We stayed at this hotel upon arrival into San Jose Costa Rica. After a long day of travel the hotel and the grounds was a welcome sight. At first glance the hotel looks quite nice, and in many respects it is. We had booked a suite on Expedia prior to our trip and the price was excellent. The room was very nice, it had a separate living area and bedroom. Overall the room was very nice, but the air conditioner was not adequate for the size of the room. We called the front desk and they tried to fix it, but alas it was just an older unit in an over-sized room. Honestly, this was the only thing that I can complain about other then a few maintenance issues. The grounds were beautiful, the staff friendly, the price excellent, I would stay here again for a night or two at the front or back end of a Costa Rica trip.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April 26, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations, except with the inconvenience that you had with the air conditioning.
For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience. It’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services and these comments are important for us, so we can improve our services in the proper way.
We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.
Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Guest Service Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.