We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
Balmoral Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica. We were in town as part of the Credomatic Music Festival. www.quattrosound.com We stayed in Balmoral for a few days. The rooms, restaurant and personnel were all top notch. The rooms were very clean. The menu selection in the restaurant was great. I really enjoyed the salmon dish with capers. Or, a bit more authentic dish..the ceviche was just as delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    219
    98
    23
    28
See reviews for
84
201
63
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vega Alta, Puerto Rico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great location. Breakfast was good. The staff was very helpful. This is not a luxury hotel but then again you are in the middle of San Jose, a very old crowded city. Rooms were clean and made everyday. A bit noisy if you are looking to sleep in late.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The service was great, the meals at the hotel restaurant were delicious with a very large menu, and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on a street that is all pedestrian with lots of shopping and restaurants. There is a gift shop at the street level of the hotel; the shop keeper and co-worker were particularly warm and welcoming, and their merchandise was very high quality and not higher priced than the marketplace where you have to deal with bargaining tourists and pushy merchants. I found this hotel very comfortable and easy; there is a great little coffee shop within the main restaurant, plus a bar upstairs with good atmosphere. Thank you for a wonderful stay, Balmoral!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The security at this hotel is very discrimitory. Maybe they don't like Americans but they made my traveling companion change clothes upon our arrival. Then I watched others walk out of the hotel with the ame or worse attire. Completely unacceptable......I thought I would get some resolution by telling them I was checking out but they didn't care. They were ready to take my key. This was not my first stay but it was my last.

Room Tip: if you are a female dress as if you are in Saudi Arabia and ask for a room facing the mall. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We flew into San Jose and stayed here for 2 nights. The presidential suite that we stayed in was larger than our apartment and really affordable. The breakfast buffet (included in our cost of the suite) was run by an amazingly talented chef. It was one of the best meals we had in the city. The front desk staff was kind, knowledgeable, and always helpful. You are in the center of San Jose and can walk everywhere. If you are going to San Jose, stay here!

Room Tip: Try the presidential suite. Affordable and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I been traveling to San Jose, Costa Rica 12 years now. A friend of mines recommended the Balmoral Hotel for me to stay back in 2002 from that year to now 2012 I only stay at the Balmoral.
They have the most friendly staff that take care of you when you get out of the taxi they grab your bags and take you to the check-in counter where the ladies behind the counter welcome you with a big smile. After checking in your bags are carried to your room and the cleaning ladies come to check on you to see if you need extra towel, soap, tooth paste, and so on...... they make sure your safe is working properly before they leave and if you need anything extra for mini bar in your room they will bring it. All bed linen are nice and clean and if you need anything extra they will bring it to you. The night shift Francisco team makes sure that if you need laundry done, wake up call, or help using their computer they will help steer you in the right direction. The guards on Francisco team watch for your safety exiting the taxi at night. Balmoral Hotel by far is the best hotel in San Jose to stay. I recommend anyone that is traveling to San Jose to stop by and meet the friendly staff and take a tour of the recently remodel rooms and hotel. I travel there at least 6 times a year and I stay with my 5 Star Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are remodel with new equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Like many travellers to Costa Rica, we spent just a short time in San Jose before adventuring to other parts of the country. We chose the Balmoral for its central location so that we could make the most of our very limited time in the city.

As a place to sleep, it did the job. Unfortunately, the air conditioning system was being serviced during our stay (which they didn't bother to tell us about until we received a note under the door in the room), so it was a bit uncomfortable but I assume this was not normal.

The room was a bit dreary. The only windows were small and faced other buildings, allowing only a minimal amount of light in and with absolutely no view of anything. The lamps had frayed cords and power outlets were limited (the combination of which meant a bit of a leap of faith, as we quickly unplugged a lamp in order to charge our mobile phones...).

For the price, I can't complain too much, though, since I wasn't actually electrocuted at any point.

Location was as promised. Easy walking distance to several main attractions downtown, located on the main pedestrian thoroughfare, and fairly direct ride from the airport. We rented a car from Thrifty, which has its downtown facility a walkable distance away, so that made getting out of the city easy too.

The breakfast was very good. Tasty food and a reasonable selection of items. Attentive and friendly staff, and a beautiful, comfortable atmosphere.

Wi-fi was limited to the lobby and did not have a very strong signal. Other services were pretty much non-existent, but I wasn't expecting anything.

Interestingly, the hotel seems to get worse the further you are from the public areas. The restaurant is spacious and lovely, the lobby is a little darker and smaller, the hallways upstairs are darker still, and then the room was less comfortable again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Balmoral Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.