We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but isolated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo San Jose Palacio to your Saves list
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Residencial El Robledal | Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very good but isolated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is very good. Breakfast is not very varied, mostly offering local specialities, but is good. Rooms are ok, clean, and well kept.
Gym is not very clean and there is no one to help or monitor what you are doing. Sometimes the music can be very loud down there.
The only but is the position of the hotel, trapped on a top of a hill in the middle of some freeways. You have to be driven to go everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the Staff and Management of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio we’d like thank you for answering the Trip Advisor´s Survey.

We want to thank you for letting us the opportunity to share all your comments with the management team and we are sorry that our Hotel did not fulfill your expectations.

Comments from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards and we will follow-up on the areas of services that you outlined to us.

Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to get involved to secure your loyalty and regain back your confidence.

I hope that we can serve you again soon at the San Jose Palacio or at any other Barcelo Hotels and Resorts.

Sincerely,



Daniela Ramirez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    255
    127
    32
    40
See reviews for
83
197
54
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed there for one night and couldn't have left fast enough. Room was spacious and breakfast was actually quite nice, but it's extremely outdated all around and I kept finding a lot of small but annoying things. For instance, the room was smelly (probably from someone smoking), and you can't turn the lights on in the bathroom without turning the very noisy fan.

The Internet situation was the worst: you have to buy access for a limited time, they give you a little paper with a (very long) username and password, which even when you're logged in keeps asking you to log in again every half hour or so -- it's just ridiculous. I eventually lost the paper so that was the end of wi-fi, unless I wanted to pay again of course...

I just didn't feel comfortable or relaxed there and will not be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the Staff and Management of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio we’d like thank you for answering the Trip Advisor´s Survey.

We want to thank you for letting us the opportunity to share all your comments with the management team and we are sorry that our Hotel did not fulfill your expectations. Comments from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards and we will follow-up on the areas of services that you outlined to us.

Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to get involved to secure your loyalty and regain back your confidence.

I hope that we can serve you again soon at the San Jose Palacio or at any other Barcelo Hotels and Resorts.

Sincerely,



Daniela Ramirez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel was a comfortable stop over on our way to visit the rest of the country. Located right off the main access highway, it is a high rise hotel nested in green grounds with small walkways. Once on the property you will forget the noise of the City. The staff is very attentive to details. The food is excellent and the buffet variety at breakfast had a wide variety of choices. Our room was large and comfortable however it was in need of renovation especially the carpets. The lobby is large and we enjoyed the virtuoso piano player while sipping on a cocktail. The hotel has a very small casino frequented mainly by locals. We stayed in other hotels in San Jose but we would recommend this property first.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Best Regards,



Daniela Ramirez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The grounds and lobby of the Barcelo are very nice, and I especially liked the gardens. The room was comfortable - fairly spacious, with a nice bed, but had a "musty" smell, as if it were an older property that would benefit from some new paint and linen. The positives were a very attentive staff that made sure guests needs were met. I experienced significant difficulties in getting my computer equipment and phone connected to their WiFi and they gave personal attention to make sure issues were resolved. (thanks!) The pool looked nice but was unfortunately closed for repairs during my stay.
It's a decent value and the rates were reasonable, so I'd consider again, but would also look at other recommendations.
Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Request room facing the garden and away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future

Best Regards,



Daniela Ramirez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We got a master suite and wow! 3 bathrooms, 5 phones, 1 computer, 3 flatscreen tv's, 2 couches, access to club premium were we get unlimited drinks and various foods throughout the day. One day the internet did not work on our computer they were up in 5 minutes, cappachino machine in club premium did not work they brought us some via room service for free. They are very nice, the service is great. We came down early and stayed in this suite, then we joined caravan and upgraded to the suite to stay in it. You must stay here and expirence how great this hotel is.

Room Tip: Get the club level well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards



Daniela Ramirez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Thank you to all the hotel staff, they give us the best party, my wife and me have the best nite at the hotel.
Rooms very clean, very nice
Very profesional staff it was a great party
After party, the room was very nice.

Thank you guys

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards



Daniela Ramirez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a great hotel.
Good outdoor pool.
Good standard of room.

The room was incredible. We are members so get a slightly better than standard room. However, even the standard is good.

Stayed here several times.

Always good to phone ahead.
Make use of the free bus service to the airport. Pre-book with the hotel for them to send a cab for you. (makes transit a lot easier)

Food is good in the restaurant. Standard large catering quality.
Food in the bar and pool side bar is limited, dear and greasey. Its the only downer.

The staff are very friendly and the hotel grounds and pool make it worth while for people in transit or taking a short break to see the area.

Excellent variety of day trips available from the hotel.

Room Tip: Email ahead to discuss your room. Stay away from elevator shafts, they are quite noisy. Join the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose Palacio, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards



Daniela Ramirez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo San Jose Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose Palacio

Address: Residencial El Robledal | Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo San Jose Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo San Jose Palacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.