furnished in,modern style, windows directed to internal patios equipped with tropic plants, very calmly. We staid there for 4 days and were very pleased with service and installations: Excellent breakfast, very good cuisine for lunch and supper (both local and international dishes), other small restaurants and cafeterias may be found in the close neighbourhood. Situated in a residential neighbourhood close to the metropolitan park of La Sabana and the campus of the university of La Salle, downtown San Jose with its sights and museums is at a walking distance of 30 minutes or may be reached by bus within 5 minutes (bus stop 150 m from the hotel, fare 160 Corones per person). The worth-seeing La Salle Museum of Natural Sciences is found at a distance of only 300 m from the hotel and gives particularly a very impressive overview about the fauna of Costa Rica. A large supermarket with an ATM that accepts European Maestro-cards is found at a distance of 400 m.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed twice at this hotel during our 3 weeks in Costa Rica and had a pleasant stay both times. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The restaurant is pleasant and the staff were extremely kind in dealing with our special requests for our jet lagged young children. Breakfast is good too. What really struck us was the extremely courteous and helpful attitude of the front desk staff. Alan, in particular was extremely helpful is helping us sort out a problem we encountered with the car we had reserved - which was never delivered. He went out of his way to find us a 4 wheel drive within 12 hours (on a Sunday) so that we could keep the holiday schedule we planned. Thanks to him, our trip was not delayed, and we had a wonderful time in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites

Address: Calle Lang, 50 este y 50 sur del Colegio de Medicos, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rincon del Valle Hotel and Suites, es un hotel boutique cuatro estrellas, ubicado a tan solo unos pasos del parque metropolitano la Sabana, pulmon de San Jose, cabe indicar que la Sabana mide 72 hectareas y en este esta ubicado el moderno Estadio Nacional. Ademas a tan solo 5 minutos de distancia de Multiplaza el centro comercial mas grande de Costa Rica en el cual se pueden encontrar mas de 300 tiendas. Tambien estamos a 10 minutos de atracciones turisticas como lo son el teatro nacional, museo de oro, museo de jade entre otros. Cerca de la embajada de los Estados Unidos, Espana, Holanda, Alemania entre otras. Somos un punto de partida hacia sus aventuras en Costa Rica ya sea la playa o montana. Contamos con 40 habitaciones, las cuales estan distribuidas en 25 habitaciones deluxe y 15 junior suites. Todas las habitaciones cuentan con escritorio, television por cable, radio despertador, telefono, caja de seguridad laptop size, minibar, coffee maker con cafe de cortesia diario. En los banos encontraran un espejo giratorio con aumento, secador de cabello, batas y amenities de gran calidad. Ademas las Junior Suites cuentan con un sofa cama, kitchenet con horno microondas y refrigerador pequeno para uso discrecional de nuestros clientes, pensando en la comodidad en una estancia prolongada. En nuestras instalaciones podra encontrar un gimnasio y jacuzzy climatizado. Nuestra recepcion se encuentra abierta las 24 horas, ofrecemos servicios de alquiler de automoviles, excursiones, pago de impuestos de salida, ademas de transporte gratuito hotel - aeropuerto bajo horarios preestablecidos. Todo el edificio cuenta con internet inalambrico gratuito con un ancho de banda de hasta 10 megas y en nuestro lobby tenemos dos maquinas para el uso de nuestros clientes que no traigan consigo su computador portatil, este servicio es tambien gratuito. En nuestras tarifas esta incluido el desayuno completo buffet y a la carta, el cual se sirve en nuestro restaurante etnico de 6am a 10 am. Ofrecemos el servicio de almuerzo y cena en nuestro restaurante con una gran variedad de platillos internacionales. Tambien contamos con tres salones para eventos con una capacidad maxima de hasta 50 personas, todos con servicio de internet individual al de nuestros huespedes, siempre pensando en que sus actividades no se vean afectadas por trafico de datos de terceros. Los salones todos cuenta con pantallas con conexiones HDMI de 50 pulgadas, ofrecemos en todas nuestras actividades o reuniones el uso de video beam gratuito, rotafolios y pizarras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Del Valle Hotel And Suites
Rincon Del Valle Hotel San Jose
Rincon Del Valle Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.