We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Save Saved
You added Barcelo San Jose Palacio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Residencial El Robledal | Uruca, San Jose 458-1150 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed on the Club Level in a suite 2 nights. Food and room service was good. Service was very good and the hotel was nice and clean. Great beds. Nice garden and pool. Very pleased with the Barcelo chain and have stayed with them in Guatemala City. Airport shuttles on the hour and a short commute to airport. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest:

On behalf of the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio we are pleased to hear that your stay with us was gratifying. We put our best effort on this daily because our guests are our priority.

We thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing Barceló San José Palacio. We hope that you continue to use our Hotel for your lodging needs in the near future. We look forward to serving you again in your next trip.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    194
    94
    25
    30
See reviews for
57
152
44
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed for a week. The internet connection was spotty. Sometimes it worked great but most of the time it was very slow or sporadic. Had to logoff computer to log phone on. Couldn't use internet connection on phone and computer at the same time. Rooms were average. Breakfast had a lot of selections but was average quality. The restaurants in the hotel were very expensive. Complimentary airport shuttle was nice. Need a taxi to go anywhere which is at least $10 each way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Breakfast buffet at Ánfora Restaurant was excellent!
Hotel staff was corteous and friendly.
Food prices are very good. I really appreciated the daily free bottle of water in the room.
Miyako Restaurant food was very good and the staff was very pleasing.
Rancho Bar & Grill serves great Ceviche.
Cleanliness of the room was excellent.
Ana and Jenny from the Spa and Beauty Salon are great! Excellent pedicure and hair drying. Good price also.
Swimming pool area is nice and very clean.
Location is isolated; however, there is always transportation available (expensive). On the other hand, it is close to the airport and it is very accesible by car from the Pan-American Highway.

Room Tip: It is a great choice at a great price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constant Traveller
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Well, dear reader, this was a disappointment. I had high hopes for this hotel because my local customer arranged the reservation and spoke highly of the place. But instead "Alex B" and "Antonio M" have it exactly right -- it is merely an OK place to stay,and but it has a lot of work to do before it even gets close to being a top choice.

I can confirm the hotel is 20 minutes or so from the airport, maybe US$25 without a lot of traffic, and Antonio M is dead-on about the bad service offered by the shuttle. The hotel is relatively isolated, on a hill without any shops or other facilities near-by. So be ready to pay some big $$$ for taxi rides or rental cars, to go anywhere. Walking simply is not an option.

The building is an odd structure, with yellow panels creating a "saw-tooth" exterior (see photo). But the result are large and interestingly-shaped guest rooms with big windows and excellent views. The lobby also is very large, with a big bar and casino on one end, and a massive casual dining room and a Japanese restaurant on the other end. In the middle is the check-in counter and a piano, which is played every evening by a talented older gent. So -- in terms of physical structure, I was very pleased and optimistic.

Ah, but then it goes down hill -- so fast, and so sad!

My room was barely clean enough to be acceptable. While the bed was comfy and the pillows very nice, the bathroom is old-fashioned and cramped. There was mold in the shower. I was given one tiny bar of soap for the whole week. The noise of trucks on the highway blasts through the windows all day and night. The carpets were not vacuumed daily -- I spilled some ground coffee one morning, and it was two days before it was vacuumed up. Some days I was missing some of the towels. And the glasses and coffee cups were not cleaned/replaced every day.

This hotel also suffers from a lack of staff. My card key stopped working one day, and I waited 20 minutes for the one over-worked desk clerk to work through the line of people to burn me a new card key. Service in the restaurants is sporadic and uneven -- nice enough people; they just don't ever come around with more coffee or the check. The bar on a busy night has just two servers, when they should have 4-5. So be prepared to wait.

As for the restaurants themselves, in the casual dining room the food was only mediocre. At breakfast, you will find the fruit is fresh and local; but the rice & beans are cooked hard; the scrambled eggs are mealy-looking and even cooked-to-order eggs were runny and not tasty. After five days of bad breakfasts, I was desperate to find a McDonald's or something! I did have lunch with a customer in the restaurant, and we ordered pizzas and they were very tasty, but they took almost 40 minutes to arrive. **sigh**

Other key elements also were lacking. I would have preferred a better, high-def TV with more channel choices -- no CNN? No BBC? That's the basics! Plus, a faster and more reliable WIFI, that permits more than one device to be logged in at a time -- it is incredibly annoying to have one's email disconnected on your laptop, lets say, because you want to read CNN on your iPad or check the weather on your smart phone. Come on, guys -- most hotels permit 3-4 devices on one log-in. It's the 21st century, for god's sake!

One night, for some variety, I ate in the Japanese restaurant and it was very good, but dinner for four nearly hit US$200, so it should have been top-drawer.

The bar is adequate and fine, but the same lack of staff makes service there a real struggle when the crowds move in after 5 pm.

So all in all, I will not be back... there are better places to spend $100 a night, more conveniently located and more dedicated to keeping me happy; and I'm going to find them for you (and me!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located about 25 minutes from the main airport. It is on a hill so no walking from this place. What ever you decide to do, you will need a taxi.
Breakfast and food service is not the best. Selection of food is not really good for international tourists.
Japanese restaurant in the hotel is very good although it opens only for dinner. Service at that restaurant is very good.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
Service in general is very good at the front desk and at restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stay at this hotel on the last night of our week long trip to Costa Rica. The hotel is very clean, staff is very nice. The free buffet breakfast is pretty good, too! The room is comfortable and it comes equipped with bathroom essentials (including a shower cap, if you forget yours ;). Its about a 10 minute drive to Multiplaza Escazu - huge mall!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beware of the advertised airport shuttle. Even though I called the hotel twice, I had to wait for it for more than two hours. The excuse was simply "heavy traffic". Strangely enough, shuttles from other hotels passed by two or three times while I waited. Staff not nice at all. Since I had booked through EXPEDIA I was told that I was not entitled to have free wireless internet, and I was charged $ 20.00 for a 48-hour card. My complaints that the air conditioning was not working properly were simply ignored.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo San Jose Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Address: Residencial El Robledal | Uruca, San Jose 458-1150 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose Palacio 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Barcelo San Jose Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo San Jose Palacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.