We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Save Saved
You added Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
“A Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Balmoral at the beginning and end of a private tour. I had developed a medical condition during our travels. When informed, the staff at the Balmoral immediately located emergency technicians, who came to our room, did an examination and attempted a treatment. The Balmoral staff stayed with us and provided interpretation, as we are not Spanish speakers. When my condition did not improve, the staff provided information about hospital services, and a person to walk us to a taxi just outside the door, and also facilitated our return. Fortunately, I was successfully treated and able to travel. Upon our return, the staff welcomed us and inquired about my condition and asked if there was anything I needed. We loved the restaurant there--beautiful environment and great Costa Rican and American food. Several beautiful shops, smaller cafes, lots of alcoves to sit in and visit or just read or relax, excellent and friendly staff everywhere. There is obvious security on site, even though this is a relatively safe part of the city. Great centralized location within walking distance of many attractions. Not fancy, but certainly very nice and comfortable. If I go back to San Jose in the future, I will definitely consider staying there again. Felt like home after being there for a week!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    176
    77
    21
    25
See reviews for
69
160
54
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central America
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Balmoral Hotel is located in central San Jose..On Central Ave...Central Ave. is a street that does not allow vehicles..pedestrian traffic only...the rooms are pleasant...with in walking distance of the Butterfly Sanctuary...The Gold Museum...The National Theater..and the central market...the staff ia among the best in San Jose...The Patio restaurant is part of the Balmoral..and has Latino and American cuisine...Would recommend it for anyone..for families it is Ideal..and the free as you like it breakfast is great......

Room Tip: Check with the staff...you may just get an upgrade.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice and comfortable room except every time i wanted to sit back against the wall on my bed, it would slide away a little :) and I had to push the bed back against the wall. Bathroom was clean and OK. Shower space was too little. Breakfast was excellent. Nice buffet. Cook can make on the spot anything you like to eat. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Balmoral - the facilities are totally modern and very nice. The wi-fi even worked as good as expected (for a hotel)

It really is a good location. The staff were all excellent we had no problems being gringo US english only people and were treated great by everyone.

The restaurant has really good food - the included breakfast buffet is great. For dinner the food is good -- but be prepared to pay US prices but it offers a great view of the pedestrian street outside.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, friendly staff, good food, nice rooms and easy access to the walking malls and great historic attractions! A little difficult to find if you are not familiar with the streets and walking boulevards of San Jose, but it all makes sense once you figure it out! A great value and safe, secure parking if you drive!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Balmoral hotel has an excellent location, in the center of San Jose, walking distance of tourist sites,shops and restaurants, Adriana at the front desk had our rooms and lunch ready for us when we arrived excellent food, the staff was very courteous. We thank Balmoral for their great hospitality and thank you Adriana for your a job well done :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Decent rooms, decent location, ugly entrance, but the principal reason for the terrible rating is that the front desk has no concept of customer service, whatsoever. They made an attempt to charge me for mini bar products that were not consumed, and would not accept my statement about the products not having been consumed. Additionally, the prices were extortionate even for a mini bar.
When I told reception I would be staying another night I was told I had to pay before I could re-enter my room, being treated as a virtual criminal.
There was no understanding of even the most basic requirements of customer service.
Lastly, a fairly miserable minimal buffet breakfast. Hard pancakes, mediocre pastries, no selection of fresh fruit, and cold coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmoral Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Balmoral Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.