We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our one-night stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Save Saved
You added Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Orosi, Costa Rica
1 review
“Enjoyed our one-night stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We live in Costa Rica about an hour and a half away from San Jose, but we didn't want to drive in and park overnight. We enjoyed our breakfast which had everything - Continental, American style and "Tico" style. Our room which had the economical rates was clean and comfortable. There is wifi, another computer to use, a gymnasium which we did not investigate, attractive surroundings and the hotel is close to everything in downtown. We had a great stay and a productive shopping trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    178
    81
    22
    25
See reviews for
73
163
57
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

To escape from New York City’s winter in January 2013, we returned to Costa Rica after two visits in 2011.

Our base city, San José, was conveniently located for day excursions to: the Tortuguero Canals, Manuel Antonio National Park, La Paz Waterfalls, Monteverde Cloud Forest and the Ram Luna Folklore Show.

After enjoying Hotel Balmoral in 2011, our choice of hotel was a “no-brainer”. We returned and were not disappointed.

Though located in a shabby downtown area on Avenida Central, this hotel represents an excellent choice, having gone through massive renovations in 2011. Our suite on the fifth floor was furnished with hardwood floors and earth-toned walls.The bedroom was spacious with a king-size bed, widescreen TV and a safe deposit box. Air-conditioning was accessible from remote control panel. The living room was large and beautifully furnished with a sofa, coffee table, work desk and chair, recliner for reading, a small table and a mini-bar. The bathroom was large with shower and a tab that converted into a mini Jacuzzi. It could use a rear-view mirror not susceptible to clouding up. Bathroom amenities included a hair-dryer, soap, shampoo, conditioners and ample shelf space.

Services are great at the Balmoral. Housekeeping provided cleaning and a fresh supply of extra towels daily, though a guilt-provoking sign on the wall encourages guests to re-use towels for environmental control. Foreign exchange and departure tax collection are no longer provided at the front desk. Still, the staff is friendly and informative and will get you a taxi on a short notice. Daniel, at the tour desk, provides good help with day excursions, restaurant reservations and travel advice.

A complimentary breakfast buffet was served daily between 6 and 9am at the El Patio Restaurant at street level. Food choices included Costa Rican foods such as: rice with black beans (Gallo Pinto), fried plantains, cheese, tropical fruits, and American/European foods such as: eggs made to order, bread, carrot cake and cinnamon buns. Drinks included water and orange juice that were left on the counter without cover or ice (=very bad) and hot coffee. The staff accepted requests for tea that took 10 minutes to fulfill. This menu needs change with more offerings, catering to the finicky American and European guests. Breakfast hours should be extended till 10 am to accommodate late-risers. El Patio Restaurant is open to outside diners and offers a good choice of cakes, hot and cold drinks, European and Costa Rican dishes. Prices, though, are high in comparison with other establishments in the area. Live music is provided on weekends.

The new business center at the Balmoral includes two computers, available complimentary for hotel guests. A new lavatory is conveniently located next to the business center. The ground floor has been renovated and has new shops with mini pharmacy, self-service candy shop and a gift shop. You may want to skip the fifth floor poorly-equipped Fitness Center altogether.

All-in-all our experience at the Hotel Balmoral was excellent and despite some credit card issues we shall return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Balmoral in San José, Costa Rica, for 12 days, checking out January 21, 2013. This was our third visit to that beautiful country and the second stay at the Balmoral.

For the most part, the Balmoral is an excellent choice, particularly if you intend to use the capital city as a base and to take one-day trips to the jungle safaris and other touristic locations. Balmoral is located in the dead center of the city, on the principal boulevard, Avenida Central.

Since Costa Rica is an inexpensive country, the rates at the hotel are fantastic. We shared a suite loaded with wood cabinets and closets, enough room to store just about all the stuff one accumulates at home. The wooden floors are gleaming, as though a coat of ice were placed above them, making them impervious to scratches. The maid service is phenomenal: not a speck of dust can be found in the suite. The room had a 32 inch TV with cable including HBO. Yet perhaps because we were there between high seasons—middle of January—we had this room for just $141 a night, and that included the 13% government tax.

The shower is terrific: strong current of water and thankfully not the European style “telephone” types. Hot water never gave out. Eight bath towels were provided for us.

The staff are great as well. Daniel, the concierge, fixed us up with trips to jungles and to a folklore show, aided by brochures a-plenty on the racks. This is a particular strength: we stayed during the past 9 months in Alicante, Spain, and Tirana, Albania, in five-star hotels including the Melia. There was no concierge at the announced desk at any time. The staff could not or would not speak much English and seemed hostile when compared to the friendly folks behind desks at the Balmoral.

