We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo San Jose Palacio to your Saves list
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Residencial El Robledal | Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 38% discount
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean, safe, and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have stayed at the Palacio twice now and enjoyed both visits. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are well appointed, the staff is courteous and friendly, and the amenities are excellent. They have a very nice pool, several restaurants and bars, a casino, spa, and beautiful grounds to walk around in. The "Cafeteria" has a nice breakfast buffet and dinner buffets. The food is typical for buffets in that the food is good, but not great. There is a good variety of choices with lots of local favorites. Prices are reasonable as well. The hotel is a short $10-$15 cab ride from downtown, and there are many excursions you can take directly from the hotel. I would happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Soccer Stadium as the other side of the hotel faces the roof of the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Receive our greetings. It’s wonderful for all of our staff here at Barcelo San Jose Palacio to know that your stay with us was so pleasing.

We are very pleased to know that our place was to your liking, nice for us that all the accommodations and facilities were well received from you and that you enjoyed eating in our restaurants.
We will make sure to pass along your amazing reviews to our different departments.

We are looking forward you come back soon. We will be very pleased to provide to you another wonderful stay.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran.
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    238
    115
    28
    35
See reviews for
74
186
52
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham. Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hotel services was average, I order a room service at 12 midnight and after one hour I call again, they tell me that they where nocking at my door but in reality they where looking on another room, after some minutes I get my food. Also they never clean the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I received excellent service in the restuarant from Yorleny Medrano, Marcia Salinas,Ericka Salinas and Esteban Alvarable. They service with a smile and made us feel right at home. I would go back again and again. This was our third stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Beautiful gardens and pool area. Love the poolside hammocks. Rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. Very nice buffet breakfast. Many flowers and birds in the gardens. We were lucky enough to see a Toucan in the pool area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We spent just over a month in Costa Rica and decided to end our trip here because of the breakfast and shuttle ride to the airport which are included in the price.
My husband and I were traveling with our three girls, all under 10 years old. Finding a hotel room that can accommodate us all can be tricky! The Barceló had an awesome room that was just under 1000 sq feet with two bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, 3 TV's, a desk w/printer, and two loveseats. What more could we ask for?
We went with the Premium room (totally worth it!) and unlimited wine, beer, coffee/espresso, snacks, breakfast, and airport shuttle were included.
The ONLY reason this hotel didn't get a 5 star rating from me was because I had to ask 3 times over a 4 hour period to get a 5th robe. That's a little annoying.
Our rooms were very clean and the beds were amazing!
The pool is absolutely beautiful, but as others have said...cold.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Caravan tour so I can't comment regarding cost. The hotel had king or twin queen beds, wonderful native hard wood furniture, a great bathroom, and a large private patio. The air conditioner was quite and very effective. The bed was wonderful.

We ate in the buffet which served at dinner 35-40 items including a selection of 6 fish, beef and chicken dishes, 8 assorted salads and 12 make your own salad fixings, 8-10 deserts, and coffee, tea, and milk. I am not sure about beer and wine. The food was displayed artfully with hot foods hot and cold foods cold.

The public areas were spacious, elegantly furnished, and quite pleasant. I found the staff helpful and attentive. This hotel had none of the city hassles such as honking horns, drivers with a death wish, bright lights, and shiny glitz. If you want that, look somewhere else.

I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great hotel. I would stay there again. We were not fortunate to hear the piano in the lobby being played. The wifi worked, and the landscaping was beautiful. Nice nature walk. Just a tip-do not exchange money at the US airport as there is a charge. The Costa Rica airport does not charge a fee. Most everywhere I went (on tour) accepted US dollars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo San Jose Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Address: Residencial El Robledal | Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo San Jose Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo San Jose Palacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.