We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice pool, great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Save Saved
You added Barcelo San Jose Palacio to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Residencial El Robledal | Uruca, San Jose 458-1150 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Bremen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice room, nice pool, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent there only one night, the first one of a great three week vacation around Costa Rica. Our plane landed around 7 pm and we didn't want to spend time looking for a hotel at night.

The room was very very big and clean. The bathroom as well. Nice facilities and toletries. Rooms are a bit old, but it is ok for Costa Rican standards.

The breakfast is more than worthy, amazing. Not only all the fresh fruit you can imagine but a cook making the eggs they way you like.

Parking lot easy accesible and gratis. WiFi connection worked properly.

I enjoyed being here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

The Hotel Barceló San José Palacio is very proud to know that your stay was exceeding in your expectations!!! Thank you for let us know what you think about the Hotel, and make your suggestions. That’s always the best way to grow as a company.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica. It’s wonderful that you like our rooms; they are very comfortable and always clean. Talking about food service, we know that you ask for quality, good flavor, advance techniques, so we hope that you receive everything, enjoying and exceeding your expectations too.

Barcelo is trying to improve every single day, we want be your option if you wish come back soon. we will keep on your service, waiting to be your host once and again to create another amazin experience

Best regards,



Adriana Durán
Guest Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    192
    94
    24
    30
See reviews for
58
152
44
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosario
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel has a good location close to the airport and a few good American restaurants. The best thing about it is by far the swimming pool and gym; but regarding the rooms they are extremely outdated (you will feel like in the 80s). There are better options in the same area, like the Hampton Inn for example.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting from Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel. We do appreciate your comments. It helps our company to grow every single day.

We know that you enjoyed our pool area, is wonderful and relaxing , next to the amazing garden, its the remarcable way to get our guest´s best experience.

Now we are making some renovations on the structure, rooms, and the entertainment areas so the hotel will be more comfortable for our guest.

We are also very thankful to have been your host in Costa Rica, and we expect be your choise again if you wish come back some day.

Thank you again for your comments, is very important for us know your opinion, it improves our staff and our compromise to be as good as we can.


Best regards,



Adriana Durán
Guest Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Good - felt very safe, lots of dining options, fantastic breakfast buffet, lovely pool area, good size rooms, comfy beds

Bad - older property, pool not heated, staff don't speak much English, no food or shopping within walking distance, this property is a conference centre so at breakfast one morning the restaurant was jam packed with people, the line ups for food were huge!

Our stay at the Barcelo was quite nice. It was the end of our vacation in Costa Rica and it was nice to stay somewhere very comfy. We were disappointed that the pool was not heated and when we were there it was far too cold to get in. I was also surprised that the staff barely spoke English. Not that I expect everyone to speak English. But in Costa Rica almost everyone we met were able to speak at least a fair amount.

Make sure you request a non smoking room. We were put in a smoking room and it was pretty gross.

The hotel was about 15-20 minutes from the airport so a good jumping off hotel to be able to catch our flights. The property is a bit old but is fairly well maintained. The grounds also had flocks of green parrots which was lovely to see.

Room Tip: Request a non smoking room, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel Services were excellent, breakfast was incredible, as well as the food in general, cleanliness was remarkable, change of towels and bed sheets daily, but the best of all was how the hotel employees treat the guests, I would like to name one by one because they deserve a special recognition: at the Anfora Restaurant Yorleny, pasta girl,Emil waiter, Jose waiter, Martin and Heiner captains, Joanna, cleaning lady, Andrey, front desk , Daniel Cavada, Ricardo, with the Tourism Bureau,very kind and helpful. These people along with the hotel services, made possible that our vacation were marvelous! I sincere recommend this hotel for your vacations. CONGRATULATIONS TO SR. ALEJANDRO, General Manager, YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL WORKING TEAM AT THIS BEAUTIFUL HOTEL BARCELO SAN JOSE.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Client:

Receive greetings from Barceló San José Palacio and the guest service department. We do appreciate that you spend your days in Costa Rica in our hotel. We were very proud to be your host and thank you so much for let us your comment.

It’s wonderful for us; know that you enjoyed your time. Thank you very much to remember our staff members, all Barceló team work try to improve and be better each day, just for our guests. All of you are the main reason to make everything as better as we can. We are really happy to exceed your expectations.

We hope see you soon, and be your host again. If you will visit Costa Rica, remember that San José Palacio is the best place.

