We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out of town but safe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave | P.O. Box 538, Calle Blancos, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HOLIDAY PROMO - SAVE 20%
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A bit out of town but safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights while on a GATE 1 tour to Costa Rica (by the way, GATE 1 tours are absolutely amazing and well priced so look in to this too if interested). The front desk staff is polite, efficient and got everything done so quickly. It was a nice intro to the country. The hotel is out of the way - you need to take a taxi to get to the city center but there are always taxis waiting outside and the car ride should be no more than $5 - only takes around 8 minutes.

I was traveling alone but even if I wasn't the room was big enough for two with lovely decor and nice flat screen TV. Added bonus is the extremely comfy sleep number bed - I could have slept the day away if allowed! There was interesting sepia colored art on the walls from another era and I enjoyed looking at it. While the hotel was away from the center, I felt safe so that was a good feeling.

There was a casino in which I only went in to get some change for smaller bills. Also a pool outside which seemed relaxing with some Zen gardens. Didn't get to go in it because it was raining but I liked looking at it. The breakfast here was delicous and the omelette station was the best part. Fruit was fresh and yummy.

When I had to leave the hotel at 3:30 am for my flight back, the staff was awake, alert and wished me Pura Vida (and my GATE 1 aiport van was there right on time!!!)

Room Tip: Ask for one close to the lobby as it can get confusing navigating through the hallways
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_CRSanJose, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear travelchick627,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am really glad that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. It is always nice to know we are doing things right. I also appreciate that you took the time to write and post your comments. On behalf of our team thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Have a nice day!

Best wishes,

Mauricio Luna Arce.
Revenue Coordinator
Tel: 506-20106000
Email: mluna@radisson.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    146
    62
    13
    8
See reviews for
54
84
38
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nfm
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is large with a huge breakfast buffet. The rooms were great with small table and desk The beds were sleep number beds to promote a great sleep. The ballroom floor was a beautiful wood excellent to dance on.

Room Tip: I was on first floor with good view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_CRSanJose, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear merceede,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Also on behalf of our future guests, thank you for the great description and tips you included in your post. I feel thrilled because I know we exceeded your expectations. I hope we will get an opportunity to serve you again soon!

Best wishes,

Mauricio Luna Arce.
Revenue Coordinator
Tel: 506-20106000
Email: mluna@radisson.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed three nights as part of a convention. My room (2027) was spacious and well equipped, however, there was a “moldy” smell in the air when entering the room. Bed was really comfortable, it had a control for changing the firmness of the mattress. Great for a business trip if the location works for you. Wireless internet is free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_CRSanJose, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Juan Luis C,

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our beds. Just to let you know they are called Sleep Number Beds and are exclusively designed for Radissons´ hotels. I hope you have the chance to enjoy them again soon! It was our pleasure to serve you. Have a great day!

Best wishes,
Mauricio Luna Arce.
Revenue Coordinator
Tel: 506-20106000
Email: mluna@radisson.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a very good hotel with a beautiful pool area, eating areas, and well appointed rooms. Friendly staff and very clean. Was here only one night but could have stayed a week to relax. I highly recommend staying here. Shopping Mall is across the street too. Only down side was that room walls were a little thin so you could here from the next room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_CRSanJose, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Pommard2011,

Our Radisson team is really pleased with all of your comments. Thank you for letting us know what we are doing right and wrong. It’s always our pleasure to serve you, hopefully more than one night in your next visit to San José!

Best regards,

Mauricio Luna Arce.
Revenue Coordinator
Tel: 506-20106000
Email: mluna@radisson.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. Very spacious and inviting. The staff is courteous, sharply dressed, and most of them speak English. I was on business, so I don't have any information on the tourist side of it, but they were wonderful for my needs. Good breakfast in the morning, nice bar, beautiful pool and outdoor areas to enjoy. Be sure to pay your exit tax at the hotel before you leave the country - this will save a long line that you would have to stand in at the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_CRSanJose, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Tabby_D_1271,

Thank you so much for all your positive comments. They make us keep on working hard everyday to be able to get them. Your tip about the taxes is excellent for the rest of the travelers, we appreciate it!
I hope we will get an opportunity to serve you again.

Have a wonderful day,

Mauricio Luna Arce.
Revenue Coordinator
Tel: 506-20106000
Email: mluna@radisson.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were working in a suburb of San José and our office placed us here. We were somewhat captive as we worked most of the day and did not feel like going anywhere in the evenings. We stayed on the 4th floor which was their executive floor. We were given two bottles of water the first night and that was it. From then on we had to get our own water. The floor had its own mini breakfast bar, soft drinks, beer and snacks in the late afternoon and a small gym as well as apples available in a bowl all the time. However, the regular hotel amenities were good as well. There was a Gold's gym attached to the hotel that hotel residents could use. The breakfast that came with our room rate was fine. It had an omelette station, dry cereal, fruit, rice & beans, some tico dishes, scrambled eggs, pastries, bread, and juice. We ate our dinners in the hotel as well. The dinners were large portioned. The bar had a selection of foods that were cheaper and sufficed for our dinner. The downside of the bar was they played music videos that were (for us) loud and less than desirable (most of the time) for us to watch. The woman at the travel desk was very helpful in planning our weekend. The desk personnel and the porters were nice and pleasant and always willing to assist us. We stayed there for 12 days. The hotel was not within walking distance of anything, but we survived on what was within the hotel as we were working most days.

Room Tip: We stayed on the "concierge" floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_CRSanJose, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear larlen,

I’m so glad that your weekend was successfully planed by our staff. I appreciate all of your comments. The amenities descriptions are really useful for all the travelers, thanks! We´re taking note about the music videos played at the bar so we can offer variety for everyone. We don’t want our Guests to have an unpleasant time during their stay, much less at our bar! What kind of videos would you like to see in your next visit?

Thank you again for your review.

Mauricio Luna Arce.
Revenue Coordinator
Tel: 506-20106000
Email: mluna@radisson.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This time I decided to stay in a hotel belonging to an American chain. and truth, the service was excellent! the greenness of this country is impressive. This time I went on business to San Jose and I was fortunate to meet match really good and kind people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_CRSanJose, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear anthony g,

On behalf of all the Radisson team of San Jose Costa Rica we want to thank you for staying with us. We are really proud to say that your satisfaction is our pleasure. We look forward to serve you again on your next trip.

Best wishes,
Mauricio Luna Arce.
Revenue Coordinator
Tel: 506-20106000
Email: mluna@radisson.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Address: Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave | P.O. Box 538, Calle Blancos, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a convenient location near the historic city center, the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica offers comfortable accommodations in the city's vibrant financial, commercial and government district. The hotel is also close to major attractions including the National Theatre, Golden Museum and a range of shopping and dining options. While staying with us, you will enjoy on-site amenities such as a Fitness Center, Executive Lounge, an on-site casino, spacious meeting rooms and two restaurants - everything you need for a truly exceptional hotel stay. Reserve your stay online today and experience the comfort and convenience of the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Europa Hotel And Conference Center
Radisson Europa Hotel San Jose
Radisson San Jose
San Jose Radisson
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.