We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Santo Tomas to your Saves list
Hotel Santo Tomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE 25%
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

the staff was excellent, even the owner welcome us and asked if he could do anyrhing else for us.ricardo was great help in giving us directions and advise.would deffinately stay there again and recomend my friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Maria, lots of couples stay here and enjoy the happy hours ( 3 to 7) and jacuzzi. Great to know you will return and send your friends. All of my staff is trained to assist 24/7 in Car rental , tours or just anything you many need. It's always our pleasure to assist !
Safe travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    221
    51
    12
    8
See reviews for
98
229
103
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Costa Rica'great old house,loved the ambiance, rooms with balcony is the best rooms to stay in, loved the the furnishings, breakfasts we're the same ,that's a bit tiresome, staff were great,just needed fridges in room.the area hotel was located in wasnt the best, but we felt very safe and it was centrally located near park's,restaurants, zoo and lots of other attractions.

Room Tip: Balcony 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hola Beverley, Wonderful , concise and to the point review ! Thank You ! Our Free breakfast consists of eggs cooked to order, a small fruit plate, two fresh made juices, toast, jam, coffee, tea, and gallo pinto along with special sauces to liven things up! Not too bad for a FREE breakfast , across the street it is a 6 dollar value not counting the coffee. Yes we are close to everything, I have many dental tourist staying here as well !
Again thank you for the wonderful review
Warmest Regards
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The staff was very helpful from the time we arrived and the time we left. We rented a car through CR Save Rental Car, the rental company that works directly with the hotel. Once we arrived at the hotel, they called the company to pick up our car right away. The rooom was very clean and comfortable. We spent some time at the pool and the restaraunt bar. They were having happy hour at that time and although the happy hour drink specials weren't anything to note the drink prices themselves were pretty standard and and the cocktails quite tasty. We had dinner at the hotel restaruant and I would say the food was mediocre. We came from Puerto Viejo though where the food everywhere was truly spectacular. Although the restaraunt staff were very nice, our beverages were neglected and the food was bland. Overall it was a great last night in Costa Rica and we would stay there again if we return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Sara, thanks for the kind words and positive comments. No good for someone not to be able to get a drink when you want one, so needless to say I have had a word or three with my waiters. We've got some great plates on our menu and our chef ( Manuel) was trained at the Marriott and Intercontinental hotels just to name two. Very clean rooms, comfortable, pool and Jacuzzi in downtown San Jose, no one else has it and all for around $52.00 including Free Hot Cooked Breakfast and Wi-Fi ! Great to know everything else was really good and that you would return, that is what is important. Again thank you for the nice review. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Located fairly close to the city center in a less than average (?) noisy street in San Jose, this good value hotel offers clean and spacious rooms together with a nice pool area. We had a great evening meal at the restaurant and the owner Thomas was very helpful and kind!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi Mikael, Nice to have met you and enjoyed a pleasant conversation. Your review is outstanding and we have many European clients do what you did , by staying a few days to adjust and just relax, recharge your batteries and unwind. We assist them with info and planning and off they go for a nice vacation. Again Thank you for the great review ! Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We liked this hotel - very reasonably priced, clean, cute rooms and courtyard. We stayed in two of the least expensive rooms and found them to be fine. My husband and son ate at the restaurant and were very pleased with their meals. It is within walking distance to the city center. I think we spent $25 US in cab fare from the airport, so if you don't want to spend time in the city stay in Alajuela.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms would be a quieter choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hola Flyonthewall! Very nice review and wonderful to hear you enjoyed the restaurant, if you have been traveling here for a while and want something other than beans and rice we are the spot! The El Oasis serves great, healthy food in a nice portion at a fair price . Happy Hours from 3 to 7 pm. Thank you for the kind words , Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice and clean hotel in San Jose. Everyone was very nice and very helpful. It is close to everything to the main attractions et the city. The restaurant was closed during our stay and we were not ablr to try it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi Christiane, nice and clean hotel is something I think most travelers are looking for especially if it has a good price! Yest the restaurant is closed on Monday, but open all the other days with Happy Hours from 3 pm to 7 pm. Come and enjoy a cold piña colada in the hot jacuzzi! Great Review Thank you very much ! Safe Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Located in the city center - Close to main city attractions -
Wonderful staff - Very kind, professional, and helpful staff
I enjoyed the small details of the room and hotel (decoration, traditional furniture, different bedding style every day...) It is indeed "a wonderful hidden gem". I strongly recommend Santo Tomás.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hola to Petitetrotteuse, How nice that you commented on the small details, I genuinely appreciate that . I will be sure my staff sees your comments as well. A wonderful hidden gem is as good as it gets , a Big Thank you for these wonderful comments. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | 250 Meters West from INS Building, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica . Hotel Santo Tomas provides Free Hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, Hot Jacuzzi, Gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens,flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.