Best regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent five nights, three on our own and two through a tour company. Free shuttle from airport was arranged via e-mail. We were allowed to check in before 10 AM. Its an older hotel with lots of dark rich wood in lobby and in room. Lots of closet space, small bath, windows can be opened if desired. Internet works OK but is $7-$12 per day extra. Hotel is isolated, must take a taxi to go any where. Food is good and staff is pleasant and helpful. Now the bad. We had lots of freeway noise from trucks very close. The worst problem was Saturday afternoon and evening there was a party with loud, and I mean LOUD, music. It felt the music was in the next room - but it wasn't. Housekeeping service is inconsistent. Sometimes good, sometimes bad.

Room Tip: Location is OK if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Client:

Greetings from The Barceló San José Palacio and the guest service department. We do appreciate you spent your days in Costa Rica in our hotel. We were very proud to be your host and thank you so much for let us your comment.

It’s amazing for us that you enjoyed our rooms and services, like the free shuttle service and internet, neither less We want to apologize for the inconvenience your experienced with the noise due to a live band as well as the lack of quick response from the housekeeping service department. We brought your comment to the upper management to take an immediate action in order to avoid such problems. Your comments help us to grow as a company.

We hope to see you soon, and be your host again and show you our commitment.

Best regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I just came back from Costa Rica a few days ago (beginning of may)

Shuttle service is provided with their timings so we would of had to wait 45mins so we took a taxi to the hotel which charge $20.00. The hotel is located close to the airport (20-30min away) which was nice, it's also close to the downtown area (20-30mins away) however the biggest down point is that u can't really just walk out to any local places as the hotel is situated on a highway! So u have no other choice but to get a taxi to go anywhere. The hotel taxi drivers charge alot more than the local taxi drivers.. The hotel taxis also offer to do a two way trip (take u to the destination and back) I wouldn't recommend it because u can get a cheaper price coming home in the local red taxis with yellow triangles.. They base their charge in colones and work it out on their meter.

Breakfast at the hotel is a average mix, although the staff are very friendly and attentive.

The rooms are cleaned well everyday, they change all the bed covers and pillow cases daily which was nice.. And yes u have new towels everyday too.

It was my husbands bday so they left a bday cake for us which was a lovely gesture.

Water in the pool is cold however the pool area and garden is beautiful.

Room service (the food!) disgusting! Don't waste ur money on it.. I would really recommend a restaurant called Tin Jo which is situated in downtown San Jose and has amazing food!

The rooms are big and spacious which was nice, the bed is the best ever hotel bed I have layed on in my life! So comfy u just fall asleep instantly! The bathroom is quiet small and we had a problem with the bath coz it kept filling up and wasnt draining properly.

I would also recommend buy tours from the tourist information guide "Ricardo" - defiantly do the white water rafting and the canopy adventure. Also u must visit arenal volcano and tabacon grand spa!! Prices at the hotel for the tours are gd deals.

Overall it was a pleasant stay.. Receptionists were helpful. Don't bother buying souvenirs from the souvenir shop in the hotel - it's way over priced!

If your going Costa Rica - enjoy =)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Your comment is the best opportunity to receive a feedback and get better. thanks to let us know how important is learn about mistakes, and grow up with our guests and their expectations.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the inconvenience that you had on your last stay.

Is nice to know that your husband receive some surprise to get another nice moment with us. We always think first is being good with the people like you, who show us our fail and made us improve.

It is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our hotel and regain back your confidence. My apologize if something was wrong, we send all the suggestions to fix the inconvenience.

About the location, it’s something that we really can’t change, for that reason, the hotel have an select group of taxi drivers to make easier your visit in Costa Rica.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so mucho for share with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Best regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise. We booked a package tour in Costa Rica. But we wanted to stay a few days before the tour started. So we stayed here and loved it. The property is beautiful. The lobby has a wonderful piano. The service
and concierge service was in peccable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment. With regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations. Thanks for show us, that all things that we try to do for our guests are important to them.

You are the best example from a satisfied person, and we improve ourselves, is the best idea to keep the nice feeling with our customers.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you very much for that comment. A person like you brings a positive atmosphere to us.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Adriana Duran
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo San Jose Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Address: Residencial El Robledal | Uruca, San Jose 458-1150 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose Palacio 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Barcelo San Jose Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo San Jose Palacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;