We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has seen better days..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave | P.O. Box 538, Calle Blancos, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hotel has seen better days..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am not sure if I was given an old room or if there is newer rooms. The room I was given was not good, you could see serious wear and tear on the furniture and walls. One of the curtains was missing so I had half my room open to the street. This rooms was also on the side to a road, which is used 24hrs, not the best sleeping experience.

Other than this we had a decent stay, hotel has free wi-fi and breakfast was very good. Hotel taxis are very good and its in a nice location of San Jose. It has a small but functional golds gym.

My recommendation would be to make sure you get a new room or an interior rooms that is not facing the street.

Room Tip: Choose a interior room that is not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

By all staff of Radisson San Jose, we offer the most sincere apologies for the inconvenietes you had during your stay with us, whether they are taking the necessary actions for this type of situation does not re-occur in the future, and I appreciate your comments as this makes us see what we are failing and so improve for a next visit the area can exceed expectations next theirs as visitors.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest Service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 EXT 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    111
    45
    9
    7
See reviews for
40
67
30
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

7 days in San Jose, thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Excellent breakfast, very good gym facilities, free wifi throughout the hotel. Close to lots of good restaurants. Staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose

Dear Sellick:

On behalf of all the staff of our hotel we thank for their punctuation of 5 stars, we are extremely grateful all hope to have you back here soon, and to exceed your expectations in this area next visit.

sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 EXT5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

On Gateway 1 tour of Costa Rica and found Tripadvisor's "Prolio" quite helpful. Got public bus he was talking about from airport, enjoyed ride to bus terminal and found taxi. Driver asked for 2000 mill($4) and went a block or two and stopped at strange hotel. Not the Radisson Europa Gate 1 was advertising, for sure! Left cab without paying and hailed another. Got in it, and he wasn't sure either where the Radisson Europa was. After siding up to another taxi, and thanks to English-speaking Costa Rican in it, cabbie was able to finally understand where I wanted to go. Cost me 3000 mill($6) when getting there after one more block or two. Found out from bell hop at hotel, I should have asked for the "Radisson Costa Rica" and not the Radisson Europa! Prolio?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose

From the entire staff of Radisson we thank you for the qualification of 5 stars, this makes us improve and give our best, we hope to have the opportunity to return to this country and your hotel.
Thank you very much.

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-600
EXT 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I primarily came to San Jose to have dental work done-I brought my 15 yr old son so that he could see CR on our down time.The entire experience with the Radisson was wonderful. The staff was amazing, at times going above and beyond to help (esp with me coming and going). The amenities were great as well, our room was clean and quiet and super comfortable, and a lot to do outside of the room ...both my son & I felt like it was a home away from home, even more relaxing :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms, are very quiet and secluded but close enough to the amenities on the 1st floor to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Gavrielah
thank you for your 5-punctuation to our hotel from the entire staff of our hotel we appreciate your choice and look forward to his upcoming visit in the area.
Thanks
Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Radisson San Jose
Tel:2010-6000 ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Hotel, great, location excellent, service average, restaurant terrible, beds need to be changed - too old.
The front desk average, with good english speaking, the restaurant "Colores" inside the Hotel, really bad, soups cold, service between dishes to long, no to much lights.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great, the problem with room 2030, the bed. Old, the mattress with a strong smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica


Dear Mr Luis:

I appreciate your punctuation 4 stars on our hotel, always waiting for his next visit this area, with respect to your comments we have dealt with the food and beverage department of the drawbacks in the restaurant watercolors, and measures are being taken necessary for this type of situation is not resubmitted with our team.
thanks again for having chosen hope will soon.

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Radisson Hotel San Jose
Tel: 2010-6000 ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights and the rooms were very large and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and we also ate one night in the restaurant and the food was good, but kind of expensive. It was walking distance to downtown without feeling you were that close. Nice little casino attached to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Google Translation
Saludos desde Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Estimado Sr: Grammora

La presente es para saludarle y agradecerle por sus maravilloso comentario y su calificación de 4 estrellas, todo el personal de nuestro hotel esta sumamente agradecido por habernos elegido para su estancia en San Jose, deseamos tener la oportunidad de tenerle nuevamente con nosotros y así poder superar sus propias expectativas en una próxima visita a esta zona.

Sinceramente

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Found the hotel on expedia without really knowing what to expect and was totally surprised! got a great big room which literally had everything, service was kind and helpfull, and breakfast had a good variety.
Only two small things kept it from being completely perfect:
1.Location, not the best area, understood it's a major issue in San Jose all around.
2.Stream in the shower was very weak.

other then that highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Address: Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave | P.O. Box 538, Calle Blancos, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a convenient location near the historic city center, the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica offers comfortable accommodations in the city's vibrant financial, commercial and government district. The hotel is also close to major attractions including the National Theatre, Golden Museum and a range of shopping and dining options. While staying with us, you will enjoy on-site amenities such as a Fitness Center, Executive Lounge, an on-site casino, spacious meeting rooms and two restaurants - everything you need for a truly exceptional hotel stay. Reserve your stay online today and experience the comfort and convenience of the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Europa Hotel San Jose
Radisson Europa Hotel And Conference Center
Radisson San Jose
San Jose Radisson
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.