We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Save Saved
You added Barcelo San Jose Palacio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Residencial El Robledal | Uruca, San Jose 458-1150 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dated but Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great location. Dated but Comfortable rooms. Absolutely Terrible House Keeping; practically non existent unless you ask and when you do only the bare minimum is done.
Good included breakfast but skip the dinner buffet. At $30 per person there are other options such as the very good Japanese Restaurant on the lobby level or other (within driving distance) off site restaurants.
The Spa was very good and functional. The pool area was equally nice.
The noise level is a bit high when they have DJ or live entertainment.
Barcelo San Jose Palacio lacks a good lobby level coffee shop and better service in the lobby lounging area. The staff of the bar in the lobby, El- Bosque, are NOT happy to see you walk in and especially not to order an espresso or such for the lobby ... unlike other hotel staff, El-Bosque staff was rude and highly inattentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio, for us is very important to know every observation of our clients so we can improve our services.

We want to apologize for the inconvenience that you had at our facilities, this comments are going to be send it to every Department so they can have knowledge of the situation and they can take the corrective measures.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    194
    94
    25
    30
See reviews for
57
152
44
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel upon arrival into San Jose Costa Rica. After a long day of travel the hotel and the grounds was a welcome sight. At first glance the hotel looks quite nice, and in many respects it is. We had booked a suite on Expedia prior to our trip and the price was excellent. The room was very nice, it had a separate living area and bedroom. Overall the room was very nice, but the air conditioner was not adequate for the size of the room. We called the front desk and they tried to fix it, but alas it was just an older unit in an over-sized room. Honestly, this was the only thing that I can complain about other then a few maintenance issues. The grounds were beautiful, the staff friendly, the price excellent, I would stay here again for a night or two at the front or back end of a Costa Rica trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations, except with the inconvenience that you had with the air conditioning.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience. It’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services and these comments are important for us, so we can improve our services in the proper way.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Costa Rica was a wonderful experience for my family of three. We enjoyed the scenery, the adventures, and the great service provided by the staff. The staff was very attentive and catered to our need. It made us feel like family. Room service was equally satisfying. We had a very small defect with a hair dryer, and as soon as we called the main desk, not ten minutes later the problem was fixed. While the experience was great, the food was abysmal. There was little variety and there were no international plates being offered. Breakfast was the same for the seven days we stayed there. We had to look for alternative choices everyday. Besides this flaw, we enjoyed our stay and the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San José Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services and that your family enjoy every moment in our facilities.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you and your family.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here the night preceding a tour because this is where the tour began. We deided to stay because of the free shuttle, but we were told it would be more than an hour for the shuttle, so we opted for a taxi at $30.00. The room was beautiful and clean and provided all the amenities. It even had a computer, but wifi was extra. The pool was nice but nothing special, but the grounds were very nice. The food was not that great and the lunch buffet was extremely expensive at $64 for 2 of us (no drinks), with few choices (rice and beans at all meals!), and dinner was exactly the same! Most staff was friendly but one guy at the desk ignored me and went to a Spanish speaking guy who came in after me. If they had free wifi, better food and more reliable shuttle, I would give it a better score.

Room Tip: We were in a suite with a separate living room (he could sleep while I watched TV) and 2 bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment of your stay at the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio, it is a great opportunity to receive important feedback from our guests and take the necessary actions in order to improve all of our services.

Please accept our most sincere apologize from all our staff for the inconvenience during you is stayed at the Hotel. We really understand your disappointment and I ensure you we take all comments from our clients seriously and your comments have been shared with all management team.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the inconvenience that you had on your last stay.

It is our best interest to secure your loyalty to our hotel and regain back your confidence.
Thank you again and I hope that we can serve you again soon at the Barceló San Jose Palacio or at any Barceló Hotels & Resorts.

Sincerely,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night before we flew home from San José. We really loved his hotel. It was great for our last night, a bit of luxury. I thought it was great value. The room was beautiful, spacious, and the bed was huge! It had everything you needed provided, bath robes, toiletries etc really well equipped. There was a minibar and we also had room service which I thought was good value too. The hotel service was good throughout. It’s part of a large chain of hotels so of course everything is very well run and professional. There was a casino and several restaurants downstairs but we didn’t go down since we arrived at night. We also didn’t get to use the pool or anything but I’m sure it was lovely as the rest of the hotel was very well presented. This was just a really nice place for our last night in Costa Rica. There was a big tv with lots of channels so we watched a movie and had room service and got great nights sleep in our big bed before the long journey home. I also have to say breakfast was amazing. I probably had the best breakfast I had in Costa rica here, the gallo pinto was definitely the best I had all holiday (and I had it every day..!)it was a really good buffet, lots to choose from. We got the hotel airport shuttle to the airport. It was a very nice vehicle and driver, felt very professional. It goes every hour and was a welcome benefit of this hotel. The only thing that was a bit disappointing is that you had to pay for wifi here. We had wifi in most of the hotels we stayed in across Costa Rica and it was always free, even in the very cheap budget hotels. It was $12 a day here so not really sure why they need to charge so much if everyone else can provide it for free. It would have been helpful to use it here before we flew back just to check bus times etc for when we got home. Overall, it is a really good hotel. I would definitely stay here the next time I’m in San Jose . Hopefully I’ll get to go back some day…!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations and that you and amazing holidays at our hotel.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services and with our facilities.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is an old hotel that may be considered vintage. The rooms are nice and clean with some minor problems, paint is lost in a few spaces and the wood of the closets is quite old.
The best are the facilities: Breakfast is quite big in a large dining room, there is very good fruit and some local meals (gallo pinto: rice and black beans, tamales: baked mashed corn) and quite nice omelettes (if you like you can put chili on it). Then there are the really nice pool, it is large and surrounded by palm trees and has a bar right next to it, you can spend hours here, there is also a nice gym with several machines although it is small and a jacuzzi that seems perfect after coming back from the several tours you can take in the surroundings...
There are also a Japanese Bar and a nice bar as well as another grill restaurants, you can really get almost everything withouth getting out of the hotel

Room Tip: Is best to take a room with a view to the Stadium in order to watch the fireworks, the corners are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

The Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio is very proud to know that your stay was exceeding in your expectations!!!

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that yours was wonderful and we like enjoy with you more special moments like that.

Thank you for let us know what you think about the Hotel, and make your suggestions. That’s always the best way to grow as a company.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so mucho for share with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Sincerely,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

not good. not clean rood. the location is bad to the downtown. customer service is so so. i would not recommend this hotel in Costa Rica. however Barcelo in other countries might be good. the cleaness of the room i stayed is so bad. i guess they just did spray chemical to a bed, blanket, covers. there were dirty spots and someone's hair on the bed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Has been a great experience for us get your comments. The most important benefit of your suggestion makes necessary actions in order to improve all of our services.

Please accept our most sincere apologize from all our staff, we take clients seriously and your comments. Every recommendation that you gave us makes bigger our desire to grow. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to improve the stay.

It is our best interest to secure your best experience to our hotel and that you come back to share time with us.

Thank you again and I hope that we can serve you again soon at the Barceló San Jose Palacio or at any Barcelo Hotels & Resorts.

Sincerely,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo San Jose Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Address: Residencial El Robledal | Uruca, San Jose 458-1150 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose Palacio 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere and Otel so you can book your Barcelo San Jose Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo San Jose Palacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.