We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to the Costa Rica experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave | P.O. Box 538, Calle Blancos, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Promotion 15% OFF
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great start to the Costa Rica experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Found the hotel on expedia without really knowing what to expect and was totally surprised! got a great big room which literally had everything, service was kind and helpfull, and breakfast had a good variety.
Only two small things kept it from being completely perfect:
1.Location, not the best area, understood it's a major issue in San Jose all around.
2.Stream in the shower was very weak.

other then that highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    131
    55
    12
    8
See reviews for
52
76
35
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed 3 single nights on a trip through Costa Rica. Rooms are large and very nice. Restaurant is surprisingly good for a Hotel. The only drawback is that location is a bit out of the way of central district. It is walkable but we took a cab. Cabs very inexpensive. The ones at hotel will give you their card and pick you up later when you call them .

Very good full Hot Breakfast Buffett . Gym is shared as part of Gold Gym. Pools and hot tub not heated . Small Casino attached. Good Internet response and included

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Hrw 1953

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica and I found it to be near perfect. I was there on business and didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel but the services that I did access were top notch. The WiFi worked perfectly from day one and never flagged. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was certainly 5-star. This hotel would be my first choice for business or pleasure the next time I am in San Jose. My only complaint: there was no BBC World Service and the CNN International feed seemed more like a domestic feed and didn't work all the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Mr Gibson

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for four nights. We had a business meeting there. The staff were lovely and the event team was one of the best I have dealt with. Everything highly organised. They also went far beyond the call of duty to help me out on some emergencies. The event manager was fantastic (I don't have her name). Two negatives - location is not good - it is away from shops etc, you have to drive. Secondly we saw a few cockroaches including one that strolled across the table during lunch! Maybe normal in a warm climate and the hotel is quite old, but I would have expected a better standard from the Radisson.,

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica


On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is your standard Radisson Hotel, with a beautiful pool and many water areas on the property. I stayed here on the first and last night of a tour of Costa Rica and was very happy with my room. The property is laid out so that it's very hard to find room numbers and I never found any elevators for upper rooms. I had two Sleep Number beds in my room. One was very comfortable but the other one would not hold pressure. The other amenities in the room were standard, with the exception of a very nice iPod dock that came in handy charging my iPhone.

The bar doesn't open until very late in the afternoon, and the room information says the breakfast restaurant is open from 6AM to 6PM but it is only open for breakfast. They have a nice selection of food at breakfast buffet, but not great compared to other world hotels. The entire property is fenced off and guarded so it made me not want to leave on foot to see what was nearby. The front desk was helpful when I had any questions.

Room Tip: You can pay the hotel front desk your SJO airport exit tax of $28 in advance. That saved me lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Deeply regret the inconvenience you had during your stay we notified relevant departments to take necessary actions to ensure that such situations do not happen again in your next visit


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights as part of our 10 days tour of Costa Rica. Probably one of the best hotel in San Jose. My wife was sick the first night we were there, the staff was more than helpful. Especially Melissa at the front desk. Breakfast buffet was very good. We ordered room service twice, good food both times. Nice and comfortable room, with decent amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

All in all I think this is a good choice for a night or so in S.J., C.R. We stayed here after a flight for a winter vacation.
Beers are way overpriced at $4. each. And the hallways are endless, twists and turns with no signage to find your way to the lobby, I actually got lost and could not find my room.
Pillows are fluffy but then go flat and I was very uncomfortable. Sleep number beds, that's a nice choice.

Room Tip: Do not get at the end of the hall or you will be 10 minutes walk from the lobby if you need help and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica


On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Jose Pablo Zarzosa Mora
Guest Service Manager
Radisson Costa Rica
20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Address: Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave | P.O. Box 538, Calle Blancos, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a convenient location near the historic city center, the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica offers comfortable accommodations in the city's vibrant financial, commercial and government district. The hotel is also close to major attractions including the National Theatre, Golden Museum and a range of shopping and dining options. While staying with us, you will enjoy on-site amenities such as a Fitness Center, Executive Lounge, an on-site casino, spacious meeting rooms and two restaurants - everything you need for a truly exceptional hotel stay. Reserve your stay online today and experience the comfort and convenience of the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Europa Hotel And Conference Center
Radisson Europa Hotel San Jose
Radisson San Jose
San Jose Radisson
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.