We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prima choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave | P.O. Box 538, Calle Blancos, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Santiago
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Prima choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent one night by end April, 3 rooms. The hotel is very good and the service alike. It is well located, not far from downtown, although not much to see in San Jose. We had our own rented cars so moving around was easy, but taxis are fair enough. It has a good pool and an apparent good spa we didn't use. We were on a ione night stop n our way to manuel Antonio.

Rooms are comfortable and the restaurant fine. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr Ricardo Leon

It's good to know he had a first class stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to write about our hotel! We hope you visit us again soon!

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest Service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    108
    45
    9
    7
See reviews for
36
64
30
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed a lot of different Radisson hotels over the last few years, mostly on business. But the San Jose Radisson is without doubt the best. The service is excellent, the staff is friendly and professional. I want to highlight the gym which is the best I have encountered in any hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr Tomas:

, It's good to know he had a first class stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to write about our hotel! We hope you visit us again soon!

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

our first night in San Jose, Costa Rica we stayed at this very safe and beautiful property. I was very pleased. the rooms were great, food was great, and service was good.

if you call the hotel they will set up a taxi, shuttle for a good price. the pool and the grounds were kept nice. our group enjoyed walking around and wanted to go swimming we just didnt have the time.

the room was a very nice size and bathroom was fine.

if we ever have to go back to San Jose, Costa Rica we will just stay at the Radisson.

Room Tip: Dont forget to eat your free breadfast buffet before you leave on your adventure , the food was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear ttfncop:

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, 2 adult & 2 children.

Positive; breakfast, wi-fy in room, the garden and pool area( water was a bit cold in swimming pool, staff if helpful and speak good English. TV,rooms are well isolated,

Negative: our room was over furnished, lots of useless things, chairs, cables, half broken iron board, when so many things and only 1 window we felt a bit pressed in a room (we stayed in 2 floor in business area),mini fridge was not clean and packed, the staff change towels even if we hang them up, the plug for bathtub did not work well and ventilation in bathroom was poor, we had room service, and the staff disappeared with our credit card for at least 30 min, and when we called to ask for it, they said they were waiting to bring it up because they had another order.

Overall ok hotel, it was our last days in Costa Rica and we spent most time at the mall anyway. But can need some modernization at least in room.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 floor business area, but ask for a room facing the back yard, not the high way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear shakypaky:

It has been an honor to have had him with us during your recent stay in San Jose, Costa Rica. We gratefully read their comments, and that inspire us to continue working to make every day a unique experience for our guests.
Also we want to make the apologies for the inconvenience that was so in the room as the problem with the payment of your room service, we are taking the necessary measures for this type of situation does not happen again with our team.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guets service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked this hotel as it appeared to be within walking distance from the center of San Jose; We wanted to do some sightseeing for a couple of days prior to driving to a rainforest resort. The Radisson grounds and accommodations are well maintained and picturesque; the food and service are excellent. It appears to be a convention hotel, with a variety of meeting rooms everywhere. There is even a casino on the property that appears to draw locals for the evenings. Our first room was near the front side of the hotel, and on one of the main roads of the city. The constant truck noise was annoying and we asked to be relocated to another room for the second night. The staff gladly complied with our request and it made for a much better experience. I am a fan of Radisson hotels(not too sure about the reviewers who have had problems with the safes) and this one(with the exception of the truck noise) is of a recommendable quality.

Room Tip: Just be careful of rooms adjacent to the outside road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr TravlinSpeecher:

It is a great pleasure to greet you and thank you for choosing us for your stay in San Jose, by all the staff and my own thank you for your magnificent comment and rate 4 star all here hope to have the opportunity to have you again to thus be able to exceed your expectations on a next visit to this area and this your hotel.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The most amazing stay I have experienced in all my world travels. Great value for money and sheer luxury at every turn. The food and service was excellent and the rooms very comfortable with all expected amenities of a hotel chain of this caliber. The staff were friendly, courteous, and very helpful. Convenient hotel taxis located within the premises which is a stone throw away from the nightlife and city sights. I highly recommend the business class foor upgrade with free coffee, breakfast, juices, drinks, and snacks located right on the business floor away from the normal crowds at breakfast and during the say. Great live nightly entertainment at the local coffee bar in a very relaxing and fun environment.

Room Tip: Upgrade to business floor for a small amount to benefit from added luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr Mikecoss:

On behalf of all staff and mine own we thank you for having chosen layer for your stay in San Jose, also thank you for the qualification of 5 stars and the great comments about our services. The truth hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us to exceed your expectations so a next visit to this area and this your hotel.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over the july 4th holiday. On my 3rd day there, i left the room for about 4 hours to see the city and I put my valuables in the safe and cash as well. When I returned my code for the safe would not work, so I had to call hotel security to come open the safe for me. When they opened the safe I noticed that $200 in cash was missing. Hotel security performed what they called in an "investigation" which took only 30 minutes. They returned saying no one entered the room except for house keeping and the guy that fills up the minibar. They said that no employees can access the safe without having two representatives from hotel security present. I know my cash was stolen by someone within the hotel staff! They refused to provide any help in this matter and said that there is no evidence of this. Obviously, this is a scam set up by their own security and therefore can not be held liable if no proof is evident. I suggest not leaving any valuables in the safe and bringing your own lock to lock your bags. I noticed this has happened to someone else in an other review I have read. Otherwise the hotel is decent for its price, but if your cash is stolen then it is very costly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr Patel
This is to say hello and apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay, with respect to their com lost money before you tell the security department who was responsible for conducting research on the loss did not find any kind of evidence that some hotel collaborator has subtracted the money from the safe and as I mentioned we had opening safes involves a procedure that only supervisors and security departments housekeeper has access to this procedure, if any of the relevant departments have found some anomaly the hotel had been made responsible for lost, unfortunately not found any evidence of his accusation without the necessary foundations prevents us provide possible assistance.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest Service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Address: Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave | P.O. Box 538, Calle Blancos, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a convenient location near the historic city center, the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica offers comfortable accommodations in the city's vibrant financial, commercial and government district. The hotel is also close to major attractions including the National Theatre, Golden Museum and a range of shopping and dining options. While staying with us, you will enjoy on-site amenities such as a Fitness Center, Executive Lounge, an on-site casino, spacious meeting rooms and two restaurants - everything you need for a truly exceptional hotel stay. Reserve your stay online today and experience the comfort and convenience of the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Europa Hotel San Jose
Radisson Europa Hotel And Conference Center
Radisson San Jose
San Jose Radisson
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.