The breakfast is filling but limited. Gallo Pinto (rice and beans wedded together), indifferent bread and pastries, eggs made to order albeit cooked to a rubber consistency, papaya, cantaloupe, watermelon, and coffee and tea. However, despite a renovation during the last year that put a few stores in the lobby (a candy emporium and a small pharmacy among them), the breakfast dining room featured more than half of its chairs as plain wood and just a few with upholstery. Your butt will thank you if you manage to sit in the latter. If you sit just behind the bar, you will not find upholstery on the seats: you would have to take a table. One wonders why the Balmoral could not have spent some more colones to match all the chairs with cushions.

There are two computers for guests’ use, but apparently unwilling to spend a few more colones, management still uses these machines manufactured in 2002 with Windows XP. One of the machines does not respond correctly to some keys including the @. (You have to ask the staff which key to depress for that important sign.) Behind the computers are two public restrooms. The men’s room automatic dryer had not worked all week. There are internet cafés a short walk away, charging under one dollar for an hour’s use.

The fitness center is a sad case. Five machines including a junior-size treadmill that did not function during the time we were there.

The hotel’s bar and restaurant, The Patio, is surprisingly expensive considering the reasonable rates of the rooms. A pizza comes to $20.

Weaknesses aside (all hotels have ‘em), Balmoral is a place to which we would enjoy returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. The price difference is small enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tambor, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I generally go into SJ once a month, and after being disappointed with where I normally stay, decided to give the Balmoral a try again. Very impressed with renovations, great location and the staff is great. Secure parking garage is a huge plus! Good breakfast is included in price. Restaurant prices are high though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Hotel was excellent. Staff was helpful, efficient and very courteous! Room was very nice. Shower was hot with very good pressure. The room was large, clean and well appointed. The room had a lot of closet space, nice amenities and spacious bathroom, including seperate large shower and bath tub. The restaurant was very nice. Excellent free Wifi & flat screen tv. The only downside is that the view is not very pretty, unless you stick your head out the balcony window to see the mountains. Location is PERFECT for seeing most of the key tourist sites!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallisaw, OK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at Balmoral the 8th and 9th of December. Check in was easy and quick, and the desk staff were helpful and friendly. Stay in the family room, which was spacious and well equipped. The beds are very hard. The suite had 2 bedrooms with king sized beds, two bathrooms, a living area with TV and little bitty coffee maker. There is a small safe for valuables. Internet is available in the lobby area. They have a little balcony with a street view, but, beware. The view is very limited to the immediate location. No room for a sitting space, no chairs or table for a morning coffee. You are not likely to get a panoramic view of the city in this hotel. Still, this is a nice hotel for relaxing and regrouping while exploring downtown.

The hotel is located on the paseo, just a block from the cultural plaza. This is in the heart of the city. It is easy walking distance to El Mercado, National Theater, banks, embassies, museums. It's all right there. The street life is amazing. The paseo and cultural plaza fill up quickly every day. The action begins at sunrise, and continues until past midnight. Their restaurant provides very good food, but he service is exceptionally slow. Prices have risen appreciably since our last visit, and the food is good. The hotel as a whole has improved in appearance, and a lot of work has gone in to upkeep. The food quality may be somewhat inferior to that of just a couple of years ago. I will say that the breakfast buffet is excellent, and that they provide a very good morning meal for guests.

The street life has suffered in the past few years. More beggars, more persistant. I appreciate the presence of La Policia on every corner. In several visits to downtown, I have never felt unsafe or uncomfortable. But the general feel on the street is going down hill. But, I concede, this is not the fault of Balmoral nor their responsibility. Just be careful when venturing very far away from the Hotel. Stick to the paseo from Balmoral to El Mercado.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA, Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was my second stay at the Balmoral - originally picked for its location and value. This trip I stayed 10 days while recovering from cosmetic surgery by the brilliant Dr. Arnoldo Fournier, San Jose's preeminent plastic surgeon. My superior room, was all that and then some - spacious, flat-screen TV, free WiFi, endless towels and buckets of ice - the chambermaids and front desk staff were wonderfully attentive and courteous. The complimentary breakfast buffet, served in the vast, new El Patio atrium is an amazing experience - eggs to order - heaps of fresh fruit - et al. Room rates start at $79. per night - which would easily be triple that in New Orleans and five times that in NYC. Unlike reviewer Liztiz1, I find the Balmoral location extremely congenial - two blocks from the Teatro Nacional, Grand Hotel Costa Rica's dining pavillion, and the teeming square, full of lively Ticos - and walking distance to all the museums. Overall, I'd say the upgrade to the Balmoral is very impressive to this experienced traveler, and I plan to return to it in the not so distant...

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quietest - except for the burbling pigeons, which sound I found reassuring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Balmoral Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.